We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typical travelodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Bristol Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Bristol Central
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Level Contributor
257 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“typical travelodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Travelodge is about accommodation on budget; here you'll get better prices than most Bristol hotels, proximity to the cool parts of Bristol; parking on site and friendly staff. The rooms are decent and clean too. The hotel can be noisy at night and the windows despite being double glazing don't offer enough noise insulation.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the rear side if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    218
    130
    45
    49
See reviews for
160
204
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I are from the Midlands and stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst our daughter was in a Bristol hospital for knee surgery.
We booked the week before and were aware that this was what is probably referred to as a 'budget' hotel but it was apparent on arrival that it has recently been refurbished and we were pleased with our room, which was spotlessly clean and spacious.
We paid for 48 hours parking which cost £15.25 all done automatically over my mobile. I see some previous reviewers are not too happy about this charge, but I was aware prior to arrival that this was required.
The hotel is ideally located for walking into the Harbour area where there are numerous restaurants and bars to suit all budgets. Bristol is such an interesting city with plenty of places to explore. In between visits to our daughter in hospital we chose to go and see the SS Great Britain which we thoroughly enjoyed and we dined at San Carlo Italian Restaurant which was excellent.
There is no air conditioning in the hotel room and the windows can only be opened a short distance, so the room did get quite warm at night, there was a fan provided which did help. Air con would have been nice, but I guess this would increase the room rate which for what we paid was very reasonable. There was some external noise from outside at night but the hotel webpage does warn you about this and it was not a major problem.
So to summarise the hotel is an ideal central location and reasonably priced for the facilities provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Booked after previous visit in December 2013 and after reading some recent reviews, was worried. Concerns were unfounded with everything fresh and clean, and a fabulous breakfast. Friendly and efficient welcome. Additional supplies of bathroom essentials and tea/coffee available from reception, and electrical items such as hairdryers can be borrowed. For a 2 star hotel, and the price paid, it really does exceed expectations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Itsonlymeagain1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Parking expensive £7.50 per 24 hours. Payment machine would only do 24 hours at a time. So as staying for 3 nights we ended to keep going back. The payment machine was not accepting cards. Ended up paying over phone which did enable us to pay for more then 24 hours at once.

Reception staff are great and provide extra tea coffee and sugar etc.

Very small bar/breakfast area.

Hotel is boiling, in lifts corridors and rooms etc. our room was roasting but we did have a fan but as window only opens about 5cm it didn't really help as was only blowing warm air.

We looked out onto main road and a building site so had to have curtains shut most of time as no net curtains. Also very noisy and builders started work at 6.45am on a Saturday. Ask for a to at the back.

Room was pretty clean except for dusty skirting boards and headboard.
Towels were lovely and white and huge. Bedding was also very clean and white.

I probably wouldn't use this travel lodge again in Bristol as we had friends staying at the Mitchell lane one and they said it was much better.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed in this very central location within Bristol for my birthday. Even though there signs saying permits available from reception theres no point asking for one as the receptionists refused to give them out. So there guests have to pay an additional £7.50 per night to park. Premier Inn offers free parking and to be honest a better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My son and his girlfriend stayed here for one night prior to going to Bristol airport. The room was well decorated and clean. Tea and coffee available. Parking on site at £7.50 per 24 hours. 30 minutes free wifi. This would have been a good stay, for the price but the room was so hot that they didn't get a good night's sleep. Therefore stay here in the winter. Perhaps the hotel should think about installing fans in all of the rooms as they do in Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Bring your own fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Bristol Central, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room Bubbles26, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Exactly as it says on the tin basic clean accommodation no faults really apart from the nutter next door to us screaming out in the middle if the night for her spoon. Shower fine and bed comfortable. We got a decent view as well. Decent location not too far from the city centre. Would return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (King Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bristol Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bristol Central

Property: Travelodge Bristol Central
Address: Anchor Road, Bristol BS1 5TT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Bristol Central 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bristol Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge - Bristol Central Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing