We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I booked this hotel as I was taking a friend to a hospital for investigations, and this hotel was the nearest
From the initial booking to our departure all was perfect
The staff were very accommodating & facilitated an early check in and late check out, which was necessary due to the timing of the hospital appointments
Our rooms were clean & comfortable, and we had everything we needed for our stay
The hotel is very central and had a wonderful Beefeater restaurant just nextdoor
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foolsgold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel and Bristol Fashion.

I will pass on your comments to the Beefeater..

Thank you again and look forward to your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    706
    242
    78
    75
See reviews for
479
516
146
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here as a place to meet up with all my university friends and their families, a sort of reunion 20 years on. Staff were very friendly from the off, I called to book a table in the beefeater restaurant for all 16 of us and the staff on reception and in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful, going out of their way to save us a big table even though we weren't quite sure when the different families would be arriving or eating. Dinner was great fun and the staff were so helpful, catering for our every need. Can't understand the comments about staff being unfriendly at all. Food good, standard beefeater stuff which is what we wanted with families. Breakfast great and free for kids, a nice touch. I was struck by how quiet the hotel was at night, they really stick by the good night's sleep guarantee and actually remind you about it on check in, I don't always sleep well in hotels but did here. Only slight gripe was that a family room seems to be just a double with beds that pull out from underneath, meaning that it was a bit tight on space with 4 of us, I would have rather paid extra for a bit more room. Car park is v small but we luckily got a space. Overall fantastic value, I have stayed at places 5 times the price which are 5 times worse so in future will always go for premier inn when looking for a value place to stay. Great location In heart of city
centre too. Thank you!

Room Tip: Don't expect a huge amount of space in family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at the Bristol Haymarket.

Glad a table was sorted for you in the Beefeater, giving you all time to sit, relax and catch up.

We hope to see you all back again but hope you don't leave it another 20 years.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Normal premier inn standard in the rooms - except, very dull lighting, windows that didn't open at all (I was only on the second floor) and the net curtains are behind the secondary glazing so you couldn't slide them back to let more light in. The heating didn't work, at least it didn't warm the room past about 19 degrees. House keeping didn't clean or replace mugs on second day, half a cup of cold tea left in one. All of this I could put up with..... But the car park was infuriating. On the first night I turned up and the car park said full, I called reception and the said that it wasn't actually full, and raised the barrier. I parked without a problem. On the second night it said 'spaces' above the entrance and so drove in. It turned out that it was actually full, but as there were a couple of other cars behind me it took us ten minutes to get out. Once out I called reception who informed me that there was a secure NCP down the road. The direction that reception gave me (after 3 calls and being cut off as no one was able to answer, according to the recorded message) were poor and sent me in the wrong direction. The chap said to follow the one way system.... There are many in bristol. When I finally found the car park (20 minutes later) the tariff for 24 hours was £20. It turns out that I could have stayed at the Marriott (car park included) for less than the premier inn and car park costs. Very disappointed overall and will be asking our procurement team to select a different supplier for all staff on future visits.

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberdobdobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Robert,

I am very sorry about the problems you had while staying with us.

We pride ourselves on the high standard within our hotel. I will be speaking with my housekeeping team concerning the issues you had within your room.

With only 55 car parking spaces at the hotel we do try to get the information and directions for Rupert Street NCP to all our guest. Our web site has details,emails sent to our guest has details and on the car park entrance there are leaflets with the directions.
I am very sorry that on this occasion we missed getting the information to you.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menorca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Right in the heart of Bristol and very convenient for the bus station (airport connection), this hotel is ideal for a short stay. The reception staff were very good; the room was clean and comfortable and what you would expect for a medium price hotel. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: The windows in our room did not open so, with the double glazing, we had no noise at all from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandRosBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Andy,


Thank you for your comments.

I'm sure we'll see you again on your next visit to Bristol.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My heart sank when I saw the concrete monstrosity that is the Premier Inn in Bristol but the location and the staff were wonderful. We had a huge room compared to the usual Premier room so were well impressed. Not the cheapest Premier but compared to some of the other hotels in Bristol, it didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fetchminardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your comments.

The building was once Bristol Council Offices and have been here from 1972 and were converted to a Premier Inn 2000.
Once you see the height of the building it is a shock.

I am glad the room was good and the team looked after you.

Look forward to your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
670 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A clever blend of an old inn - right on the dock and behind the Llandoger Trou - the ancient inn down the road from the Bristol Old Vic - a cobbles and character. So an amusing marriage between Tudor and 21st century. Bravo Premier Inn for putting together this interesting pairing.
Beds and bathrooms all top notch but with an excellent breakfast in an historic building.
Parking is not a problem as you get 25% off the multi story nearby

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobininBRISTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Robin,

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the Team Leader at Bristol King Street Premier Inn.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights from Boxing Day. Arriving at 8 in the evening we found the check in very smooth, but our second floor room was cold. After 10 minutes of cold air blowing through the air conditioning I went to Reception and they brought up a heater. The room took about an hour to warm up but was fine for the rest of our stay and we didn't need the heater again. The air conditioning was a bit noisy.

Luckily we didn't have a car so didn't experience the parking problems others did. The bus station is right next to the hotel. To get to the shopping centre the most direct route is through an underpass called the Bear Pit. It is OK during the day, but a bit daunting late at night. If you turn right outside the hotel and walk about 200 yards there is a pedestrian crossing which gets you to the shopping centre without going through underpass.

Breakfast was a bit of a challenge. The servery is poorly laid out meaning staff have to carry hot trays of food whilst negotiating queues of guests waiting for coffee and hot food. Rearranging the servery, adding another coffee machine and a putting out a few more mugs and plates would help reduce the queues and make breakfast more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

The Bear pit is at the moment going through an upgrade. We have been informed the work will take up to 5 months to completed.

I will also pass on your comments to the GM in the Beefeater next door about breakfast.

Thank you again.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Address: The Haymarket, Bristol BS1 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bristol
#16 Family Hotel in Bristol
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the heart of the action at Premier Inn Hotel Bristol City Centre (Haymarket). Slap bang in the middle of everything, you can walk to most of the major sights, shops and events, as well as the many business HQs. You could wander along the historic harbourside, stroll across the Clifton Suspension Bridge, or walk underwater at Bristol Zoo. And, in the evening, catch one of the big name acts at the Hippodrome, Colston Hall or O2 Academy. Then, when you're ready to drop, return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Please note this Premier Inn has no on site parking. Directions: M4(J19), take the M32 to City Centre. Follow signs for Clifton and the bus station. At the roundabout the hotel is directly in front of you. There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. Off-site parking is available at Rupert Street NPC (sat nav BS1 2JX) or James Barton (BS1 3LJ) each at approx 20GBP per 24 hours (hotel guests will get a 25% discount - please get your ticket validated at hotel reception). Transport and local information: Shopping centre Harbourside Bristol Zoo Bristol Temple Meads Train Station 1 mile Bristol Airport 10 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing