We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of a refresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of a refresh”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights from Boxing Day. Arriving at 8 in the evening we found the check in very smooth, but our second floor room was cold. After 10 minutes of cold air blowing through the air conditioning I went to Reception and they brought up a heater. The room took about an hour to warm up but was fine for the rest of our stay and we didn't need the heater again. The air conditioning was a bit noisy.

Luckily we didn't have a car so didn't experience the parking problems others did. The bus station is right next to the hotel. To get to the shopping centre the most direct route is through an underpass called the Bear Pit. It is OK during the day, but a bit daunting late at night. If you turn right outside the hotel and walk about 200 yards there is a pedestrian crossing which gets you to the shopping centre without going through underpass.

Breakfast was a bit of a challenge. The servery is poorly laid out meaning staff have to carry hot trays of food whilst negotiating queues of guests waiting for coffee and hot food. Rearranging the servery, adding another coffee machine and a putting out a few more mugs and plates would help reduce the queues and make breakfast more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

The Bear pit is at the moment going through an upgrade. We have been informed the work will take up to 5 months to completed.

I will also pass on your comments to the GM in the Beefeater next door about breakfast.

Thank you again.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    732
    250
    79
    77
See reviews for
497
535
149
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived at 2 a.m. in the night - very tired after over ten hours on a plane and two hours on the bus. The hotel was conveniently located next to the Coach Station. The man who assisted me at checkin was extremely friendly and willing to help, the room was clean and comfortable, making it an enjoyable stay. I would consider staying here again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Dotori,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.
I'm glad to read the team looked after you after your long journey.


Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Hotel full of drunken party people who insisted running and shouting along the corridors at midnight. Second night fire alarm and evacuation outside at 1am. Fire brigade said faulty sensor on 17th floor, and no guarantee it won't happen again. I checked out there and then an went to another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank really_weary_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I am very sorry about your stay with us and the issues raised in your comments.

If we have groups staying with us we do try to put them together which is better for them and other guest.

When we have an alarm activation we do have to act on the issues and wait for the fire brigade to give us the all clear.

Once again I am sorry.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Excellent room, hotel, staff and services. Friendly and very helpful! Clean and very good value for money! Highly recommend! Right in the centre of Bristol just across the road from the Broadmead shopping centre also 10 minute walk away from the 02 Academy and The Fleece so easy for shopping and gigs!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your awesome comments on your stay.

I'm sure we will be seeing you again, as the O2 have got some great gigs on over the next 12 months.

See you soon.
Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Their slogan says it all. They can guarantee you a good nights sleep! The bed is very comfy, the facilities are what you expect from a PI, the staff are friendly and helpful, the TV is always in tune and the rooms are warm. The Beefeater attached is good for food with a nice menu and the beer is decent. The PI cooked breakfast isnt top notch but its edible, although the selection is fantastic. The baggage store is handy too, for when I checked out but had to go off to work. I collected my bags later that day. Also, the location is great for all needs. Overall, perfect for what I wanted.

Helpful?
Thank DaveDeb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your comment's on your stay with us here at the Bristol Haymarket.

Look forward to your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very good location for the centre of Bristol and the nearly Cabot Circus Shopping Centre - very good standards for a budget hotel in the centre of a large city - public bus service nearby and link to restaurant and bar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Martin,

Nice to read we ticked all the boxes for room, location and shopping.

Hope you didn't speand too much in Cabot Circus.

Look forward to your next visit.
Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2014 for 2 nights. Room booked in the sale so paid less than £70. Great value, really comfortable bed. No noise.
10 minute walk to the waterfront and straight across the road to broad mead for shopping.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLONorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

Hope you had a good night down at the waterfront.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Address: The Haymarket, Bristol BS1 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bristol
#16 Family Hotel in Bristol
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the heart of the action at Premier Inn Hotel Bristol City Centre (Haymarket). Slap bang in the middle of everything, you can walk to most of the major sights, shops and events, as well as the many business HQs. You could wander along the historic harbourside, stroll across the Clifton Suspension Bridge, or walk underwater at Bristol Zoo. And, in the evening, catch one of the big name acts at the Hippodrome, Colston Hall or O2 Academy. Then, when you're ready to drop, return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Please note this Premier Inn has no on site parking. Directions: M4(J19), take the M32 to City Centre. Follow signs for Clifton and the bus station. At the roundabout the hotel is directly in front of you. There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. Off-site parking is available at Rupert Street NPC (sat nav BS1 2JX) or James Barton (BS1 3LJ) each at approx 20GBP per 24 hours (hotel guests will get a 25% discount - please get your ticket validated at hotel reception). Transport and local information: Shopping centre Harbourside Bristol Zoo Bristol Temple Meads Train Station 1 mile Bristol Airport 10 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing