We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“still good”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

after staying here and posting a review previously 2 months ago just thought i'd give you my latest review...i'd still say don't miss out on this hotel but the all weekend car pass has now gone up to £18 oh and the hot buffet breakfast has gone!! there's still a cold buffet one and also included is a freshly cooked to order breakfast but i missed my unlimited sausages bacon etc!! still a really good value hotel with lovely room facilities...I'LL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    682
    219
    90
    42
See reviews for
147
871
129
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonehouse
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Suberb location, efficient check in, clean and comfortable room overlooking the canal waterfront. Particularly impressed with the spacious and well equipped bathroom. All a little spoilt by the slow arrival of the cooked breakfast. Even more frustrating because the restaurant staff were so efficient. The long wait was summed up by an adjacent diner who remarked 'I was about to go and have another shave I've been waiting so long.'

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesilentwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I have stayed at circa 8 hotels in central Bristol for buisness and this is without fail the best! Loved the location right on river, excellent staff, modern rooms - wooden floors and even tile TV in the btahrooms! Good breakfast...will return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I booked this hotel off of the internet, for my partners birthday treat. The reviews and photos of the hotel looked good. .
We arrived saturday afternoon check in was 2pm we arrived at 3pm to be told our room wasnt ready we eventually got into our room at 3.45pm. Firstly there were dirty plates and glasses outside of our door. There was supposed to be a stocked mini bar in the room and this was empty. There was thick dust in the room on, the dressing table, the tv and bedside tables. The dust around the fridge area in particular was white. There were cracked tiles on the floor of the bathroom and hair on the floor. Very disappointed, I rang down to reception to make all of the above known to them so that it could be rectified as we were going out for a walk into the town for a couple of hours.
Jefferey on reception wasnt at all apologetic and just said he would speak to housekeeping. On our return at 6pm, the plates were still sat outside of our bedroom door, and there had obviously been no one into our room to dust. I rang down to reception and spoke to Jefferey again who assured me housekeeping had been into the room to dust again.... they definitely hadnt, and he said that they had gone home now, with no apologies, he said that he would arrange for the plates to be moved.

We had booked bed and breakfast and thought that going on our experience at the hotel so far, that the service and breakfast would be dreadful, we were pleasantly surprised, and everything met with our satisfaction. We definitely wouldnt stay at this hotel again we have stayed at The Marriot and Jurys previously when visiting Bristol and would go back to them in future...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We'd booked a room with a river view and at check in, asked for and got one with a balcony as well! A great start to a relaxing stay. The hotel is situated next to the river, with plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance - leave the car in the NCP and explore Bristol on foot! Our room was modern and clean and given the location of the hotel, you should expect some noise in the evenings as people pass by to and from the local bars. This wasn't a problem though. Breakfast on Sunday morning was included in our rate, and as suggested by the hotel, we delayed having ours until after 10.30 to avoid the busiest times - however, it seemed like everyone else had decided to do the same and consequently, service was a little erratic (3 requests for tea and coffee etc). Overall though, We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cousinernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outskirts of london
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This hotel had a really good Easter deal so my partner and I used the existing reviews to make our decision to stay here for the bank holiday. We parked in the NCP with no problems and were given very helpful advice on checking in on how to save money for parking. We were given a validated ticket for the duration of our stay for £10-excellent value! We really like the location of our hotel and the decor was interesting in a good way. The service was good although i think many staff let them down on Bank holiday Monday which made for a turbulent breakfast but did not disturb our relaxed demeanour. My only complaints would be that our room smelt 'funny', we had problems with our tv reception and the cleaning did not leave our room spotless but the essentials (bed linen, toilet, shower) were all fine. The hotel did send a painless questionnaire after our stay in which i raised these points-quite a nice touch i thought as nothing was so awful that we mentioned it at the time. We had a river view room and really enjoyed the fully opening windows. All in all we had a fabulous stay and the hotel was excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayobsessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel over the Easter weekend and were very impressed. The hotel is very modern and we had a lovely view over the river (without paying the £20 premium for it). The room was a good size and the bathroom had a shower and a bath, there was even a TV in the wall at the end of the bath, however ours didn't work.
The buffet breakfast was very good, with a selection of hot food, cold meats and cheese, yogurts and cereals. The hotel is ideally located for the bars and restaurants on the Floating Marina and also not far from the shopping area at Broadmeads. There is also an NCP carpark next door to the hotel and guests can purchase a ticket from reception for £10 which allows you to stay from 12.30pm Friday until 9.30am Monday and you can come and go as many times as you like.
The only problem we had was trying to get a drink at the bar, we waited 5 mins and then ended up asking at reception whether anyone was actually working on the bar that night!
We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrssjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing