We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright if you don't like sleeping!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Alright if you don't like sleeping!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Noisy ground floor room on a Friday night with noise from above and outside well into early hours. Thin walls and poor lighting in the room meant you had to get dressed in the dark as windows were on street level. Very basic room, clean with essentials. The hallway outside the room inexplicably smelled of raw sewage. Cafe and restaurant looked nice but did not try. Hotel is located within walking distance of ferry to ss Great Britain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from outside, our central location does mean that we are affected by the nose of people out in the evening. If you are staying again in the future please do request one of our quiet rooms towards the back of the hotel and away from the noise of the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    169
    123
    119
    124
See reviews for
96
148
87
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very small single rooms that are tired and in need of a face lift. I was surprised to find tea and coffee making facilities in the room and some fruit was a greater surprise. The walls are not sound proofed so other residents noise can be annoying. For the price (very cheap) no complaints.The bar/ restaurant in the celler "the Rack" was buzzzing. The staff were very polite, freindly and engauging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianheliman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Clifton, we aim to provide comfortable accomodation in a convenient location at an attractive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The room was very small, but worst of all parking was absolutely diabolical , wifi was not free , in this day and age is unheard of , at £40 per night it was far to expensive , I will definitely try to avoid this place in future .the staff were however very accommodating and the room was always kept clean and tidy , as small as it was

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank eric1viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you found the staff accomodating and the room clean and tidy. Following feedback we are looking to improve our parking situation, and given the parking difficulties in Bristol as a whole we are pleased to be able to offer covered parking to guests. We offer free wifi to any guests who book directly over the phone or through our website, but with third party websites charging up to 25% commission we cannot cover the cost for guests who do not book directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location for University/Clifton.
Rooms a little tired but adequate - really appreciated the cafetiere and real coffee in bedroom!
Decided to have breakfast which was a little pricey I thought, however the healthy breakfast was fantastic! Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sargentsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the cafetiere and the breakfast. You will be pleased to know that we are running a refurbishment project and have completely updated 6 rooms with more soon to follow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Clifton because it was very close to a venue we were visiting. My friends room was well appointed and on the first floor but sadly it was very noisy during the night partly because of inconsiderate fellow guests who were rowing but also doors that have to be slammed to close properly. My room on the third floor had very dated decor and metal windows which were draughty and gloomy. There was also a blood stain on the bedspread. The hospitality tray was very good though and included fresh fruit which was a nice touch. There is car parking nearby for hotel guests at an additional charge. It is quite dark in there though and you have to traverse all the potholes to get in. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a lift so probably best to stay clear of lower floors because of the noise from Cafe Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegetaround548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that the Clifton provided a convenient location for your event. I am sorry one room was a little noisy and that you felt the other was dated. Should you stay again in the future pleas do give us a call and let us know which type of room you would prefer and we can do our best to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Clifton Hotel, St Paul’s Road, Bristol – on the recommendation of my employers - I can honestly say that I won’t hurry back. Some quotes from their website describe the hotel as “a Café hotel with a vibrant atmosphere focusing on fun and indulgence”. “A firm favourite with visitors to the city, the Clifton offers UNIQUE hotel rooms with individuality”. Or you could just “admire the towel origami”, “the Clifton is the ideal Bristol city centre hotel”.

ROOM 31 WAS DEFINITELY UNIQUE – a very obvious damp wall, uncomforable beds, non-locking door, sticking plasters from a previous occupant stuck to the carpet, a peeling shower ceiling, a toilet flush with more scale on it than an old kettle, non-functioning heated towel rail, bed throws that had clearly seen better days, a draughty window with cracked pane (including a notice not to stand on the rubbish strewn balcony) and despite upstairs being cold the heating was apparently controlled from downstairs and appeared to work for about 20 minutes late evening. As for the 10 hours of free “high speed Wifi” that came with our booking – well I gave up trying to log on to that and thank goodness we didn’t pay extra! On checking with Reception we were advised there wasn’t another twin room available but during our 2 days we only saw 20 other people at most and of those 7 belonged to one family.

Breakfast was served in the “vibrant Racks Bar & Restaurant” downstairs and whilst evenings may be vibrant there was no atmosphere whatsoever at breakfast. In fact on entering the restaurant we were originally told that we hadn’t booked breakfast and despite arguing that we had, the breakfast staff had no records to check. We heard two other guests having the same conversation!

As for the car parking we paid for at £6.50 per day, well that’s situated a short distance up the road. Whilst not actually belonging to the hotel (the spaces are leased) it is only advisable if you have a small car. The sensor light didn’t actually work due to vehicles being parked in front of the wall and the light was not angled sufficiently to pick up any other movement. As a consequence when trying to reverse we hit some builder’s trestle tables that had been left in the entrance but luckily no damage to our vehicle. Apparently you can borrow a torch from Reception!

Whilst some of the rooms appear to be of better quality (purely from pictures on the website gallery) in our opinion Room 31 is very clearly not up to standard and I’m since advised you may do better booking an Executive Room. “The Best Cheap Hotel in Bristol City Centre” well……Travel Lodge or Premier Inn are also “cheap” but at least you know what to expect – a clean, warm room.

Would be interested to know if the reception staff occasionally check the rooms to see if they are suitable for guests?

Websites can be deceiving and much improvement needed!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you unpack the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoMash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at The Clifton. Following your review I will be reviewing your room and making improvements where necessary. We run an ongoing rolling refurbishment project replacing and renewing any items in need and room 31 will be made a priority. We are also looking at making improvements to our parking.

I would also like to apologise that your wifi was not working properly and that there was confusion over your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed on a Friday night we arrived late and was greeted by whom I assume is the night porter.. Well he has absolutely no people skills at all, we almost felt like we were a hindering him by being there!! However the lady who checked us out in the morning was very attentive and friendly! The room was spotless and the shower was heaven, we booked an executive room however I'm not convinced we were in an executive room. The bed was comfy, the noise from outside really affected our sleep and did not stop until around 2am double glazing may help???

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that the receptionist on duty when you checked out was friendly and attentive, and your review will be addressed with the member of staff who was present on your arrival. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your stay - being in such a central location we are affected by noise from outside both people socialising and traffic - however should you stay again in the future and are looking for a quiet night please do contact us directly and we can allocate you a room towards the back of the hotel with less noise disturbance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#25 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#35 of 53 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Property: The Clifton Hotel
Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing