We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and friendly”
Review of The Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Washington
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed for two nights recently. Nice quiet location. We love Clifton. Hotel was very comfortable and clean. Staff kind and friendly. Good buffet breakfast with a cooked breakfast of your choice, cooked to order.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you have problems with mobility, like my husband, get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzychem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "dizzychem",

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Washington. Myself and my team are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return when you are next in the Bristol area.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Basic hotel in Clifton area of Bristol. Dated rooms, very difficult to find a parking spot. Shower was difficult to control temperature. Cheap hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast okay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "William H",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington - we really appreciate it when we receive feedback.

I am sorry that you found it difficult to control the shower temperature in your room - we do regular checks on all our showers so I would be interested in which room you stayed in? (joanna.tiernay@cliftonhotels.com).

As you pointed out in your review, finding parking is tricky at times in the Clifton area. We do, however, have an onsite car park for £6 per night that our guests can make use of. I'm sorry if this information was not accurately conveyed to you on booking or check in.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff here - I have passed on your kind comments and they were warmly received.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked for 1 night for a business trip to Bristol and this hotel worked out fine. I was looking for low cost, with breakfast in a decent area. The room was a bit tired and the bathroom was small but everything was clean and there was tea/coffee making plus fruit in the room. Breakfast room was nice and you could get a full English although I stuck with cereals and toast. For a holiday or longer stay I would have gone a little more up market but for a one night stopover this served the purpose.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Cake_yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "Cake_yum",

I was very pleased to hear that you found the Washington to meet your expectations in your recent review and would like to thank you for taking the time to voice your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

The Washington aims to provide the best value accommodation in Bristol and hope that we are on the right track with this goal! We are responding to guests' comments about our decor with a rolling refurbishment - just last month we replaced 8 mattresses and many bedspreads.

There are also exciting new plans for our breakfast team as we hope to bring in a 'seasonal' breakfast menu for those who would like something a bit different from the normal offerings.

I hope that you would return to the Washington when you are next here on business so that we have the chance to exceed your expectations next time!

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Staff are first class and friendly. Room servicing and breakfast is exellent.

The bathroom facilities in the rooms I stayed in were or had been modernised to some degree.

The location is ideally placed to explore Bristol.

Unfortunately, in an old property sound insulation and the fitting of doors can cause sound and moise issues. The impact of this can depend on which room you get. These issues can arise whatever the hotel!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money and service and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "Paul W",

Thank you for your very positive review of the Washington - we love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their time with us! I have passed all your comments to the departments involved.

I am sorry that you were affected by noise from another room. I have arranged a meeting with our Property Development Manager to see if our sound-proofing between the rooms can be improved - thank you for this feedback.

I do hope we will see you at the Washington again in the near future.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My needs are minimal but the hotel managed to disappoint. Two night stay in room 44 the shower was a dribble on the first day and managed not to work at all on the second. The hotel is shabby enough which is fine, but a shower is a minimum. An iron in the room would also be nice, thought this was a standard also. Not cheap enough to justify the inadequacies in facilities. I would look for alternatives at the price.

Room Tip: avoid room 44
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "Gerry C",

I was very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at the Washington and would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the problems you experienced.

We do have regular checks in place to ensure that all of the equipment in rooms is of a good working order but it is clear to me that, in this instance, we dropped the ball. I have had a meeting with my House Manager to ensure that this does not happen again.

With regards to the iron/ironing board, we do not keep them in the rooms but do have them available for guest use - our guests simply need to dial reception for one to be brought to their rooms.

I am sorry to hear that you would look for alternative accommodation when you are next in Bristol. I would like the opportunity to show you that your stay was not the typical one experienced by our guests by offering you a free upgrade shoud you return to the Washington.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just an overnight stay but would return as it fulfilled my requirements. my single room was basic but clean. Bed clothes spotless and ironed sheets.Bathroom across the landing was clean and had a good shower with nice hot water.Breakfast was excellent. A good variety and well cooked and presented.Only draw back is parking in the street... not good, but they have that covered with a secure carpark at the back of the hotel for six pounds per night... well worth it.Will be back

Room Tip: If in doubt see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenSolihull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear "KenSolihull_England",

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Washington on Tripadvisor - constructive feedback is always welcome here.

I am delighted that you felt your overnight visit to us was good value for money and that you were happy with the cleanliness of the Washington - these are both things we put a lot of effort into. As you point out, we are an old building and your tip of 'view before if unsure' is something we are more than happy to do for any future guest.

I do hope that we will see you at the Washington again should you return to Bristol.
Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I regularly stay in Bristol for work and since I have to pay for it myself I often stay at The Washington because it is excellent value for money. The staff are always very friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, with a few little extras like a cafetiere and biscuits that cheer you up when away from home! The location is good for Clifton and the city centre. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear "Robert M",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington. I am thrilled that you have picked up all the little things that we hope make a difference to our regular guests - it is very satisfying to hear that they do!

I shall pass your kind comments regarding the staff on to the rest of the team. I hope we will see you back at the Washington in the coming weeks.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
752 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#36 of 39 in Bristol
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#31 of 39 in Bristol
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £41 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing