We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Channings Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We booked a family room for £85 and while it was OK I wouldn't go back there. The mattress was uncomfortable and in the middle of the night the room was too hot. The chair in the room had a hole in it with foam poking out. The breakfast was fine but the pub TV was on all the time. I was also a bit disconcerted by how dirty the bathroom window was... the room wasn't generally dirty but the bathroom window was FILTHY. The staff seemed friendly enough but there were just a few too many things wrong with the place unfortunately

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopnuttynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    46
    31
    24
    25
See reviews for
25
56
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I've just come back from Bristol after a long weekend stay at the Channings Hotel, Clifton, Bristol and I'm very happy to have stayed there. The rooms were clean and tidy and any minor problems we had were dealt with very quickly. The food was good (pub fayre, but I'm not knocking it!) and plentiful and didn't taste as if it had gone through a microwave, so compliments to the chef.
There are bus stops right outside the hotel going both ways along the road. However, if you don't wish to go round the houses, I recommend crossing the road and getting the No 9 bus which gives you a view of the downs as well as Clifton village, then whisks you into the city centre 5 mins quicker than if you get the No 8 from the same side as the hotel. Both buses will take you to Bristol Temple Meads station if you need it.
The only real drawback with the hotel was having to hike up two flights of stairs as there was no lift, but the exercise comes in useful if you eat in the hotel. The host was very friendly as well as the rest of the staff who we met and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a first floor room to avoid the second flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

When we arrived we managed to find ourselves parking behind the hotel which was fine, the check in was quick and when we got to our room on the second floor we were pleasantly surprised by the room as it was clean, well presented and the bathroom was in good order. From reading some reviews before we got to the hotel we were a little bit worried but all that worry disappeared when we arrived, it is an old building but it is a lovely hotel and the staff were all very helpful.

The bar downstairs is very nice with lots of board games available for children and plenty of places to sit, the beer garden was nice and big I can imagine that getting busy in the summer months!

The bed had a lovely soft mattress, lovely pillows and soft duvet which was heavenly considering we had an awfully hard mattress at the premier inn the night before!

Breakfast times during the week are a little early considering we were staying for leisure, 7.30-8.30 was a little early for myself and my partner but we made it to breakfast both mornings and were greeted to a lovely welcome from the staff and a very good cooked breakfast!

We did not eat in the restaurant as we ate in the city center but their menu looked very appetizing and with good prices.

If your not afraid to walk to do some sightseeing the zoo is very close by and so is the suspension bridge, Clifton square and the City Center is a nice walk if you have good weather which we did! All with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.

All in all we had a lovely stay at this hotel all thanks to Andy, Leslie and their team as they were all very nice and helpful and when we next visit Bristol, this hotel will be top of our list!

Room Tip: Lansdown was the name of our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have to start by the people who run the channing hotel and the people who work there....absolutely brilliant. Extremely friendly, flexible and would do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The hotel is brilliant, very clean with TV in each room. They have one family room which we use often. The pub downstairs is a plus - if you want to have a drink before going to bed or eat (food is home cooked and super nice) then you can. No noise whatsoever comes from the pub - the hotel is fitted with special thick door to prevent it. The pub is also located in a very nice area of Clifton, very quiet and has a big advantage in the summer (or when weather permits) as they have a big garden. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are as good as in first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_alden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited this Hotel for 2 nights and on arrival I must say I was disappointed. The rooms were not clean and especially the bathrooms. My friends room bathroom (including the toliet) looked like it had not been cleaned since the last guest. When we complained we were told that that cleaner would be told. When we arrived back to the room in the evening it was still not cleaned. We had to complain again. Although this is a cheap hotel there is a minimum standard of cleaniness that you would expect. The walls of the rooms are extremely thin and I could here the phone alarm of the person in the room next to me. There was a gap underneath my friends room about 10cm high and they could hear everyone walking in the corridors and opening and closing doors. Overall I would say that my stay was disappointing and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie141178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed one night at Channings in Clifton, Bristol and can only say that the hospitality and friendliness were excellent!!!. My room was spotless, the bed exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom very spacious for a single room. The hot water was plentiful, the bath large and the shower powerful. Breakfast was lovely. The price was a bargain, especially considering the location in Clifton. I would recommend Channings without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We have stayed at this pub/hotel a few times now. The rooms are clean and functional. The price is very favourable and includes a full English breakfast which is fine. We have had one occasion when the water in the bathroom ran cold and this weekend's visit treated us to a trickle of a hot shower. For us though, the location is perfect, we have always been able to park on the road (easy after 6pm) and being able to dash back from University Symphony Orchestra concert with daughter in tow, for a quick drink and catch-up before bed, suits us perfectly. On one occasion we turned up only 45 mins before the concert started and asked on arrival if there was any food that could be waiting for us on a dining table within 10 mins and the staff managed this for us. We were grateful and attended the concert on full stomachs - thank you!
The owner/manager and staff have all been pleasant and work hard so we wish them all the best. Yes, it could be improved in places but the price is good and includes breakfast. It’s fine and good value in comparison to competitors.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channings Hotel

Property: The Channings Hotel
Address: 20 Pembroke Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing