We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A revisit and even better!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 49 Bristol B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I last stayed in Channings over a year ago, was a regular stayer, and thought it great. I returned and found it to be under new management. The staff are super friendly and super helpful. The menu is very inventive and very reasonable. I stayed in a different room this time which was spotless and the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. I had a great nights sleep and a very decent breakfast. I fail to understand why anyone visiting Bristol would prefer to stay anywhere else. It is a very reasonably priced, small, friendly, spotless hotel full of character, charm and warmth. I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The garden is full of broken wooden garden furniture, nobody bothers to clear glasses or empty Crisp packets off the tables so seaguls are walking over to tables looking for scraps.the basement bar area is filthy with a dirty courtyard outside, ripped sofas inside, and dirty glasses.yuck I can't believe they haven't been closed down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed one night while visiting relative nearby. Staff were helpful, letting me leave luggage in a secure place when I arrived before check-in time and fixing TV for me after I had accidentally de-tuned it. Single room was quiet with spacious bathroom. Excellent full cooked breakfast, with cereal and toast and offer of more orange juice and tea. This is a pub/restaurant with hotel rooms, not a luxury hotel, but comfortable and excellent value for an overnight stay in Clifton. Enjoyed good value evening meal in restaurant. Helpful staff made the difference.

Room Tip: The one single room, the Hampton, was airy with a spacious bathroom and quiet. The Hampton is up tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose to go to Channings for lunch today, having a guest with us. We asked what the roast of the day was, and turkey was the only option, so two of us ordered that. The food was quite long coming, so we thought it should be fresh, but we were in for a bad surprise. For the fish and chips, the fish was not fully cooked and the chips weren't hot. The fish finger sandwich didn't contain fish fingers but chopped-up fried fish. The turkey dinners were obviously complete meals that had been cooked on a previous occasion and warmed this time, but just warm. Every item was exactly the same tepid temperature. One plate contained actual slices of turkey, though dry-looking, the other had a pile of small offcuts of turkey, the sort of bits one might put in a curry. We obtained a refund for the whole meal and moved elsewhere, but too late for other places and ended by feeding our guest from Waitrose.

The shame is that the old ripped sofas that have been a feature of the Channings bar for months (if not years) had gone when we arrived, and we thought things might be getting better. However, I suppose the fact that there were only two or three customers in the bar between 1,00 and 2.00pm on a Sunday tells its own story.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My partner and I have just spent an evening at the Channings Hotel, Bristol, for a single overnight stay whilst going to see a gig in town.

In respect of Channings location, its far enough from the night time bustle of the city (if that is what you want) to have a quiet evening, but not so far away that you need a taxi to get back, so all is pretty good there.

Its an uphill walk on the way back from the city, so be prepared for an energetic hike. Great to clear the head before a night's sleep (seriously the location of Channings suited us and is also quite close to the zoo).

Upon your first approach to Channings, all looks very positive. Its a very "dominant" and obscurely shaped building on a corner with a large beer garden to the front. Sadly, this is where the love affair ends though and goes downhill then on in. Parking is on the main street only and if you are not lucky enough (like we were) to find a parking space close by, you will have a decent walk with your bags.

Approaching the building and going up a flight of steps at Channings front entrance (we couldn't see the side entrance and found it later) the inside of the bar area can be best described as "tired", really tired. It did look like it had been a beautiful building once (maybe when old great granddad was in short trousers), but not any more. It was empty of any guests or just individuals having a pint, just a TV talking to itself. At the bar, the prices being charged for drinks for an accommodation of this standard it is really not surprising that we were the only customers there......ouch!!!

No one introduced themselves to us (and we never did get to establish who was actually running the place) and although upon booking we were told that check in was at 3pm, were were allowed to go into our room early as apparently the maid had "gone around quickly" today...hmmmm!! initial alarm bells here. We paid for our room and were put in one on the top floor. We managed the sideways sloping steep flights of stairs (scary)...lets just put that down to character shall we?....

There seemed to have been one or two rugby tours here judging by the badly repaired holes in the lovely wood chip paper and exposed hanging wires from where ends of light fittings on the stairs had been removed. The room was very basic, though pretty clean, but no mattress covers, so god knows what was in the bed. No phone, one packet of three biscuits between two and limited tea making facilities.

The interior decoration was not great, best described as painted white wood chip with black marks. We went to our gig, and came back quite late at night thoroughly drenched through as it had been pouring down. there were no radiators or heating on to dry our clothes and no other means of drying either, so wet jeans for us the next day.

The bathroom, was reasonably clean, but there was just nothing there to invite you to have a bath....ooh no!!!, a quick shower and out would do. The only effort that had been made in bathroom etiquette was a tiny bottle of shampoo and one of shower gel shoved on a shelf.

We had a good nights sleep to be fair, put the damp jeans on in the morning and went down for breakfast. A couple of small boxes of cereal had been thrown on the bar, no instruction of what you could and couldn't have, no milk available for the cereal so I had to ask for that, nor was there any self service juices. No sugar on our table either other than three paper files of brown sugar to put on your cereal and in your tea.

They had trouble with the gas in the kitchen so apparently they were cooking in some flat. The cooked breakfast was tasty and hot to be fair, I heard the guy serving us telling another customer, "we are out of bacon, would you like another sausage instead"? c'mon, be real!! We managed to scrape the dregs out of the bottom of the H.P. sauce bottle onto our plates. Its little things like that which make you think.

Ha!, I've just remembered, the guy asked us did we want tea or coffee, he gave a smile when we asked for tea as he said everyone wants tea this morning and we are out of tea pots (there were only four tables occupied at the time)...ridiculous! We did get our tea though.

So in summary, lets just say sorry guys this place is best AVOIDED unless they sort themselves out big time. £60 per night per room is not ridiculously expensive in reality, but its not good value either for this place, really not at all.

All this said, it couldn't put a damper on our weekend for my birthday (even the rain couldn't do that), we had a fabulous weekend in Bristol out and about, seeing Boy George in concert and taking in Bristol life with my partner another weekend together, but we missed on the accommodation.

If it continues at this standard I can't see Channings being here under the same management in 12 months time unless the locals keep the bar going during the week. Anyway that's their business to sort and I wish them luck with it, whoever the mystery managers are.

It could be quite nice here, but its not.

Room Tip: Don't have one in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarandKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked on the day and the booking was fine. It was extremely noisy in the evening and the bed wasn't very comfortable but the water pressure in the shower was fine despite what we had read. I am more a fruit and yoghurt than cereal and fry up for breakfast but the cooked breakfast was good. Geographically it was very convenient for our son's graduation and the free round the corner parking was a bonus

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank car0T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The channings hotel-we didn't even make it there, the responsible person for booking went on holiday and did not leave anybody in charge to control bookings so we were called on the day of our visit to be told that there was no room for us - and it was not even the hotel who phoned us! Disgusting service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.2 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channings Hotel

Address: 20 Pembroke Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing