We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with excellent staff!”
Review of The Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Washington
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 11 June 2014

staff of the hotel was perfect - not just professionally courteous, they made me feel like a valued customer.
Very good location, a 10-15 minute walk from the city center and main attractions.
Good value for money, the hotel is ideal for mini-breaks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear IrishAris,

Thank you very much for your review of the Washington. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on the reception team who were thrilled to hear that you were very satisfied with the standard of service provided.

Clifton is indeed a lovely and convenient area to stay in. We are truly lucky to work in such a beautiful place.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Washington in the near future.

Many thanks,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I personally always thought Bristol was good value for money so when I paid a certain amount for a twin room at The Washington, I thought there would have been a bit more to it i.e a bit more modern/up to date?
Fairly clean, certain things were falling apart/cracking/mouldy but it's ok if all you want to do is sleep there.

Breakfast was always great although a very small seating area considering how many guests the hotel holds.

Only a small car park which is impossible to find unless you go into the hotel to ask and I personally don't think £6 per night is acceptable when you're paying to stay in the hotel.

Receptionists are very helpful and friendly, the night receptionist is a good laugh.

All in all, a good hotel but don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Elleanor F,

Thank you for placing a review of the Washington after your recent stay with us. All feedback is used constructively and is discussed in our weekly team meetings.

I am pleased to hear that in general you were pleased with the Washington. We are a 3 start Guest house - which is approximately akin to a 2 star hotel. A certain amount of wear and tear is to be expected in this level of hotel. That said, we aim to attain the highest levels of cleanliness throughout the Guest House so I am sorry that you felt we were short of the mark on this occasion. We have a rolling refurbishment in place at the Washington with a regular painting and updating schedule to stick to so I am confident that we are reacting to guest feedback in the appropriate way.

Thank you about your comments regarding breakfast. Our breakfast team will be thrilled to hear that you had a good start to the day. Unfortunately, being a Grade 2 listed building, there are only so many internal changes you can make to the structure. OUr breakfast room is small but the team are very good at turning over tables as quickly as they can - it's a well oiled machine!

Once again, many thanks for your review. I do hope we will see you in Bristol again in the near future.

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were welcomed at the washington by a very pleasant, friendly and efficient young lady although to early to go to our room we could leave our cases and go out to get ourselves a meal, when we returned we checked in and went to our room, which as other reviewers have mentioned was a little thread bare but contrary to what has been reported by the same reviewers our room was comfortable and very clean. We had no problems with noise from the road, the breakfast foodwise was excellent but the restaurant was on the small side and consequently us and some others had to wait for tables to become clean and the waiting staff were a little bit slipshod. although very polite. I would not only use this hotel again I have already booked for later this month.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aub_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Aub_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay. All feedback is hugely valuable to us and is used to improve our service for future guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning to us later this month.

I'm sorry that you found it difficult to find a table at breakfast. The last few weeks have been phenomenally busy for us and our breakfast room has been feeling the heat. We normally get very good feedback for our breakfast service so I know that my team will be disappointed with your comments. As a Grade 2 listed building, we are somewhat limited in what we can alter in terms of the structure of the building so there is very little that I can co about the size of our breakfast room. We do have signs on the desk advising guests of peak times - I would recommend that you come to breakfast a little earlier to guarantee yourself a table straight away.

Once again, many thanks and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel in May very nice hotel for the price, Staff super friendly.Only draw back is that it doesn't have any air con in the rooms which when I stayed it was very warm in the rooms at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ger_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ger_621,

Thank you very much for placing a review of the Washington after your recent stay with us - all feedback is reviewed and acted upon (where possible) in order to improve our service for future guests.

The Washington is a grade 2 listed building that, as you pointed out in your review, does not, unfortunately, have any air conditioning. We do, however, have plenty of fans to go around and windows that open to allow that air to circulate. I am in the process of ordering more fans to put as many as I can in each of the rooms - I hope I am not tempting fate with this as I don't want to be blamed for a rainy British Summer!!

I do hope we will see you back at the Washington when you are next in Bristol.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Best part of this place is the location. Within Clifton but walking distance from the rest of the city it is a great location to have as a base.

On a surface level the room was reasonably clean...However the bedspreads were dirty... mine had a very viable hole in it. There was a huge build up of dust around the radiator. .and the floor had been rushed when cleaned...to the point where we found sweet wrappers from a previous occupant.

Staff were very friendly and polite so this I cannot fault...just the quality of the rooms wad very low... The wallpaper had stains, literally, all over. For this price I am not expecting luxury. However you do expect some basic level of clenliness/decor.

It was bearable but not a place that I would visit again. Great location but needs a lot of work.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Danieung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Danieung,

Thank you for your review of the Washington. I was very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that this marred your stay in Bristol.

I have brought up your concerns about the levels of cleanliness with my house Manager - she will be discussing them in her meeting with her team this week. I am very sorry that the cleanliness levels were not up to our usual standard.

I am very pleased, however, to hear that you were happy with both the location and the staff who work here. I am lucky to be able to work in such a beautiful area and with such a passionate team - I am sure they will be thrilled to hear this feedback.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a lovely old building in need of some TLC and flair in bedroom design. That said the hotel is reasonably priced for this area of Bristol and nice that breakfast is included. Our room was light with high ceilings but the furnishings and carpet were scruffy. It was very clean, however, and the beds were very comfy. The first night was busy and sound really does carry, both through the walls and ceiling. My daughter needed her earplugs.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Leedslass61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Leedslass61,

Thank you for your review of the WAshington - I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your beds but sorry to hear that you required your ear plugs!

We have been remarkably busy recently and even I have noticed more noise around the building. In my reception presentation in a few days time, we will be tackling this issue and discussing how to best handle noisier guests whilst at the same time not removing their enjoyment of the Washington.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast - the team will be thrilled to hear them.

Many thanks
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#36 of 39 in Bristol
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £41 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing