We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at the Woodstock” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodstock Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodstock Guest House
Ranked #11 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at the Woodstock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

My husband and I wanted a weekend away from London and decided to drive to Winchester, up to Stonehenge, onto Bristol and Bath. We hadn't been to any of these places before and decided to stay in the Bath/Bristol area. Places in Bath are rather expensive and we weren't sure we wanted to stay in downtown Bristol, but the Woodstock really was the best location for both.

It's about 10 minutes, maybe even less, to Bath and 5 minutes into Bristol. It's located on a busy street, but the house itself is set far back and above the street, plus we had a room on the opposite side of the house, so we wouldn't never known we were on a busy street.

The B&B was nice and both the owners were very friendly and accommodating. The room had a nice view overlooking their garden. The breakfast was very good, we ordered full English breakfast but I think they will make other things too. There is also juice, cereal, fruit, etc.

Probably the only downside is that they only serve breakfast until 9:30am on weekends, so when I asked for a wake up call at the latest time possible to catch breakfast, they told us they'd wake us up at 8:15. Sure enough, by the time we finished breakfast it was at least 9:15, but I would've preferred to lie in a bit since it was a Sunday and then come down to breakfast around 9:30.

Overall it was a nice stay and very affordable for that area. We really liked the location being so central to both Bath and Bristol without having to pay the high hotel rates. Both the owners were extremely nice and helpful in giving us guidance for dinner choices and bars, etc.

  • Liked — Location, value, friendly service
  • Disliked — early breakfast time on weekends
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockBristol, Joint Proprietors / Ashley & Brian at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
We would sincerely like to thank you all for the glowing reports that you have all given us, we hope to see you all again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

My husband and I have just returned from having stayed at the wonderful Woodstock B&B (For the second time) for 4 nights since our son had a short stay in the Children's Hospital for some surgery.
We originally found the Woodstock by looking through B&B's in Bristol on TripAdvisor, when we needed to find somewhere to stay to be near the hospital close to our son. The Woodstock came up with some glowing reviews so we booked it!
From the moment we walked through the door of the Woodstock, the usual thoughts running through my head whenever we check in to any accommodation, i.e hotels, B&B's (such as 'is it going to be okay?') completely vanished because we were warmly welcomed by Ashley and Brian, the owners. The homely ambience of the downstairs where the kitchen/dining room was made you feel very 'at home' as soon as you arrived.
Our bedroom/en-suite was perfect, clean and comfortable.Bedroom had tea/coffee facilites there if we wanted them; television;plus it was great to have plenty of clothes hangers in the wardrobe too- very convenient!
Breakfasts were delicious! There was the usual juices, cereals, fruits to choose as well as a cooked option.
All in all I have no complaints about this lovely place! Ashley & Brian are super and have obviously put a lot of effort into making it what is is today.
Should we ever need to stay in the Bristol area again we would definetly use the Woodstock again and would without a doubt recommend any other traveller to go here!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank samFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Brian and Ashley are great hosts - really friendly, knowledgable locals who obviously put a lot of effort into their beautiful house and making guests welcome.
The en suite room was the cleanest we've ever stayed in, with a good powerful shower and a really comfortable bed.
Breakfast was superb - pick what bits you like out of the full English (with not a trace of fat on it) plus the usual toast and cereal.
Location was also a bonus - two minutes out of the heart of the city, and really easy to find.
We've been to a few other B&Bs in Bristol before and only tried this one because the others were booked up, but we'll be back here next time - you can't fault the place or the people.
Ross and Erika

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross_and_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

We only stayed one night, but really wished we'd stayed longer. Ashley & Brian were excellent hosts. They have a great house and a jaw-droppingly beautiful garden. Having tea in the dining room and looking out at their garden was one of the most relaxing parts of our trip. You can tell that they really take great care of their place as everything was very neat and clean. We had a large room with a double bed and our own bathroom. They gave us great advice on places to visit in Bristol and how to get around. We would definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeegeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

A great old building, excellent hospitality, good location and good value - £60 for a lovely twin room (en suite) at the top of the house, perfectly clean & very comfortable. The breakfast was great too. Only stayed for one night (a Saturday), but really nothing to fault the place at all, great all round.

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2006

I travelled to bristol for one night recently and had the pleasure of staying in the woodstock b&b. It couldn't of been easier to find and the hosts were friendly anf helpful without being overbearing! I had a lovely room, very nicely decorated with a shower, sink, tv and coffee and tea making facilites and the breakfast the next morning... yummy! vegertarian fry up!!I was able to walk into Brsitol Temple Mead Station in 15 mins, so vv close to city centre for travllers. And the price has to be commended as well! the prices of hotels in Bristol are unreal, with even a travelodge costing £50, for the £35 I paid, it was like being in your own bedroom in your own home!!

Helpful?
7 Thank salutkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#36 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Guest House

Property: Woodstock Guest House
Address: 534 Bath Road | Brislington, Bristol BS4 3JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is a small homely guest house close to Bristol City Centre, Temple Meads Railway Station, Motorway links and Bristol International Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing