We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Mercure Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great Mercure Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great arriving at any Hotel when your greeted by friendly front of the house staff. The room allocated was on the 4th floor, I found it spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom layout was also nice. My friends and I didn't take up the offer of the £10.00 reduced breakfast rate; I always find if you pay nearly £100.00 for the night it should be included in the price. We ate breakfast at a nice typical 'greasy spoon cafe' around the corner for a reasonable £5.00 inc, it's not the cost at Hotels for me, more a principle hang up with the price they charge. We had a drink at the bar in the evening and was served by a friendly chap. A word of warning there are no parking facilities at the hotel, they do however have 25% discount with the multistorey car park around the corner, the overnight cost £15.00.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariox1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Remember to always book on the Mercure web site directly where you will find the best available rates including our shopping cart where you can purchase breakfast in advance at a great price and also be elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    655
    203
    88
    42
See reviews for
140
842
124
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I really rate this hotel; have been there a couple of times and would always choose it now if staying in Bristol. The location is great; central, overlooking the waterway and with plenty of restaurants, cafes etc close by.
The rooms are stylishly and cleverly designed and feel larger than they actually are.
One complaint is that they really should invest in new bedspreads - they only partially cover the bed in material that matches the throw cushions and are only there to be decorative - the effect is completely lost by 'marks' imparted by previous occupants; not a good look!
Have noticed this both times (different rooms).
The room was otherwise clean - and these spreads are probably freshly washed.
The breakfast is excellent.
Staff are efficient and friendly.
It offers great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit and I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the bed counterpanes which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Having just spent the night in the executive room here at the mercure brigstow and having requested a quiet room i was woken up by another guest across the hallway screaming "allan" allan" at 7:30am, why do they put guests who request a quiet room with guests who clearly have not?? Very annoying, when you pay £135 an night you dont expect to be woken up by screaming and shouting...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit and I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay until you were woken up by another guest within the hotel at 07:30 hrs, please accept my sincere apologies. Although, we are unable to control all our guests behaviours, I am sure had we been informed at the time, then my team would have done their utmost to ensure the guest was made aware of your comments and we would have asked them to respect other guests staiying in the hotel. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for one night, as was attending a nearby conference. Hotel is very central. Smooth check in, nice good sized room, with comfy bed, and the bathroom comes with both a bath and separate shower. The room also included a fridge. Bed was comfortable, and room has lots of lights, which can make the room very bright, but these can be dimmed as preferred.

The room wasn't perfect though. The window can't be opened, and the air conditioning wasn't powerful enough for my liking, so I felt generally too warm all night.

The hotel provides wifi, well, kind of. You log on, have to register, then your connected. But if you don't load a web page every 60 seconds it times the whole connection out, and you have to start, registration, all over again. This affected both an Android phone, and iPad. And forget downloading anything. Continually timing out the connection makes it impossible to use.

The room also had a keyboard right in front of the TV. Thinking I would be able to access the Internet from that, I gave that a go, but on selecting Internet on the TV, it tells you that service isn't available. So not sure the point in having the keyboard.

So, a nice, centrally located hotel, but with a few annoying snags.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the technical issues you encountered to which we are addressing. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked a deal on the internet for Superior room with river view, breakfast and late check out.
The hotel staff were very friendly and polite and the hotel generally is modern and well kept. The room was a little small but it was well furnished and had large glass windows on two sides and it had a large bathroom with a bath and a separate shower. The bed was comfortable with nice crisp sheets and there was complimentary Tea & coffee and also a fridge. The location is very good next to the river and convenient for local bars and the town centre and so we were very pleased with the room and the hotel generally. Breakfast next day was Buffet breakfast with a good selection of cooked and continental. So all in all a good stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2013H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Big room, nice new bathroom, decent sheets and pillows. Good range of breakfast and efficient friendly staff. A little bit let down by lack of (and low quality) bathroom products and expensive drinks from the bar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was supposed to stay at this hotel from the 4th until the 6th June. My girlfriend unfortunately was involved in an accident and was rushed into hospital the night before we were due to leave for Bristol. I immediately contacted the hotel to let them know of the circumstances to which diverted to other voicemails, to which i left many, i eventually got through to the manager, to which i was told there was nothing they would do for me. I am absolutely appalled by their lack of empathy with my situation. Furthermore i would never stay in this hotel again, or recommend it to anyone else. Customer service and staff were also very rude and obnoxious, to which i didn't need given my circumstances.
Rest assured i will be taking this matter further Mercure Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdiscodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I was sorry to hear that you were unable to stay at the hotel due to an accident, I am unaware of your situation or the reason you are disappointed with the hotel as you have not explained this clearly. Please feel free to contact me directly on 0117 929 2030 to discuss the matter further. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing