We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Management and staff - Basic Hotel though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Channings Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Management and staff - Basic Hotel though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here just before christmas for a week whilst working in Bristol. Its a grand old building but needs a lot of work and TLC. The saving grace was the staff. From the moment I made the booking I was made to feel welcome and during my stay, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.

The breakfast is one of the best I've ever had so hats off to the chef!

For the price its good value. However you do see that the place needs to be spruced up and it could be something special.

During my stay I had a few issues (none that were due to the hotel) and the staff went that extra mile to help me out. Guys I'm very grateful for that and on that basis alone ill def be staying that the channings again when I'm in bristol next.

For me, the place can be as nice as you want but if the service is poor then the experience is poor. At channings the staff make this place a jewel.

to the management company, id say invest some time and money into the building and the staff will make this into a winner for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    46
    31
    24
    25
See reviews for
25
56
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Once again a good stay at this hotel. Warm room, good shower comply bed. Ate in the Hotel and we both enjoyed the food. Good atmosphere at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed on four seperate occasions,for multiple nights,,,perfect every time,,many thanx
Merry Christmas to you all see you again in the new year.
Mr Bruce Dorling ,Sevenoaks energy,,Kent

Room Tip: Paul weller ,or Good fellers aint bad :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you are looking for a warm, clean room and bathroom (mine had a lovely power shower, load of hot water), comfy bed and not looking to pay thought the teeth for it, be close to town then give Channings a try.
An old building needing some refurb for sure but you can see work in hand to address this. Having having stayed at Ibis, Travel Lodge on same price comparison but location all wrong Channings offers a more personal management style and very friendly environment.
Channing's new management team could not go out of their way to welcome us. Twice the local taxis were late and we were offered to be driven to town. On the morning I was leaving I even had luggage in the host's car and sitting in the front seat ready top be taken to the station when the taxi finally arrived. Can you see other hotels doning this.

There is a large bar as part of the hotel, but not being a drinker did not use it but it did seem popular and pleasent and no noise could be heard from the room.

For some practical information the taxi from Temple Mead train station is around £8 and into town walking distance or £5 by taxis if you dont want to walk.

If you want all mod cons, of plush reception, lift, parking then pay the going price of £120-£170 pn. If you want somewhere to sleep in comfort and warmth then Channings is worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipswich_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel whilst i was working in the area. I had a great time all the staff were very accommodating and was sad to leave , the area was fantastic with two great little villages nearby and very close to bristol, rooms were fantastic value and a good all round stay andy and lesley were very helpful and vicky is a great laugh on the bar. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Vicky will sort you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vence, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

but it's not. Basically it's a management problem. We stayed 4 nights and with night temperatures of 1 deg.C there was no heating in our room (No. 26). We complained several times, they always claimed to have fixed it, but didn't! They did however provide us with a fan heater which was barely adequate. The housekeeping was shambolic. Although the room and bathroom were very clean on our arrival, for the next two days the bathroom wasn't cleaned, the wastebins were not emptied, the used cups were never cleaned, until we complained. The internet didn't work. In a hotel of only 10 rooms surely it would be easy enough to make spot checks to see if all the equipment was functioning as it should, if the housekeeping was upto standard. We got the impression that the management waits for the guest to complain before they do anything about it. They are a charming couple, but they need to be far more on the ball and MANAGE instead of letting the guests tell them what they should be doing.

Room Tip: Don't take second floor rooms if you have a heavy suitcase or dodgy knees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leli2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Well first imppresions last. Knowhere to park, very busy roads, had to drive round for over an hour to find somewhere. Upon arrival took about 10 minutes to be booked in. Lots of noise from nearby properties, student accomodation. Breakfast was served in the Bar with last nights Beer smells still! Not great first thing in the morning. No option or offer of cereal, one small glass of orange juice a bit skimpy. Considering I was a single person paying £60 a night, 2 rashers of bacon 52 beans and one slice of warmed up bread (toast) seemed a bit pathetic! On the positive side, the bathroom was nice and clean, albeing no sink plu for 1 day! This was soon sorted.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nights sleep and somewhere to park after a busy day on the road, dont come here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channings Hotel

Property: The Channings Hotel
Address: 20 Pembroke Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing