We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather tatty and in need of some TLC”
Review of The Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rather tatty and in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was disappointed in my stay at this hotel. The website looks good, but reality is different. For £90 (£6 parking, which is mandatory in this part of Bristol) it represented poor value for money. The room was small, the shower didn't work at all, and the en-suite light was wonky. The room and bed was clean, which is good, but the bed mattress has seen better days. Generally, the hotel had peeling paint, things not working and my overall impression is that it's desperately in need of some TLC. The fact that it was full on the day of arrival and the next day tells me it's easy to get customers in this part of Bristol, so the owners just don't bother to keep the hotel looking nice. I thought it was a poor relation to the premier inn, which I've always found to have good standards in all their hotels.

Room Tip: Go to the premier inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrydunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,

You will be pleased to hear that we are currently amidst a refurbishment project with several rooms being fully refurbished and many others being updated where needed. If you are returning to Bristol please contact us directly and we can ensure you stay in one of our recently refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    179
    127
    121
    125
See reviews for
100
154
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although the single room I had was adequately furnished, and the bathroom was clean and well lit, my weekend in Bristol was totally spoilt by the attitude of the staff. It was implied by the female receptionist when I went to check out that I was trying to get away with paying for not one, but TWO breakfasts. I was staying there by myself and she told me I had had two breakfasts in the dining room. When I said I hadn't had breakfast at all she checked with the restaurant and insisted they said I had two breakfasts. There was no pleasant exchange suggesting they could have made a mistake. She argued with me like a school child in the playground. When I asked her to get the person who said I'd had breakfast to come to reception, she took no notice. In the end she charged me for the room, but implied that I was lying as she said it was very strange that the bill stated that I'd had breakfast. There was no apology or attempt to put me at ease. Also there was a complete lack of common sense as she insisted I'd had two breakfasts when I was on my own! Having written to the hotel when I got home, I have still not received even a reply from them, let alone an apology. I;ve never experienced such treatment in any other hotel. It was quite extraordinary and very upsetting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear guest,

I am extremely sorry that you feel that you were treated poorly by a member of our staff, and especially so as we pride our selves in providing high levels of customer service. I will be speaking with all members of front of house staff regarding how they deal with errors on the bill as it would never be our intention to make any of our guests feel anything but positive about their stay. I am glad that despite this issue you found the accommodation clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Alsager
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Whilst the staff were friendly and efficient the facilities were very dissapointing. I stayed one night whilst in Bristol working for a charity and did not book this hotel myself. It was selected for location and value the former being good but the latter not. I was expectant when I checked in and was told I had an 'Executive single room'. Unfortunately when going to the room it did not live up to its billing. Whilst the room was clean, it was tiny, the bathroom was squeezed into a corner, the walls had had a damp problem which meant the wallpaper was peeling off and there was large orange damp stains on the wallpaper. W-fi was provided at an exorbitant rate (£10 per day) which in todays electronic world seems ludicrous especially as this was supposed to be an 'Executive room'. Breakfast in the morning was generally cold, both food and hot drinks and took an age to arrive. I would not recommend this hotel, it reminded me of my daughters shared student house, which for those of you who have been through this experience with your children will sum it up

Room Tip: Check out the room before you accept it as a number of rooms have damp problems and are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear guest,

I am glad you found the room to be clean but sorry that you did not find it an adequate size for your needs. Our Single rooms offer comfortable but compact accommodation for the solo traveler, and this is reflected in the price difference between these and the double rooms; many guests are pleased to have this option. Rather than increase our prices to include free wifi for all we keep them low by charging for those who chose to use it at £4 for a day (£10 for unlimited use as we have some guests who stay several weeks) It is also free if you use the café or restaurant areas. I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our restaurant manager and following feedback on service being slow at times we are setting up a pre order system for business or other travelers who need to be out quickly in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The bed was comfortable, the shower effective, the staff welcoming. This is a few minutes walk from the centre of Bristol, and represents great value for money. OK, so the rooms are a little shabby, but if you are staying for one night on business does that matter? If yes, be prepared to pay a lot (and I mean a lot!) more money at better known chain hotels in the city centre. The breakfast arrangements are a little confusing; we paid an extra £5 each on top of the room rates but it was not clear from the breakfast menu to what this entitled us (I ended up with toast and tea). The extra £5 also entitled us to "complimentary" fresh fruit, and tea making facilities in the rooms, a deal that seems to redefine "complimentary". But try finding a café that will provide any sort of breakfast for a fiver, let alone the fresh fruit and tea. If I need to stay overnight in Bristol again, I'll come back here.

Room Tip: Worth paying £5 to have tea making facilities in the room, plus the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Following recent feedback we have simplified the breakfast system to one option including a breakfast buffet as well as cooked options should you wish. All our rooms also have complimentary fruit and fresh tea and coffee so I hope you enjoy these again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed on Sunday 25th August 2013 as Mum , Dad and baby Molly at 22 months . We stayed in room 22 which was comfortable but we could have done with a bigger space . I asked the reception staff when booking if it was child friendly and was told it was . I asked about parking and we could pre book but could probably get on road FOC parking . I pre booked their own parking provisionally at £6.50 and glad I did . Bristol is one of the hardest cities in the UK to find car parking spaces . We paid £61 for the night , but looks like we could have negotiated cheaper . This is not a Child Friendly hotel as you cannot get a pram or pushchair in easily and coming to think of it , nor a wheelchair . The reception isn't a proper Reception , it 2 people behind a table , who are more like an interview panel . It seemed a shame to disturb them as they give the appearance of been more important than the customers . I asked about help getting our luggage and baby stuff to our room and may well have asked them to organise a moon landing . The corridors are cramped and in need of a makeover with a carpet upgrade . The hotel car park is useful and covered , but as an extension of the hotel , needs the peeling paint on the ceiling repainting and old furniture throwing away . The Tarmac leading to the garage needs resurfacing . The Rack Restaurant is busy unlike the Caffe and has an excellent bar manager from Northern Ireland who recognises a customer when he sees one . We had 2 drinks each with a main course for £38 for myself , wife and baby with the 15% hotel discount . On the Monday morning , we decided not to even ask for a breakfast at reception as it looked like it would be hard work , so onwards to breakfast at Bristol Zoo for a welcome Bacon Butty . The Wifi is obtainable free with a coffee , but they wouldn't serve us a coffee as the coffee machine had just been cleaned . They did provide a nice blanket for our travelling cot when asked . This hotel is for younger weekenders and with a bit of love could sell out with experienced staff . It's seen better days , but could return as it is a surberb location for Clifton and the University .

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Racks and on the first floor . Ask about about the cost of extras and negot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy all aspects of your stay but glad that you liked the restaurant. The hotel is child friendly in that we welcome children in the hotel, provide roll away beds or cots and games in the café area. The entrance does have a few steps to the front however there are always staff on hand to help carrying bags or push chairs and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you were not helped. I will be addressing the customer service issues with staff working at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Noisy until the early hours; rooms not up to standard; reserved car parking space occupied by someone else; overcharged for breakfast and refund refused; customer service awful. It seems we overpaid substantially compared to other reviewers. Having emailed a complaint on the day of departure and no reply or acknowledgement received; wrote directly to the Managing Director and 2 weeks on, still no reply. If you are 18 and want a cheap place to stay, probably ok, but otherwise avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJMB1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We aim to provide comfortable and clean budget accommodation so I am sorry to hear that you feel your room was not up to standard. I am sorry also that another guest parked in your reserved space and that you were overcharged for breakfast. I hope that a refund was not refused and instead that there was some sort of miscommunication. Customer service is an aspect of the hotel we particularly pride ourselves on and often receive complements about. Any letters of any nature received regarding guest experience with us are treated with high regard, as genuine feedback is the best way for us to make positive improvements to the hotel. Please don’t feel yours has been ignored and please do send it again should you wish and I will be happy to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Personally, I enjoyed my stay here. A lot of the poor reviews are unfair. This is a budget hotel, not a 5*. The location is good, with the city centre a 15min walk downhill. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, too. The hotel's restaurant serves up some pretty good food, though it is a little pricey. I opted for the soup of the day most evenings as it's the cheapest option at £5. The room wasn't exactly spacious but I wasn't expecting a huge room.

My only real criticism is that breakfast was incredibly slow. So slow that I witnessed another visitor get fed up and leave after waiting over 25 minutes. They insist on providing table service. You can't just grab some toast yourself, or some cereal. You have to be seated and ask for what you want. Breakfast only starts at 7am. I arrived for breakfast at 7am each morning, but didn't manage to leave before around 7:40am. If you're here on business and need to be somewhere, it's quite awkward.

The breakfast was good. Expensive though. I had breakfast included in the price of my room and I'd recommend this, else you'll spend a lot more than you'd like to on a fry up. Don't go for the regular fry up; it'll be too small, judging by the size of the large one.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. If I visit Bristol in the future, I'll most likely return to the Clifton Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebeard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Clifton and found the location convenient. You will be pleased to hear that following recent feedback on breakfast service we have made a few changes! A buffet table is now present allowing guests to help themselves to drinks and non cooked items with cooked breakfast made to order. We hope that this will improve speed but still offer the same quality food. Please do come back and give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Property: The Clifton Hotel
Address: St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing