We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

2 nights with Bristol as a base and the Brigstow was ideal. Central location, helpful staff, modern rooms with very good bathrooms and reasonably prices. Definitely one to remember for the future as it has everything you would want for a break. Loads to see nearby but ss Great Britain the highlight for us

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online directly on the Mercure web site where we promote our City Breaks deals in addition, you will aslo be eligible to earn points in our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel has a great central location near to many bars and restaurants. The neighborhood was very lively on a Saturday night and there was a great atmosphere. The room was really nice and the design was modern. The bed was really wonderful and the Wifi worked really well. There was parking around the corner - a bit expensive, but very close. The hotel served a good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Glad you had a great stay and enjoyed Bristol, hope to see you again soon, kindest regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here last Friday night as part of a treat for my partners birthday. The location is perfect. Close to everything you need. some of the best pubs and restaurants all close by. The hotel is very clean and the room was top notch (Superior room with river view). Staff all friendly and polite. Can only say i cannot fault this hotel and we will be staying there again when we next stay in Bristol for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted a city centre hotel for just one night when attending a concert in the Louisiana. We didn’t want to fork out a lot for an expensive hotel room on top of the travel and tickets so we chose an advance purchase standard internal view room in the Mercure Brigstow. This is a very nice circa 2000 conversion of a former office block overlooking the floating harbour very near to Bristol Bridge.

Parking’s always been expensive in Bristol but if you park for up to 24 hours in the NCP Queen Charlotte St multi-storey car park behind the hotel, you get a £5 discount from Mercure, which reduces the price to £15.10. Check-in was easy and as the hotel wasn’t too busy the Friday night we stayed, we got upgraded from an internal courtyard view standard room to a superior room with river view, which was quieter than we expected once the live music from across the water finished about midnight. We thought revellers in the street might have disturbed us but they were pretty well behaved for a Friday night.

Most of the rooms here aren’t very big – they’re only 20 sq meters – but the design makes them feel bigger than they are. The 5 foot bed was nice but as so often happens, the duvet was a much higher tog rating than needed. We’d read that the flat screen TV’s were 33 inches but ours was only 26, so that info should be corrected. You get an empty mini fridge in the room, which is useful to chill down bottles of water. The bathroom’s pretty small but given the overall room size, that’s probably to be expected. Sound insulation between rooms was OK, certainly better than some places, but it was terrible between bathrooms as plenty of sound travels too easily through the back to back extractor vents – we’d prefer not to hear so much of other guests in their bathroom.

We can’t comment on the restaurant as we didn’t fancy the menu and ate out in the evening at Aqua Italian, a stone’s throw from the hotel – we’d recommend Aqua in Welsh Back to anyone – see our separate review. We booked Accor’s advance purchase non-refundable room only rate, which is their best rate. If we’d booked at the normal unrestricted rate we could have had breakfast added for just £10 per person. That sounds good, but added to the advance purchase rate, it means pre-booked breakfast would have cost us a whopping £21 each - fine if corporate expenses are paying but nuts for self-funding punters. As it is, we could have paid £16.50 per head on the day to have had breakfast – that’s still too much in our view, which is possibly why there were relatively few people eating on Saturday morning when we looked. Surely Mercure could offer an incentive breakfast price to guests who don’t pre-book, say £12.50 a head – we might have chosen to eat in if they had. As it is, we walked up past St Nicholas market and had breakfast in Wetherspoons in Corn St – there was nothing wrong with it at all, and at less than £10 for two, it works for us – so buck up your ideas on breakfast Mercure, a lot of guests like us are probably voting with their feet.

Overall, we’d happily stay here in future, even if we again walked out for meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Tip for next-time - look online on our own web site and check out the shopping cart for advance purchase prices for breakfast to add onto your room rate this will give the best rates available and is also the best place to find special offers in addition to be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Kindest regards Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. When we got to our room I was really surprised at how small it was - not much room for both of us to walk around the bed at the same time, hardly any wardrobe or drawer space (wardrobe taken up with iron/ironing board and a portable radiator), nowhere except one chair at the dressing table to sit at and hardly anywhere to put bits and pieces. Definitely not what a 4 star hotel should be. The worst part of the stay for me was being woken on the first night from 3am through until 5.30am with doors being opened and closed and conversations being has with no regard for others. Hoping this was just a bad night, we were woken on the following evening at 5am by our neighbours returning from their night out. To be fair, all the two blokes were doing was talking but, we could hear them as plain as anything so I have to say, this must be a fault of the design of the building. I didn't get the room at a bargain price and so I do feel a little ripped off that although I got a good location, the actual room was not at all suitable for our needs. I wish I'd booked the Radisson Blu for a similar price. I'd much rather go without a tv in the bathroom (oh and it's only the screen size of a small tablet so don't get your hopes up if this is what's selling the hotel to you - and you have to watch whatever is on the tv in the bedroom so no choice there then) for the guarantee of a good nights sleep - oh and did I mention that the premier inn is just a short walk away from this hotel?
On a positive note the breakfast was great and I was surprised it was served until noon each day. This meant no worry about missing it and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant.
Perhaps we were just given a poor room because we booked through Expedia? Lots of other reviews seem to rave about this hotel and indeed the reviews helped me decide on this hotel when I was choosing somewhere to stay in Bristol. One thing is for sure I won't be returning here.

Room Tip: Superior room was no way superior so don't bother .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay in particular the size of your bedroom and the disturbance you encountered from other guests of the hotel, please accept my sincere apologies. On a more positive note, I was happy to learn that you thought we had a great location and that you enjoyed our breakfast offer especially the service we provide until noon at the weekends. We do so hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Central location. Paid extra for river view, which was worth the money. Comfortable bed, lovely plump pillows. Bath and shower in the bathroom , plus very good lighting to make makeup application easy. Friendly staff. Will hopefully stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing