We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. When we got to our room I was really surprised at how small it was - not much room for both of us to walk around the bed at the same time, hardly any wardrobe or drawer space (wardrobe taken up with iron/ironing board and a portable radiator), nowhere except one chair at the dressing table to sit at and hardly anywhere to put bits and pieces. Definitely not what a 4 star hotel should be. The worst part of the stay for me was being woken on the first night from 3am through until 5.30am with doors being opened and closed and conversations being has with no regard for others. Hoping this was just a bad night, we were woken on the following evening at 5am by our neighbours returning from their night out. To be fair, all the two blokes were doing was talking but, we could hear them as plain as anything so I have to say, this must be a fault of the design of the building. I didn't get the room at a bargain price and so I do feel a little ripped off that although I got a good location, the actual room was not at all suitable for our needs. I wish I'd booked the Radisson Blu for a similar price. I'd much rather go without a tv in the bathroom (oh and it's only the screen size of a small tablet so don't get your hopes up if this is what's selling the hotel to you - and you have to watch whatever is on the tv in the bedroom so no choice there then) for the guarantee of a good nights sleep - oh and did I mention that the premier inn is just a short walk away from this hotel?
On a positive note the breakfast was great and I was surprised it was served until noon each day. This meant no worry about missing it and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant.
Perhaps we were just given a poor room because we booked through Expedia? Lots of other reviews seem to rave about this hotel and indeed the reviews helped me decide on this hotel when I was choosing somewhere to stay in Bristol. One thing is for sure I won't be returning here.

Room Tip: Superior room was no way superior so don't bother .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay in particular the size of your bedroom and the disturbance you encountered from other guests of the hotel, please accept my sincere apologies. On a more positive note, I was happy to learn that you thought we had a great location and that you enjoyed our breakfast offer especially the service we provide until noon at the weekends. We do so hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Central location. Paid extra for river view, which was worth the money. Comfortable bed, lovely plump pillows. Bath and shower in the bathroom , plus very good lighting to make makeup application easy. Friendly staff. Will hopefully stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Slightly different hotel, trying to be a little boutique perhaps, not altogether succeeding. But the location is good - walking distance to both Bristol Temple Meads station, Cabot Circus and the more quirky parts of Bristol city centre.

Food is a cut above the average, breakfast is good, the dinner menu is small but well executed...and for in room dining the Club sandwich is the best I have ever had, and I have had a few! Salute to the kitchen for sourcing better than average ingredients and putting them together well.

Only ever stayed in a room with river view, quite inspiring and certainly worth getting if you can. The only downside is the heating....the mini radiator in the room can be the give away...as the air con (if indeed it is AC?) just appeared to be a vent blowing cool air...this has happened on a couple of stays over the winter months in different rooms. So perhaps it is not just a short term problem but a long term "design feature"?

Overall a consistent favourite of mine that I use to break up the monotony of regular hotel stays in the other competitor global chains, Accor have done well with this one, it has a niche that is a nice alternative.

Room Tip: River view is great - though deliveries may disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on our own web site to ensure you get the best rates available guaranteed as well as be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Overall, perfect place to stay for weekenders who want to be in the thick of it. Pubs, bars, everything near by or within short walking distance. The hotel was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful, the room was better than expected at special rate. Parking just around the corner at 25% discount. Make sure you enquire about rates beforehand as it can be costly to park in Bristol for more than 24 hrs. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who does not mind some noise at night from revellers. I will return, for definite.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSus1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainlyI look forward to your next visit. Remember to always check out our own Mercure web site for the baest deals available in addition you will be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location over looking the river

The rooms are very well thought out and in great condition, well appointed and clean. Very nice bathroom with a separate shower

Very polite professional staff to greet you on arrival

We were in room 314 very nice indeed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gixxer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have recently returned from our stay at the Mecure Brigstow and would recommend this hotel for a city break. It is conveniently situated about ten minutes walk from Bristol Temple Meads railway station.It stands overlooking the Avon and as we had a river view room,it was very pleasant sitting and watching the river activity ( although the windows open only a touch).Our room was on the third floor ,room 312 , which was spacious,comfortable and worthy of its 4 star rating. I especially enjoyed a luxurious soak in the bath viewing the bath tub T.V, which I have never come across before. We didn't eat at the hotel prefering to venture out and explore the city. There is an abundance of shops located through the Galleries in Broadmead also a great outdoor market at St Nicholas closeby. We visited the Food,Drink,Bristol Fashion event going on at this time whereby top chefs were showcasing their signature dishes amongst other things. Bristol is the kind of city which could be decribed as vibrant with lots of events going on and this Mecure hotel was right in the middle of everything so if you want busy days and romantic evenings this would be a brilliant place to stay and we are already planning our next visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanseajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the first time in February this year. It is located very central in Bristol, close to all shops. Nicely situated by the river, the hotel has very comfortable rooms, excellent bathrooms, and everywhere is clean! Staff are friendly! One problem was the low staffing in the bar, where the bar person also seemed to be serving the restaurant. On several occasions I had to wait TOO LONG to get served in the bar. On one occasion I left before getting served - there was no one around!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuertoPollencaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online on our own Mercure web site, where we promote our City Breaks deals in addition you will also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing