We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 2 nights”
Review of Arches Hotel

Arches Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arches Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2 nights”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I was looking for a quiet B+B close to the venue of the British Masters Weightlifting championships 2013 and at a distance of 1 mile this hotel looked an ideal choice. I was greeted very warmly when I arrived on Friday 22nd March after a 190 mile journey. The room I was given was large having a double and single bed on the ground floor. The radiators were full on and it was pleasantly warm even though outside it was very cold! I was tired after the long journey but around 12:30 someone came in and disturbed my sleep. Then around 01:30 am another guest disturbed my sleep. Not good for a weightlifting competition! The next night I reitired early and this time lots of guests came in just after midnight and I shouted at them to keep the noise level down. Then about 2.30 am in the morning the people in the room above my room came in banging around to 04:00 am.
I will not be booking here ever again. I was not offered a reduction.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
13
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very friendly and warm welcome. Clean but old fashioned room worth very small ensuite. Great for us as we were going to a party locally so could walk. Very nicely presented continental breakfast that catered for many dietary requirements.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here very recently. Would highly recommend it. Cosy and warm. Very jovial and friendly, helpful owners. Good free WiFi all over and a great location, being very close to the centre. Very close to loads of shops and restaurants. Parking right outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

for £67.50 what they charged me and a freind is way too pricey for this place, the rooms got that
fausty smell of old if you know where im comming from. they are something of out of the seventies
and as for the continental breakfast you can forget it. a croissant warmed up in the microwave
is something to see. not bein horrible but id rather sleep in the car next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Incredibly friendly and helpful couple run this place located near town but on a quite road off Gloucester road. The breakfast was big and catered for gluten and daily free. The room was large and had good facilities and was cleaned daily. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesReakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I went to a wedding in Bristol and was able to book a room here at the last minute probably due to undeserved poor reviews. When I arrived I explained that my sister was ill and couldn't come so the owner reduced the charge to a single tariff. How kind. When I explained that I was late for the wedding he quickly showed me round and left me to it. The room was clean and comfortable and the price reasonable. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff were friendly and helpful. For these reasons I rate this as a GOOD place to stay and would go again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinet374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Arches is a basic B&B Hotel. The owners are lovely. Rooms are clean and basic. Most rooms include your sink but the bathroom is down the hall. One bathroom has a toilet only, the other one has a shower and toilet. Seeing i was traveling with most of the people staying there, it was ok. The bathrooms are super clean as is the B&B and the management is very accommodating. Breakfast is included and there is a Breakfast room. There is no sitting room or community room at The Arches though so if you want to sit and visit or read, you will have to do it in your room or find a pub or coffee shop.

Room Tip: If a bathroom in your room is important, than reserve that specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAPackYourBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Hotel

Property: Arches Hotel
Address: 132 Cotham Brow | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing