We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in April. The location is perfect, right on the river. I recommend a river view room, we were on the second floor & the view was perfect. The hotel staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was very well kitted out with safe, fridge & iron/ironing board as well as all the usual stuff. The hotel was always clean. The room was a little warm at night & the air conditioning didn't seem to make much difference but that seems to be the same in most hotels.
The room & bathroom were both nice & spacious and well decorated. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    682
    219
    90
    42
See reviews for
147
871
129
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The location is perfect and very trendy part of Bristol. Greeted by attentive friendly staff. Room was lovely great view,loved TV and speakers in bathroom. Comfy bed ,sheets and blankets not duvet. Average meal in restaurant, good service, pleasant decor but cooked breakfast rubbery, lots of fresh fruit and cereals, jams, pastries made up for it.

Room Tip: get an end room so there is only one person next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I shared your feedback with our head chef regarding breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Mercure Brigstow! Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is excellently positioned in the centre of bristol however is a little like a war zone after hours .the room itself was spacious and nicely done out.we had been upgraded to a suite however.the staff on check on where effient.however my only gripe was that I called down to check about late check out and was advised this wouldn't be a problem then to.be phoned back ten minutes later to be advised.I was in the right memebership tier . I then had to battle with the manager to agree.this as.I felt.if.something has been agreed then to.take it was due.to.staff incompantance is unfair all round a nice.hotel would stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gvalvona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I will share your feedback with the team in order to avoid any further occurence regarding late check out. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is well located,just a short walk to st nicks market, the academy, hippodrome and lots more. The first member of staff i spoke to was lovely and couldn't apologise enough when i arrived at 1.55pm and there were no rooms available, and the maintenance staff were great when i reported a problem. I booked a river view room and was not disappointed, the rooms are a good size and the view was lovely especially as the weather was nice, i would recommend requesting a higher floor as i was on the first floor directly opposite the glassboat restaurant. The bathroom was a very good size and i had been looking forward to having a TV in the bath however the TV didn't work but i was swiftly moved rooms when i reported the issue. The rooms are very comfortable, the beds even more so, my only gripe is that there is a bit of street noise which is to be expected from a city centre hotel but more so in the mornings and the rooms above the doorway (which i was in) get the smell from smokers below when the window is open. i would definitely recommend this hotel, especially when they have regular offers that make it cheaper than the budget hotels.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a river view room but request one on a higher floor to take advantage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great location, great service, excellent, quiet and very clean rooms. We stayed for four days in a room with river view and it was absolutely awesome! It also provided a Nespresso Coffee machine! A great value for money! Totally suggested!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Spath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the mercure web site directly to get the best rates available and also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Bristol by the river.
When I got to my room there was a problem which I immediately reported to reception where I was offered a change of room or the duty manager to come up. That being my choice, the duty manager was there in minutes and she immediately sorted out the problem and checked for any more: she could not have been more helpful and even helped me fetch luggage from my car.
Service in the bar and restaurant were not always attentive, with both areas being left unattended for considerable periods. On two occasions I had to go to reception to ask for service. I believe the general manager is now addressing that problem.
One serious setback is that very loud thudding music is played nearby until long after midnight: not acceptable when one has an early start the next day. This is not the fault of the hotel but of the local authority who should not permit it to continue so late in a residential area; nevertheless it does make the hotel less attractive.
Another considerable disadvantage is the car parking. The hotel does not have its own car park but has an arrangement with the adjacent NCP car park. Even with the discount afforded to the hotel's residents, the cost of parking can only be described as a total rip-off: I paid about four times what I had paid for parking at an hotel of the same chain only four months previously!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay on Trip Adviser, as already discussed via our quality guest satisfaction survey and our further communication through emails, I’m delighted that you enjoyed the main part of your stay however, I have noted your comments in particular regarding the service in the eliipse bar & restaurant to which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing