We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Channings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$125
Bristol Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
36
49
37
29
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
49
37
29
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beer gardenno liftwalk into townlovely buildingtea making facilitiestop floora bit tireda great nights sleepsmall roomdouble bedbristol centrecentral locationcliftonparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel as my husband and I had some work to do in Bristol. This hotel was the most reasonably priced that we found for anywhere in the city, and it turned out to be so central that we were able to walk to where we needed to go, so saving on petrol and car parking charges! It was initially difficult to find parking near the hotel as they have no car park, so we had to park in the road a long way from the hotel. Hubby just popped out and moved the car right next to the hotel later in the evening, once things had cleared a bit, and we left it there for the rest of our stay.

We were made very welcome at reception and someone helped us up the stair with our bags. We found that all the staff that we dealt with were helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and freshly cooked. We also had a meal one evening and it was delicious - good quality, fresh ingredients. The room was spacious and comfortable, although a little general maintenance would improve it (our showerhead kept slipping and hubby kept banging his head on the lamp over the bed), and it was very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable too.

We felt very comfortable and relaxed at this hotel so fully intend to revisit next time we have work in this area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channings M, Manager at The Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Channings following your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff who work hard to make Channings succeed.

Channings is certainly in an ideal location and whilst parking can be an issue, as you rightly say once you have a space you really don’t need to use the car.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Arrived on Monday evening at 17 00 there was only 1 member of staff serving drinks in a very busy
Bar, I then waited 40 minutes before getting room key.after climbing the stairs (no lift if you struggle with stairs) .room was large bathroom too, sheets were clean.no view only wall of opposite building. Stayed 3 nights and it was comfortable, loads of resteraunts etc, clifton lovely area especially when the sun is shining.nice bar didnt try the food.breakfast was too late for me at 7 30 as thats when I start work.I would stay here again definately.always found street parking

Room Tip: Not the richmond if you dont like stairs, or want a view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channings M, Manager at The Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Channings.

I am sorry to hear that you were kept waiting at reception for a very unacceptable length of time. It is certainly not the greeting we expect our guests to have.

I have spoken to both the Duty Manager and the member of staff concerned and it appears that there was a complete breakdown in communication – the Duty Manger was on a break and was not called down to assist.

I am pleased to hear that this incident has not put you off staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

An excellent well priced hotel. Friendly service and great food. Have stayed in hotels for twice the money that haven't been half as good! There is plenty of parking in the surrounding area... The staff helped with booking taxis.

Room Tip: We had a brilliant stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was well equiped and clean. Food was well priced and breakfast was amazing... Thoroughly recommend.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesBrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channings M, Manager at The Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide feedback about our hotel - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Parking can be an issue, however once you have found a space you really do not need a car. Clifton Village is in walking distance and a bus stop outside the hotel will take you into the city centre.

We are continually striving to improve our standards and quality of service, and your comments have been passed to our team who work hard to make Channings an enjoyable place to stay.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here just for one night whilst visiting friends. The hotel is in a great location just 5 min walk from Clifton triangle which has lots of bars, resteraunts and shops but no parking off road though we did get a space right outside the premises. The staff (particularly the owners) were very welcoming and friendly. The room we stayed in was adequate for a one/two night stay, the bed being very comfortable with feather pillows and duvet, clean white linen and towels provided. The bathroom was clean and functional, however the blinds were dusty and the owners do need to invest in a feather duster to catch the spiders webs on the very high victorian ceilings. Breakfast was basic cooked full english with small selection of cereals but very nice served downstairs in the bar area. The owners I believe have not been here long so some things are a work in progress, efforts had been made to freshen up our room but it was still a little shabby. This is a pub with accomodation, good for a short stay. Given time and funds the owners could make this a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: No lift so avoid getting the third top floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnatucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channings M, Manager at The Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Channings Hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Clifton is a lovely place to visit and our location makes it so easy to visit the many restaurants and bars. We wish that we had our own parking facilities to make life easier for guests, thankfully however there are ample side roads which offer free parking!

I have spoken to our housekeeper regarding the blinds and webs on the high ceiling and I am pleased to advise that this matter has been dealt with.

We continue to strive to improve Channings and your kind comments regarding our staff have been passed to them.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

On arrival the young man on reception was quite unfriendly. On the way up stairs to first floor we noticed the light was missing from the wire and was hanging loose with bare wires showing!. The double room only had towels and cups for one, the overall cleanliness was poor with dust on most surfaces. But what was most alarming was to find 3 bugs in the bed under the duvet!,. And also to find a badly stained mattress. Our findings were reported to the assistant manager who immediately went on the defensive and said that checks were regularly done to mattresses and were regularly turned. Only on departure did she say she would look into all problems mentioned. We would definitely not return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews