We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed for 1 night in July 2014 on business. The hotel is lovely and modern with beautiful rooms. The front of the hotel overlooks the river and the back a multi-storey car park so there is no traffic noise to wake you up. There are nice little touches added to the rooms such as locally produced shortbread and when I called to see if they could swap my normal tea for fruit tea, the staff came within 5 minutes with lots of different flavours for me to try. There is also free in room wifi. I didn't try room service but breakfast was excellent, you can help yourself to a buffet but they also have a cook to order menu which can be tailored to your specific dietary requirements. Just outside the hotel there are plenty of restaurants and bars to take you pick from and Cabot circus shopping centre is just a 10 min walk away through the park. You can also use a gym for free just down the road which the hotel has a contract with. All in all a great stay for all and definitely one of the best places I've stayed in Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Leila249

Thank you for your review , we are glad you had a memorable stay with us and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the futur .

kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed there over a weekend recently. Hotel is located on Welsh Back right on the water so perfectly located for central Bristol. Numerous pubs and restaurants nearby as well, SS Great Britain etc. in walking distance (allowing for the ferry crossing also). Room was on the 3rd floor and right next to the lift. But we didn't hear the lift at all during our stay so soundproofing generally good. (Although our friends in a different room did say that they could here 'next door's' bathroom so not totally soundproofed). The room was at the rear of the hotel - dissapointing initially becauses not a great view but, again, quiet. (Bristol is pretty noisy in the evening!). Nicely appointed room (although the slightly odd angled alignment of the bed made me think that someone had gone overboard on the old 'feng shui'!). Great bathroom and shower also. Downsides - TV reception was awful with a fuzzy, blurred picture on every channel and the the breakfast at £16 each was a rip off. So we ate breakfast out in a couple of different places. Parking is just behind the hotel in Great Charlotte Street - don't forget to get your ticket validated before you leave. (By the way, the car park is very tight and we did end up with a bit of 'car park rash' i.e.e a small dent on the rear quarter of the car. Grrrrr. But not the hotel's fault of course). Staff (reception and bar) were helpful throughout. Overall, a good stay at the Mercure and we'd recommend / stay again.

Room Tip: At the front for a bit of a view. At the rear for quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Fuzzbox100 ,

Thank you for you comments , I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the great location of the hotel . You could prebook the breakfast for £10/person and I'm sure it would have kept you full for the day ! it is close to the price of a large late and a muffin in most coffee places ...
We haope to see you again on your next visit in bristol

Kind regards

stephane merle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel for a family reunion at the weekend. There were 13 of us in the hotel for two nights. The hotel was in a good location being on the river bank with great views and within five minutes walk of the city centre. The hotel is wonderfully clean and the staff are all helpful and friendly. There is an NCP car park adjacent to the hotel where you can get a 25% discount if you validate your ticket at the reception desk before you leave. The food was very good with a two course meal for £17 or a three course for £20. Not bad if you don't book ahead of time. The rooms are well equipped with flat screen TV, Iron, toiletries and a TV in the bathroom! I would say that the hotel is good value for money and perfect if you are visiting Bristol. Surrounding the hotel there is a bus stop (the City Site seeing bus stops there) and la Loch Fyne restaurant and many pubs and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Peeking

Thank you for your review , I'm really happy to see you found our hotel clean , welcoming and a perfect spot to stay with your family .
I hope you had a good time in bristol city and to welcome you in the futur
kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arrived Friday for my birthday weekend had a privilege room on the 6th floor facing the river. Very efficient checkin and room was very nice. Only had breakfast in restaurant which was excellent both mornings and a few drinks in the bar at night on return from eating out. Location excellent and friendly and efficient staff.

Only one very minor gripe!! on checking out receptionist didn't tell us that we needed to pay for car parking in the car park we thought we had paid the hotel for it upon trying to leave car park barrier wouldn't raise as we owed £30! can I suggest this is mentioned to the guests luckily for us there was no queue of traffic trying to get out whilst we reversed and parked again to go to ticket machine and pay. As I say only a minor gripe no big deal really.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndySCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Andy SCFC,

thank you for your feedback , I'm glad to ready you had a great Birthday weekend in Bristol and you had a great experience with us . We mention to our guest about the special discount with the NCP during the checkin process but I will remind the reception team to reinforce the message
thank you again for your review
kind regards

stephane merle
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Mecure Bristol Brigstowe is fantastic value when you get the room for £65-70 a night excluding breakfast. Much nicer than a Premiere Inn for not much more. This hotel is right on the side of the Avon river with small boats constantly going up and down stream and providing a very jolly backdrop. The river bank is great to walk with trees and cafe's every few yards. Just outside the hotel you can catch the river ferry that you can use to take you somewhere or just stay on-board for 40 minutes and you arrive back at the hotel and great value at £3.80 each or close to that amount. The hotel has all of the facilities you would expect including bar and restaurant and nice reception area with friendly receptionists. The lift is very slow but that's not worth losing too much sleep about. Room 217 is a good size with big twin beds and nicely decorated and furnished. Bathroom was great with bath and separate shower cubicle and loo and washbasin with good towels and toiletries provided. I would score the room 10/10 for value and facilities (the milk is in the fridge, don't hunt around the room looking for it).

The location is wonderful with two local shopping malls within a few minutes walk and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. We ate next door in Aqua which is like an up-market Prezzo's and the food is really nicely cooked and served.

This is a fantastic location for a weekend break that's up-market and won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Donald 2002

Thank you very much for your review , I'm glad you had a great time in bristol and you enjoyed the boat trips on river Avon , we hope to welcome you on your next stay in Bristol

Kind regards

stephane merle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I hardly dare write this review as I want this place all to myself !! I regularly hold meetings and stay here in the hotel. the welcome is lovely, the rooms are scrupulously clean and the meeting area is relaxed and friendly. This is perfect as I am usually interviewing, so people are naturally nervous.
Chris - the meeting/events manager is really helpful and has helped me on several occasions when untoward things crop up. All the team go above and beyond to make it a fab experience every time. Delicious great coffee is plentiful and not the usual luke - warm brew which plague many other hotels !
This is a chain but with a real difference, individual and personal with attention to detail
A big thank you !
So although I highly recommend this hotel ... please always make room for me !

Room Tip: Push the boat out and go for the Penthouse - fab views and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Rosie C

Thank you for your kind comments , it is always a pleasure to make our guest stay a memorable experience . Thank you for your kind words about Chris who gives a great customer service and always try to go the extra mile to ensure our guest's meetings and events will run perfectly .
The meeting room on the Mezanine with riverview are really appreciated by our bookers as it relax the day .
Thank you for using our hotel and we will see you soon
kind regards

stephane merle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing