We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill over the years and poor now”
Review of The Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Kent, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gone downhill over the years and poor now”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

With our son at Bristol Uni I have stayed here for over 5 years and, and until recently the great service and boutique nature (fresh fruit and coffee in the room) plus secure off road parking outweighed the fact that the rooms are very small (and I mean small!) and it was in need of refurbishment, or at least a coat of paint.

But recently we stayed and frankly never again. We booked an Executive Double Room which always used to mean a decent cosy size, fan in hot weather, and well maintained but all that has changed. Our room has a threadbare carpet, tiny windows, and a bathroom that was not quite as wide as the small bath was long. Added to that, there was no fan and when we asked for one we were told variously that it should have one but they were all in use, they didn't all have one, new ones were on order and they couldn't get any. Because of this, we got almost no sleep.

Breakfast (at Rack's in the basement) was always good value but since our last stay 12 months ago it has all changed. Everything is charged for individually (£2.50 for cereal, £1.60 for an orange juice) so a continental breakfast and toast could cost almost £10.

The secure parking is off road in a large garage (suitable for ~10 cars) but evidently the coded garage door no longer closes so it’s no longer secure.

Finally, at check out when we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and we said we had not, the person seemed more intent on arguing than listening. I suspect we were not given an Executive double room though we were charged for one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you feel that the hotel has gone downhill over the years and that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that a refurbishment project will be commencing this August in order to upgrade rooms most in need including many of the carpets in the hotel. Along side this we are constantly running a rolling renewals schedule with items most in need being constantly replaced.

Due to unusually hot weather over the last weeks we did experience a shortage of fans in the hotel and did not have enough to accommodate all guests and I would like to apologize for this. We are currently experiencing some problems with the garage door meaning it works intermittently which are being looked into and we have had several companies come to investigate the problem. In the mean time however we are still able to offer guests off street parking.

I am sorry you feel that the member of staff you checked out with was arguing and I hope that they were just trying to understand your problems and explain the cause. I can also assure you that you would not have been accommodated in a room that was not the type you booked. Should you wish to stay again in the future, when I would hope that we could restore your belief in the hotel please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure you stay in one of our recently refurbished rooms at a discounted price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    181
    130
    123
    125
See reviews for
102
158
92
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed in Clifton for one night and realized it was a real bad deal, first room (Room no 61, 3rd Floor) that was given to me was a just 9*8 feet’s or something with no window , low sealing which almost suffocated me. I immediately decided to move out of that hotel . Post which I told them either you give me a bigger room with window or I will shift to another hotel, and they gave me another room. Second room was next to the restaurant area and very inconvenient, however it was a better option than the first one and I stayed there for one night. Never seen something like that before, it was really disappointing.

Will never recommend this hotel to anyone,

Room Tip: They should demolish this hotel and build new hotel with better room size , better reception, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satishsaini200010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you thought our hotel was horrible and sad to hear that you will not recommend it. Also I am surprised to hear that your room did not have a window as all rooms in the hotel have windows, and many of our rooms have original features such as high ceilings and full sash windows. We aim to provide comfortable 2* accommodation at a competitive price and I am pleased that the staff were helpful in helping you find a more suitable room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel on a busy Saturday night. The hotel was full of stag and hen parties.

Pros:

Check in was very efficient and very friendly. The lobby area quite sweet. The bar downstairs looked nice. Good outside space for drinking, if the sun is shining. Fairly central to Clifton - in the bit which can best be described as shabby chic.

Cons:

The rooms! I had a single room - and it was really tiny (very small single bed). It had a miniscule bathroom which was just a small shower (agree with the comments below about either v hot or freezing cold) and it was more of a trickle than a shower, a loo and a tiny sink. Carpets dirty and bathroom needed to be ripped and replaced. The lift is so slow and inefficient I always took the stairs.

Overall - £58 for essentially a room smaller than most Halls of Residence rooms at the nearby university But the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and cheerful. PLEASE RENOVATE - it could be such a great little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that there were many aspects of your stay you found pleasant, we pride our selves in providing excellent customer service which in our recent AA inspection was thought to be of a 4* level. Also we are pleased to be able to offer both a café and restaurant bar with outside seating and selling freshly prepared food.

You will be pleased to hear that starting on 5th August a refurbishment project will be commencing. This will include new carpets across much of the hotel being installed from the 9th. Should you wish to stay again in the future please do contact me directly and I will be able to ensure you stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms at a discounted price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel was not vintage (as advertised), it was just plain old. The receptionists seemed helpful enough and the food was good, but that's all the good things i can say.
The shower was either scolding or frezzing cold and the bathroom was very basic and dated.
Al in all massively overpriced for what it can offer. My brother stayed in a hotel across the road that was cheaper and much nicer and cleaner

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olmoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us but glad to hear that the staff were helpful and the food was good. It is not usual for us to have issues with shower control and this will be looked into. We also run a rolling refurbishment project with rooms in need constantly being updated alongside bigger projects. Should you wish to stay again in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I can offer you a discounted rate on one of our more recently refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My son and I stayed in The Clifton Hotel the 25th June for Bristol Uni open day. the two guys who greeted us made us very welcome. Special thanks to Nathan where nothing was too much trouble. very central to centre of Uni. room was clean and the fresh coffee and fruit a nice surprise. we had a lovely meal in the evening at the attached cafe and the breakfast was fab. We will definitely return if we come back to Bistol.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clifton and found the staff welcoming and helpful. I hope we can welcome you back in the future should your son choose to study in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We arrived at just after midnight after arriving at The Travellodge only to be told that they had overbooked and there was no room for us (even though we had paid two weeks earlier!!). We actually first tried one of The Clifton's sister hotel. They were full but the gentlemen who greeted us rang around to find us room at the Clifton. He was so helpful and reassuring offering to help with our bags/parking etc. Really fantastic service!
We got to The Clifton and the service was equally fabulous. We were booked in, helped to the room - it was just amazing! Both staff (both Gentlemen) were true professionals and just so lovely! (This was on Tuesday 2nd July at about midnight!)The rooms were very clean, quiet and equipped with plenty of tea, coffee etc.
In the morning, after a lovely sleep, we went down to breakfast into a lovely cellar breakfast room. Again, the staff were so lovely and extremely professional. The breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice. We would definitely stay again and would never book travellodge for cheapness - this was much better value because you got breakfast too! Thank you for such a wonderful stay and see you very soon!
Ellyn and Shirley Pyne

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, as a small and independent business feedback is extremely important to us. I am glad you were so happy with the levels f service you received as this is an area in which we pride ourselves. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to enjoy another good sleep and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very basic hotel for what you pay..we had wedding rates and these were still too expensive for what you got at this hotel! The room was awful, very basic and in need of a major refurb. On our first night we could hear talking from the room above, snoring and constant squeaking of the floorboards. Did not get any sleep on first night, so asked to be moved...receptionist very accommodating and moved us to another room no problem but have to say this room was worse than the first! peeling paint/wallpaper, very old fashioned furniture and a wardrobe with a full length mirror which you could not see in as you could not open the door fully due to the other furniture being in the way. The only good thing about this hotel was the restaurant..the food was very nice although quite a long wait for it! Parking is a nightmare and would of been helpful if this had been explained upon booking...Also asked to pay for stay upon arrival which I dont agree with. If the other hotels had not been fully booked I would of been out of there on the 2nd day. Never again...!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us. We aim to provide comfortable 2 star accommodation at a competitive price, and our recent AA report indicated that we in fact exceeded expectations in many areas. Whilst parking on the streets around the hotel is free and unrestricted it can sometimes be busy, meaning we do advise pre booking the garage we have available for guest use. I am glad that you liked the restaurant and enjoyed the food and also that you found the reception team helpful when needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 38 in Bristol
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 38 in Bristol
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#33 of 38 in Bristol
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#29 of 38 in Bristol
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Property: The Clifton Hotel
Address: St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing