We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed a saturday night at the Brigstow in a family room which I prebooked on the phone. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was good and staff organised and helpful so could not fault the hotel. City centre location was excellent with a good selection of nearby restaurants. My one concern was parking after a long drive but there are nearby multistorry carparks and on street parking near the hotel which is free all day sunday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon and remember to always check out the Mercure web site directly for the best rates available and also be elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

A little disappointing. Room very small and expensive.

Great location though, although had a few problems finding it. Parking quite expensive.

I don't think that I will be visiting this hotel again, sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank 370AngelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the size of your bedroom for the price you paid and that you believe the car parking in the city of Bristol is expensive. On a more positive note, I was happy to read that you appreciated our unique location. Should you change your mind and decide to return, then always check out the mercure web site directly where we offer the best rates available which will also make you elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The whole point of booking a hotel is that you arrive in a place and know you have a bed for the night. Total shambles caused by overbooking.

Arrived to the slowest check in guy ever who blithely informs me hotel is overbooked.

40 mins later he's still trying to find a room in a hotel somewhere. How about one in the hotel that I booked several days ago? You know the one I'm standing in now at 23.40!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Underwhelmedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I was very sorry to learn that we were unable to accommodate your reservation, please accept my sincere apologies. After a full investigation, it appears that our systems encountered a technical error which, resulted in accepting more bookings than rooms available, please be assured that this is certainly an isolated incident and that Mercure does not operate an overbooking policy. I was also sorry to hear that my team had difficulty finding alternative accommodation and did not react swiftly on this occasion to this incident, once again I apologise. On a more positive note, I understand that they were successful in finding a hotel of the same category and that they offered their assistance with the booking transfer agreeing to settle any costs over and above the original reservation in addition to transfer fees and our offer of a complimentary stay on your next visit to Bristol. Once again many apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused on this occasion and we thank you for your understanding regarding this difficult unforeseen situation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Brigstow Hotel and we could not fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The location was perfect and would definitely go back to this hotel next time we visit Bristol

Room Tip: You may experience some noise if you have a room facing the river but if the windows are closed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flitzylooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable and remember to book on the Mercure web site when you want to come back and stay with us again where we offer the best rates available in addition to being elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms on the 6th floor. 616 and 618. We had booked the Avon river view. But the the trees were so high and being in the end , you could hardly see the river . Rooms are nice and comfortable. It was very hot and realized later that they had only air cooling and not air conditioning. Grocery shop was very very close. Also nice bars too. Train station is about 25 min walk.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nalindeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having taken up a special rate from Secret Escapes we had one night at the Brigstow. We found the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the superior room with river views was perfectly adequate although of course this time of year the trees obliterate any views. We did not have dinner there but thought that the breakfast was excellent. The position of the hotel is very convenient with an easy walk to the shops and yet it was very quiet at night. My only grumble would be the cost of car parking which was £15.10 after the 25% discount that the hotel gives. That's expensive!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Booksearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us again. Please remember the next time you stay, always check out the Mercure web site for the best rates guaranteed in addition, you will also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' We shall look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at hotel last night for The Pogues concert on the harbourside so very good location. Friendly desk staff, found us a river view room. Room was comfortable, especially the bed and was very quiet.We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was too expensive but didn't actually see what you got for your money. Would definitely recommend the Mercure for exploring the delights of Bristol.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Allenshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing