We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great city centre hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

+ pretty central, close to temple meads railway station
+ nice cafe/breakfast area
+ smart, clean room with i mac, great shower
+ good buffet breakfast
+ friendly, efficient staff

- none really apart from large stain on bedroom floor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    871
    261
    73
    33
See reviews for
181
828
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our reservation was mixed up when we arrived, reception staff were rude, room was okay but tired and when we asked for more pillows we had to wait almost an hour. Other than that, good location and managed to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am sorry that there was a mix up with your reservation and that you felt our reception staff were rude. This is not indicative of the excellent customer service we strive for with our guests and I will ensure that we follow up with the team regarding your experience.
We are now in the final stages of our guest room refurbishment programme so I hope that I have the opportunity to welcome you back to see our improvements soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Pros:
*iMac in room
*fitness room (though very small)
*location- right by Temple Meads
*comfortable bedding
*curtains block out all street lighting

Cons:
*disappointing breakfast- scrambled eggs very sloppy; everything kept running out and had to wait 10mins for more to be brought out on two occasions; when breakfast is busy, waiters are very slow to serve tea/coffee
*mini bar in room not stocked- you have to go downstairs to the lobby to buy food/drinks
*shower temperature was occasionally burning hot even turned down to lowest heat setting and sometimes fluctuated from hot to cold
*air con did not work in one room I stayed in
*iMac in one room I stayed in was slow and kept crashing


Booked the hotel when it was still the Mint, and we were not informed it had changed to the Hilton Garden Inn prior to our arrival.
I much preferred this hotel as the Mint (stayed there May 2011)- there was a better breakfast selection and mini bars in the rooms were stocked with good quality snacks (like Green & Blacks chocolate).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol. I fully take your feedback on board.
We are currently in the final stages of our refurbishment programme for all of our guest rooms and our new facilities such as our business centre, fitness room and guest laundry. instead of fully stocked mini bars we do now offer a pantry facility in the lobby - this is stocked with snacks, chocolate, amenities and drinks and has a more varied selection. We still have fridges in our rooms for guests convenience.
I hope that I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and show you the improvements we have made since our rebrand.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here three times in past couple of weeks since updated to Hilton Garden Inn - rooms haven't changed apart from minibar emptied - there is now a snack fridge at reception - much cheaper (beer £2) and convenient.

Loved hotel before - still like it now. Gym was always rubbish - now is great with brand new machines on ground floor and about 4 times size. Resistance machine and free weights, although no bench so a bit limited to use weights. Need to sort out the automatic lights as go off when on machines - but only gripe.

Still free wifi, great iMac in room (bring DVD for night in) and decent room service and location. Now get Hiltonhonors points too which is great!

Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We are now in the final stages of our guest room refurbishment programme to upgrade our facilities. Thank you for bringing to our attention the lights in the gym - this has now been adjusted. I am pleased that you like the new gym! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay & would recommend this hotel . We arrived mid afternoon on Tuesday & parked in the hotel's car park after which we explored the city using public transport (bus stop outside front door ) & on foot. The bedroom was relatively quiet with the window open ( quieter than the air con. ) The beds were very comfortable & the fridge enabled us to keep fresh milk & other drinks chilled. The fittings were of a high standard ( Matki shower screen ) Apple TV . We ate in the cafe rather than the restaurant on the second night of our stay & enjoyed a very well cooked & presented meal which was good value. All the staff were friendly & helpful & we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Overlooking gardens to rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have stayed here on business about 5 or 6 times and always look forward to it.
It has been great since it was a City Inn, then becoming Mint.
The rooms are always clean & fresh. The food is tasty & value for money - and the bar has had some interesting ales on in the past.
Check in & out is always easy.
My only gripe is the parking. There is not nearly enough parking, and you often get some chancer blocking you in. One poor guy blocked me in when I was due on site at 05:00, so reception had to wake him up. I didn't have the heart to mention that I could have collected my car after the meeting!

All in all one of the better hotels, and one that I thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much for the taking the time to feedback to us - I am pleased that you enjoy the hotel. We do have the facility of an overflow car park, I will ensure our reception team informs guests about this when our hotel car park is full.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Clean, modern, fresh, hospitable, good value. Really impressed with this hotel. A warm welcome at check in, a fresh, modern room with an imac and free wifi. Fod in hotel bar / restaurant was very good. Would recommend highly. One of the best hiltons i have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuggets71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your very kind words - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing