We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very memorable stay.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had the most lovely nights stay here. It was perfection. Can recommend 110%!! The welcome we had from a charming member of staff was excellent & we had a delicious breakfast in our room as we felt lazy

Room Tip: The east loft suite was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    39
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
212
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is less of a hotel more an upmarket and, it has to be said, rather expensive guesthouse with really lovely rooms. The set up is unusual as there is no reception as such. Instead a very charming and helpful young lady seems to materialise from thin air whenever something is needed. But only until 8.00 pm when the dining room and lounge are locked and the guests are left on their own with a fromt door key. I thought locking the lounge a bit odd to be honest. However our room (luxury double) had a small table and two comfortable chairs overlooking the Downs so we simply enjoyed some of the rather pricey contents of our mini bar. The room could not be faulted with a lovely big bed and tasteful decor plus a huge bathroom with an amazing view across Bristol. Breakfast was very good although some people who arrived at the end of the breakfast rush probably had to wait a long time as everything was cooked to order. Everything was very fresh and of good quality. It's nice to find somewhere that is a little bit different. One thing to be noted is that there is no car park and you have to park on a fairly busy road.

Room Tip: The is some traffic noise at the front although it does die down at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Number 38 on 15th July while attending our daughter's graduation. It was one of the hottest days of the year. The staff were delightful and nothing was too much to ask for. We had two rooms and both were fabulous. The breakfast was delicious. Wish we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a special little place. Couldn't fault it.
Delightful room. Very nice fittings and very comfortable bed.
Champagne was delightful, thank you.
We had a free upgrade as it was our wedding anniversary.
Loved the fresh milk, personally I would have liked a teapot! But I'm being picky to be honest. It was all very pleasantly done, very nice toiletries as well.
We will be back!
Breakfast was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Such a beautiful quiet B&B in Bristol - with some amazing final touches. The suite was particularly special with its copper bath tub and the lovely vintage radio too! The breakfast takes a little while but it was delicious. Highly recommended for a special occasion or simply a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city_girl198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After a fantastic first visit, I took my partner back for a visit. It is a very professionally run B&B, with beautiful bedrooms and an even better breakfast. Good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Given room 8 (dull grey paint with sparkling white linen) down very steep stairs from reception to the room. Room 8 has a blinkered view out over the city (left obstructed by a wall). It has a vast bathroom with bath and shower (which I'd wanted). However I struggled to get around the bed and banged my leg on the corner of it 3 times, upset the milk jug and swore. Was given a replacement milk jug plus a teapot (not normally supplied) almost instantly so no complaints there. A strange idea to have no wardrobe so one hangs one's clothes all around the walls. No drawer space. Neither BBC 1 nor ITV 1 functioned. By the time I'd discovered this there was no one to report it to. I mentioned it on checking out and was given a pathetic £1 discount off the bill. I'd be interested to know if it's working now. £130 for one night in this hotel is extortionate.

Room Tip: No lift so difficult to traipse up and down stairs looking for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RossiterSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Property: Number Thirty Eight
Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing