We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Mercure Brigstow is a great hotel, especially if you're lucky enough to be in a Privilege Room. Lovely views, super amenities, and plenty of space. The location can't really be bettered either, being on the waterfront, and close to interesting places like St Nicholas Market, Queen Square and more.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ben T

I'm glad to see you enjoy your stay in one of our Privilege room and yes we have a great location just walking distance from key areas of Bristol
Thank you again for your review
kind regards
stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had a beautiful view overlooking the canal. Great location, very close to bars/restaurants. Loved the television in the bathroom! Perfect hotel, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a canal view room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spencer3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Spencer3108,

thank you for your review , I'm glad to see you enjoyed the view on the boulevard , river side and that you had a great stay with us
kind regards

stephane merle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here when we came to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show a little while back and absolutely loved it. The room was excellent, even my friend thought so and she is very fussy! The location was perfect, with a mere 10 minute walk to the Hippodrome to watch the show. Would definately reccommend staying here, its easy to find, reasonably priced and a good central location :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear megan H

Thank you for your review , we are please to read your found our rooms perfect and you enjoyed your show at the Hypodrome theatre located a few minutes walk from us
Kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location to access the heart of Bristol. Parking available at the NCP Car park around the corner - with the Hotel subsidising 25% of the cost. Hotel clean, staff friendly and a good selection for breakfast! What more do you need?

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel with inter-connecting rooms for our teenage children. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Heather 141,

I'm glad to see you had a great time during your stay and that our connecting rooms made you family stay a comfortable one .
kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night whilst on business. Central location with a NCP car park next door. Guests recieve a 25% reduction. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. Hotel room itself was getting a little tired but was very clean, my pet concern. Also the room was very quiet considering that the hotel is very central for bars and restaurants. It was booked through our business accommodation but seemed very good value. Buffet breakfast was up to scratch with decent ingredients no indelible sausages etc. which some hotels serve up. Pleasant stay

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank ks03nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear KS03nw

Thank you for your review , our room are going through a redecoration plan , thank you for your comments regarding our buffet breakfast that is for sure a great start of the day .
kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely comfortable weekend ( 3 nights) a very nice room overlooking the River & a large comfortable double bed.
Bathroom was well equipped with a brilliant walk in shower.
Wi Fi throughout hotel was perfect.
Had dinner in the Restaurant the first night as it was our wedding anniversary & set three course menu was delicious.
Service was first class from all the friendly staff.
In all we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvje11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mvje 11,

Thank you for staying with us during your wedding anniversary . I'm happy to see you had a great time and you enjoy the quality of our restaurant . I will pass your comment to our chefs and restaurant team
kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here during July 14. It is nestled beside the river on a cobbled street just a short walk away from plenty of nightlife and shopping.

The room was fine, but don't bother paying the extra £10 per night to be in the front of the hotel. It looks lovely in the pictures, but when you are in the rooms (I've stayed there before) you don't get the river view because of the trees that are in front. We stayed at the back of the hotel which is also much quieter. The aircon in the room was a bit breathless so we had to ask for a fan at reception which they supplied, it was during a mini heatwave though.
It is quite accessible from the airport bus if you get off at St Marys Redcliffe church, it's then about a 6-700 metre walk Normally it might be ok. Overall, not a bad hotel, I would stay there again. I would give it 3.5 'blobs' if you could, it's better than average but not quite very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eddy621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Eddy621,

Thank you for your review , the "boulevard , riverview " still really " open" during 8 month of the year . thanks to continious feedback we are always aiming for scoring 5 "blobs "
kind regards

stephane merle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £66 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing