We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, so helpful!”
Review of The Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Washington
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, so helpful!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were not guests of The Washington but had walked in to ask directions as we were quite lost and tired. We were so pleasantly surprised by the lengths to which the lovely receptionist went to help us. She gave us directions to where we wanted to go on a little map, and when we realised it was too far to walk, she excelled herself by ringing for a taxi (we only asked for the number!) to take us to where our car was parked.
The taxi arrived within five minutes. Thank you very much for your consideration and kindness, we really appreciated it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 695Josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear 695Josephine,

Your review brought the broadest smile to my face! I have already been able to pin point who was responsible for the fantastic service you received and they are thrilled that they made a difference to your day.

I am extremely fortunate to have such a passionate and friendly team here at the Washington - they really do deliver their best all the time. I know this feedback meant a lot to the person involved so thank you very much for taking the time to pop it on Tripadvisor.

Next time you are in Bristol I hope that we can accommodate you as well as give you directions!

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    235
    171
    87
    64
See reviews for
118
145
130
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed overnight to visit Bristol Hippodr0me and chose this Hotel because they took dogs. It was in a very convenient spot quiet, rooms were clean and with tea and coffee facilities.

Close to restaurants and bars and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Only downside was the parking which was £6 overnight which you would probably need to book as parking in the area outside the hotel was difficult.,

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs very quiet. Our friend had a room at the front on the first floor which she said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Jean P,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you found us to provide good value for money.

As you mentioned in your review, we do accept pets at the Washington for a small additional charge. We prefer to get advance warning of this so that we can make sure that the right room is allocated for you.

With regards to parking, you are right, it is very tricky in this area. We do have a car park and allow a limited number of spaces to be reserved each day. If this is a requirement I would always recommend guests ring to reserve these well in advance. Our remaining spaces are offered on a first come first served basis.

I do hope we will be able to accommodate you at the Washington again in the near future.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very please with this hotel value for money would recommend , clean , helpful, lovely selection for breakfast. Walking distance to harbour site & town where there is plenty of bars ,restaurants and bristol amphitheatre

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Suzanne B,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Washington. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your comments to my teams.

As you pointed out, we are very lucky to be in such a lovely area of Bristol with most of the popular sites within easy reach.

Feedback such as yours is hugely motivating to my team - I do sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you to the Washington again in the near future.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Chose this because we needed parking, and the hotel website claimed that onsite parking was available without requiring a reservation. However, upon arrival, parking spaces were indeed reserved for several people. When inquiring about this at the front desk, the attendant said that yes, that is what the website indicates, but that "people kind of know they need to make a reservation." So, if you need parking, be sure to make a reservation, despite what the website states. Street parking is available, but is very difficult to find. Other than not having a shower curtain for the bathtub during our stay, even though one was requested, the property was adequate. Make sure you understand the internet policy. The breakfast is very good, especially if you avoid the crowd at 8:30 am.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shodapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Shodapp,

Thank you for placing a review of the Washington. I'm sorry that there were a couple of issues that marred your stay with us - this is not the kind of feedback that I want to hear at all.

Firstly let me apologise that you didn't have a shower curtain in your room. I cannot work out which room you were in, but all our showers should have curtains or doors. I will bring this up with the House Manager in our meeting tomorrow. I am also sorry that, having drawn our attention to this problem, a solution was not found for you.

Parking in Clifton is tricky at the best of times I'm afraid, but we appear to have made it more complicated for you - for this you have my apologies. To clarify the situation let me explain. We do have a car park, but space is limited. For this reason, we only allow up to 3 spaces to be reserved per day. We have recently removed the ability to reserve parking through our website as we found that it was too popular. If guests call us directly and there is one of the 3 spaces still available, we will happily reserve parking. If not, however, parking is available only on a first come first served basis. As you pointed out, parking is also available on the streets around the Guest House if guests are unable to park in our car park.

I do hope that you would consider staying with us again when you are next in Bristol.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here late night not bad but could do with a little touch of paint in room and a new loo seat , clean bedding, hot water ,which is great for us ,( a lot of places we have stayed in had no hot water took to boiling kettle.) staff friendly , helpful, polite, bed to hard for me didn't sleep ,very uncomfortable, breakfast very good

Room Tip: Rooms average ok for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lisa P,

Thank you for placing a review of the Washington after your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear that you found the basics were done well; clean bedding and hot water are essential in a Guest House - I'm very glad you didn't need to boil the kettle here!

We have a constant refurbishment programme at the Washington with regular painting happening. Your feedback regarding the loo seat was very helpful - we have now had this changed.

I have also passed your kind comments about your breakfast onto the breakfast team.

I do hope we will see you again when you are next in Bristol.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked 2 single rooms for me and a pal, his first visit and he was really impressed with the staff and particularly the full English breakfast. We met some people who were trying to encourage us to try another hotel but we were happy and we will re-book on our next trip to Bristol for a night on the town.

Thanks again to the Washington staff, who once again did everything they possibly could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Kev E,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Washington - feedback like yours is exactly what keeps my team motivated to do so well. I have passed on your comments to the whole team.

I am delighted that we will see you again at the Washington. Please do sign up to our loyalty card scheme for some great extra benefits.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great hotel with excellent service I had the mishap of losing an earring and was so happy when the staff found it and posted it to me. Enjoyed the breakfast and the food in the restaurant round the corner.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room with bathroom not too noisy no1 was great . Loved the tea tray which had special h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Emma B,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Washington - it has made the team smile on a Monday morning!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to reunite you with your earring - it is so frustrating when you lose one!

I do hope we will see you back at the Washington in the near future.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 38 in Bristol
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#33 of 38 in Bristol
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#30 of 38 in Bristol
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Property: The Washington
Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing