We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

I only stayed one night in this hotel but would have been pleased to stay longer. The rooms are light and airy with some nice furniture - and the bathroom was terrific with a great shower! The staff were nice, the TV worked and had more than 4 channels. Everywhere was clean and the whole place had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The view out over the river was worth a few bob too! The service was fast and efficient without making you think they wanted you shifted ASAP. A really good hotel and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBloodaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    645
    202
    88
    41
See reviews for
138
830
122
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

My boyfriend and I had a 3 nights stay at Mercure Brigstow Hotel in April 2008. We booked our superior room quite early and got a great deal through the hotels own web page. The hotel is located very conveniently. Our room was nice and the staff was helpful and friendly. Would really recommend to book a superior room due to the river view and balcony. The only downside is that if you get a room on the 1st floor (as we did) you'll hear high frequent noise every time you open the door to the balcony (probably not a problem if you are above 40 years old :-)). We ate dinner in restaurant once. The food wasn't the best we had in Bristol, but it was well worth the price taken into account that we had the dinner incl. in our room rate and that the half board supplement was minimal. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

If you love contemporary styling then this is the place for you. Right in the centre of Bristol within walking distance of bars, restaurants, shopping and with an NCP car park right next door it's an ideal location for business and pleasure trips. I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past, but not for at least 5 years, so was worried that its trendy interior would look tired and dated. Not so, it's every bit as good as the first time I stayed there. The only downsides....if you stay at the weekend and want breakfast it's extremely busy - we opted to go out for breakfast rather than queue. Check out was a similar nightmare - we waited half an hour to check out and couldn't see any express facility. Overall though this is a great hotel and brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeetPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

I have stayed here 3 times on business - mainly for the location. This is definitely reflected in the price it is very expensive for what you get. Rooms have been OK.
Each time I have stayed there the check in has been frustratingly slow with massive queues forming. Check out is exactly the same pace! They never seem to have enough staff on.
This is the same for breakfast - if you miss time this you can be waiting 30 mins for poached eggs. The breakfast this time around was awful - completely over cooked. Whilst I was waiting to check out the chap in front of me was also complaining about the standard of the breakfast and how long it took to arrive! To be fair the receptionist took the price off the bill!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception and check in/out - terrible!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

Excellent location, pleasant staff, decent breakfast. Rooms not the biggest but comfortable. Would definitely use again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bar Prices
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnroblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

My wife’s birthday Saturday so booked a night including dinner as a surprise treat. All started well when I emailed the hotel to arrange some flowers and assistance given was very good.

Tried to check in 14:00 on Saturday. Told that the room wasn’t ready, we went for some lunch. Came back and checked into room (614). Unfortunately I discovered that the heating was broken (how did they not know this) and the TV in the bathroom didn’t work. One of the main reasons for my hotel choice was the bathroom TV as I thought my wife could watch the X factor final while having a soak) replacement room offered after some discussion which I really didn’t want!! We were given a choice of the same grade room on the 2nd floor or lower grade room on 6th. Took the lower grade room (607) turned out to be next to the lifts and air con vents so was noisy all night with a constant hum. Had dinner in the restaurant which was below average. My steak & kidney pie was undercooked and the meat tough & inedible. Ordered papers for the morning and only one arrived. This was a special occasion and although we received a discount I would much rather pay the normal price and get a good service.

  • Liked — Orange juice for breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise, Cold, Room quality, food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeuk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

We - a couple and our 18 month old daughter - enjoyed our two night weekend break here. We paid £70 a night for room only and booked our stay through the hotel's own website.

The room was clean and modern but not particularly spacious. The bathroom has a bath (with its own water-proof TV!) and separate shower which is better than we've had at cheaper hotels.

The reception staff were efficient and a baby's cot was set up in the room within minutes of us checking in.

Location is good - within easy walking distance of the main shopping area as well as the harbour area. There are many restaurants and pubs in the area.

  • Liked — Location and modern rooms
  • Disliked — Room was a little on the small size
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing