We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel in very good locatuon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Bristol Central
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel in very good locatuon”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed her for one night on a Sunday and got a very good rate on line. The receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly and check in was very smooth. The room was basic but looked pretty clean and in good decorative order. Very nice and extremely comfortable bed, fan, tv and tea/coffee making facilities provided. Nice large fluffy white towels in the bathroom. The location is excellent and within a couple of minutes walk to shops, restaurants and the harbour.

The only downside to this hotel is the soundproofing. There was loud music and chatting early evening and I thought it was coming from next door but in fact it was from a room quite a way down the corridor. We were not disturbed during the night but I can imagine that noise could be a problem here at the weekend.

All in all we were pleasantly surprised and thought we had received excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    237
    143
    53
    60
See reviews for
181
223
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here as part of a stag party.

We booked a family room as two of us where sharing, the double bed was great but I slept on a pull out bed which was ok but very small (im only 5'9) and found it quite uncomfortable and hard, Ive stayed in other travelodges and there has been a small double pull out as the third bed but this was small and couldn't move!!

Hotel had a small bar and served a simple breakfast

On a plus note very close to the harbourside and hippodrome theatre..

Average Travelodge nothing out of the ordinary and if I had got a cheap deal of £30/40 a night probably would of been more postitive but at £65 a night theres better value elsewhere!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had a broken window we weren't able to shut it properly, reported it to reception but obviously it wasn't a priority. Room was tidy enough if you don't mind mouldy pillows.

Breakfast was chaotic to say the least. Don't think they could have picked a smaller space. No glasses, milk or eggs for at least 20 minutes.

Overall all I really wouldn't bother, the premier Inn up the road offers much better value

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank piplanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Bristol Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your recent stay with us piplanders. We do expect all of our rooms to be up to great standards so it is regrettable to learn you found your room was untidy with a broken window. Our Bar Café staff are also trained on ensuring a great service is provided in our Café and will ensure all items are regularly replenished. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When staying at a travelodge in a big city you expect some noise from drunk people arriving back from clubs etc. However you do not expect to spend over an hour awake listening to every word a group of people says while they stand outside the travelodge in the smoking area at 4am. They carried on and on, we could not sleep - one of our party had to go and visit reception at 530am to request that this group of people were bought inside the hotel and told to keep the noise down. We were refunded, but this did not really compensate for the poor night sleep we got, and therefore put a dampner on our Sunday :(

Bathroom was pretty dirty too, which I wouldn't even bother moaning about if it werent for the above complaint.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Bristol Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry to learn you were disturbed by noise from other guests during your stay Denise J. We do ask all of our customers to keep to reasonable noise levels and we allocate larger groups rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. We also require our staff to regularly patrol all areas of the hotel so it is regrettable that this disturbance was not noted. Our housekeeping staff also follow a strict routine when cleaning a room. Our hotel staff will be made aware of your feedback so that they can address these issues and we apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Travelodge is about accommodation on budget; here you'll get better prices than most Bristol hotels, proximity to the cool parts of Bristol; parking on site and friendly staff. The rooms are decent and clean too. The hotel can be noisy at night and the windows despite being double glazing don't offer enough noise insulation.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the rear side if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I are from the Midlands and stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst our daughter was in a Bristol hospital for knee surgery.
We booked the week before and were aware that this was what is probably referred to as a 'budget' hotel but it was apparent on arrival that it has recently been refurbished and we were pleased with our room, which was spotlessly clean and spacious.
We paid for 48 hours parking which cost £15.25 all done automatically over my mobile. I see some previous reviewers are not too happy about this charge, but I was aware prior to arrival that this was required.
The hotel is ideally located for walking into the Harbour area where there are numerous restaurants and bars to suit all budgets. Bristol is such an interesting city with plenty of places to explore. In between visits to our daughter in hospital we chose to go and see the SS Great Britain which we thoroughly enjoyed and we dined at San Carlo Italian Restaurant which was excellent.
There is no air conditioning in the hotel room and the windows can only be opened a short distance, so the room did get quite warm at night, there was a fan provided which did help. Air con would have been nice, but I guess this would increase the room rate which for what we paid was very reasonable. There was some external noise from outside at night but the hotel webpage does warn you about this and it was not a major problem.
So to summarise the hotel is an ideal central location and reasonably priced for the facilities provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Booked after previous visit in December 2013 and after reading some recent reviews, was worried. Concerns were unfounded with everything fresh and clean, and a fabulous breakfast. Friendly and efficient welcome. Additional supplies of bathroom essentials and tea/coffee available from reception, and electrical items such as hairdryers can be borrowed. For a 2 star hotel, and the price paid, it really does exceed expectations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Itsonlymeagain1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Central Mitchell Lane
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#22 of 38 in Bristol
1,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (King Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bristol Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bristol Central

Property: Travelodge Bristol Central
Address: Anchor Road, Bristol BS1 5TT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Bristol Central 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Bristol Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge - Bristol Central Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing