We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, breakfast standard slipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel, breakfast standard slipped”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great hotel. Good facilities, great location.
Stayed many times, and return as it is of high standard.
Free wifi and iMacs are a bonus, as no other hotel offers similar inclusively.
Breakfast standards slipped though. Bacon and sausage was rubbery and tepidly warm. No cornflakes on the continental this morning. Petty, but did annoy us as returning guests.

Would book again though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shappers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    853
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
801
153
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It compares well to similar hotels for the price.

The TV is an apple mac not a normal TV and has several good points in that its more than a normal TV but its also a tad more complicated.

Rooms are really pretty small and the shower rooms even smaller. But well equipped.

Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff perhaps slightly less so - The breakfast room can be very busy and I would say its only average.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askmeimight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here last week . The rooms were clean and comfortable but the bathroom was small, the breakfast was not that good ( would have prefered fried not steamed bacon in tooked incipit) and we did have to wait a while for it. Very tricky car park not very big.

Unfortuanatly we did not get the opertunity to try the restaurant but the menu looked nice.

Staff were very helpfull and nothing was to much bother.

Would return to this hotel would have a different breakfast though.

Room Tip: Watch where you park you may get boxed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The Hotel was as expected for a Mint Hotel with high spec bathroom and bedroom. The Apple Mac TV and PC is a nice touch and the bed is very comfortable with good quality pillows - very important when trying to get a good nights sleep after a busy day sightseeing, eating and drinking!
We loved exploring Bristol with the city centre and river about a 15 minute walk away. The hotel was set in a quiet location but there are a few little restaurants and bars close by which we found very useful. Marco's Olive Branch is particlarly nice which is just a minute away via the old church grounds.
The reception

Room Tip: Higher room overlooking the church grounds are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbcraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

my 11 yr old and myself recently stayed for two nights (weekend) here and can not fault it at all. it def deserves the 4 star rating. the hotel is modern clean and led by very professional staff, even the cleaners do a fab job, as my daughter can be quite messy!!! we loved the bed, very comfy and clean and the bathroom was lovely too. you can set the heating/air con as you like so that was good for me!!, as was the tea, cofee and biscuits provided in our room. the imac in the room was another very nice bonus and the only negative i would say is it did state in your room info there was a complimentary dvd library at reception but when we enquired about it we was told they had to stop it because needed a licence-maybe that should have been checked before advertising it!!! other than that had a great time and even walked to temple meads station with luggage it was that handy. also my daughter enjoyed the well-equipped fitness room as under 16's are allowed with parents.

Room Tip: we didnt book bfast but had an offer on at two for the price of one so worth leaving until you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My stay in the Mint Hotel Bristol was excellent,
as i arrived in my room i saw that it was very clean and very well maintained, the entertainment system was very useful for my work and entertainment as i do my work on a computer the iMac was my best friend in my room as i could do my work and just lay on my bed and watch some TV or listen to the radio after a hard day of work outside of the hotel.
when lunch time came around i was very happy with order and i do recommend it to everyone else who goes to visit this hotel, it is the club sandwich it is simply said just amazing, as i became more or less a local in the hotel everyone knew what i wanted and really made me feel as if i was home, you all know that nothing beats home, but i can say that this comes very close to the convert at your own home.

and all i have left to say is, give it a try for your self so you can have an excellent good night of rest with friendly people around you standing by to help you when needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUX-LEET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hythe, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed one night at te mint hotel, check in was faultess, booked into an excutive club room. Room itself was modern but a little on the small size but clean. All the technology worked well with the apple mac a nice touch and free wifi. Breakfast was included in my rate and I ate a hearty full english breakfast, quality of the ingredients seemed high. visited in October weather was mild and room was warm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albert511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing