We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely room, great breakfast, good service. I was in Bristol for a conference, and the reception was helpful with a map, and by calling a taxi. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, good shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RoyBoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on our own Mercure web site to get the best rates available and also be aligible for points with our loyalty program ' Le Club' Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    663
    206
    89
    42
See reviews for
140
850
124
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is a solid three star hotel all day long. Everything from the price, decor, service, level of finish and standards. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. It is what it is.
The problem is that it markets itself as a four star. Without sounding like a hotel snob I have been lucky enough to stay in some proper four and five star hotels both at home and abroad. So I know what four star standards are. Having said that the two main things I look for when booking a hotel are Location and value for money.
When I found this hotel I thought great price for a four star in a great location. Brilliant bargain. However when I got there and found I was getting an average three star for the price of the very top end three star. It got my back up. Instead of feeling like I had got a bargain I felt cheated, and it made me pick up on all the little things that don't make this a four star hotel and just seem expensive. The cold tap leaking in the bathroom, air conditioning that just blows hot air even when set at 10degrees, damaged furniture that is looking tired and tatty, dirty marks down the walls, an odd arrangement of light switches, no water in the room, very poor wifi that hardly works, half of the items from the in room breakfast missing, a TV that half the picture is missing because it is not widescreen. The list goes on. Individually they are not very much but they all build up to the little touches that make a hotel move up to the next level, stand out. Having said all that if the hotel had been sold to me as a three star and the price been tiny bit lower I probably wouldn't have noticed half of the problems or at least accepted them a bit more. By all means book this hotel it's a good hotel in a great location but just don't expect four star quality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations on this occasion in particular your concern that we are not a four star property, please be assured that we are assessed each year by the AA who award us with this category for the product and service that we offer. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in April.
Previously had a good experience.
This time the room I had was in poor condition. Safe did not work and the bathroom was in a poor state. Many cracked tiles (some with sharp edges). Handle in bath loose and feels like it might come away. Shower sealant coming away and mouldy.
The location is good but whether or not this room was particularly bad I do not know. I could not be bothered to ask to be moved for one night. I did inform staff of the room condition it was room 304.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and as explained in my response directly to you after you completed our hotel survey, I can assure you the matter is being looked in to and will
be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, a few days ago. Excellent location for exploring the city, I loved the fact the river was outside the sliding windows. I had brought a bottle of bourbon with me so needed some ice, the bar lady was more then happy to provide me with a bucket of ice with 2 glasses on a tray. Up in the room, was nicely decorated, not the biggest (superior) but comfortable, I made use of the ironing board with iron. The bathroom was also compact but had a separate shower and bath, shower water pressure was a bit low and there was only one towel. Breakfast was really good, provided as a buffet, I had a full english which was superb. Also plenty of cereals and fruit, not to mention pastries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jez34140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed overnight for a gig and left early so we didn't have much time to enjoy our room, but it was clean comfortable, loads of room, a big bathroom with shower and bath, TV, everything you'd want for a good stopover. It also had a really comfortable bed and luxurious pillows, which makes all the difference. Good location, parking nearby, cannot fault it. Well, the taps in the sink were a bit fierce, I got a bit soaked when trying to fill my glass, but everything else was perfect ! And we paid £42, so superb value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again and remember you will always find our best rates and deals available on our own Mercure web site in addition to being elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Husband and I were booked in on a 5 night stay. Upon arrival after a very long (From Boston) day of travel, we were told that we were having our room upgraded because there was a problem with our original booking. The fellow behind the desk didn't specify what the issue was, I assume something like they didn't have the room type I requested. I was more than happy to have an upgrade to the premium room, especially because we didn't even have to ask!

The room was very nice. Stylish, comfy, a good size for two, with a nice river view. The aircon could have been a bit better, but my husband (A Brit) tells me that the British just don't do AC all that well. Other than that, the room was grand. A lovely big tub with a TV for me to lounge around in, too.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't speak to the food. We did spend a good amount of time in the lounge having evening drinks and afternoon tea or coffee. I have to say - the tea and coffee service is great. A well prepared mug of tea of French press of coffee, laid out nicely with biscuits. A really nice little touch.

Location is great. Bristol is a great city for exploring on foot, and the hotel is at a perfect starting point. On the weekend nights, we could hear a little bit of noise from the folks down on Welsh Back, but nothing to bothersome.

We would certainly stay here again, and I'm actually intent on seeking out Mercure hotels to stay in when we travel from now on, following a horrible experience with another chain after we left Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit. Remember to always check out the Mercure web site directly for the best rates guaranteed including city breaks in addition you will also be elligible for points with out 'le Club' loyalty program. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked last minute for one night away on Easter Sunday- we wish we had stayed longer! Beautiful room, perfect location and a brilliant stay. Check in and out was simple and easy.
We want to come back soon!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the mercure web site directly to get the best rates available. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing