We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
abingdon.oxon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tiny room”
Reviewed 8 February 2008

We found this hotel spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated, but the room was very very small,the bathroom was also very tiny.not big enough to swing a cat.
We paid £82 for a wednesday night with hotelconnect.com, had we paid other advertised prices of in excess of £100 i think we would have felt robbed. A friend was staying at the Holland House hotel and the rooms there were beautiful and extremely spacious with 2 double beds and a very large bathroom, all brand new and very tastefully done.
If we return to bristol i know where we'll be staying !!!

  • Liked — very clean and nicely furnished
  • Disliked — very very tiny room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollydosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    854
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
801
153
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

I phoned the hotel on a Friday to get a room for the Saturday night and was offered a deal of £69 or £89 for a "slightly larger room", a fruit platter and luxury toiletries. We live in Manchester where a very smart new City Inn has opened - we've have drinks in the very smart cocktail bar a couple of times and have seen the rooms and know they are fairly small. On arriving the room didn't seem like it could possibly have been any smaller though so I phoned reception to check and was told that all rooms are the same size. This confirms an earlier reviewer who complained abour staff not knowing the packages they were selling.

The fruit platter was quite good though and ended up saving us money that we would have spent in the restaurant on dinner and so I forgot about the misselling of the room size. The location is quite good and it is just a short walk to the city centre and a very short drive from the motorway network.

Small niggles like the tv not working properly and only one towel in the bathroom added to the list of complaints.

Breakfast was quite good but was buffet and some things were looking a little tired (I'm talking about the food not the guests). The worst though was the farce of the room entry card not working and still not working having taken it back to reception 4 times - our room was on first floor close to the stairs so this was just annoying - totally unacceptable if we'd been further away. To make matters worse the same dozy receptionist didnt give us a code number to exit the car park even though I'd just told her we had a car there.

There does seem to be a consistency to the recent reviews - the rooms are small and there will be something major wrong with the hotel.

On top of this the building is fairly ugly. No, we won't be staying again, definately, never.

  • Liked — fruit platter saving ££ on dinner
  • Disliked — dozy reception staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TimManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Ridiculously small room, the bathroom is a closet not big enough to swing a mouse let alone a cat. Food ok, not exactly special the location is not very good either. Also we booked two rooms and only one was available (because we turned up late.)

They basically said the error was ours and showed us a screen print. Actually when we got back to the office our travel dept dug out the “real” reservation and it seems they messed up the booking.

8.30pm and my colleague had to hunt down a room in Bristol for the night. Not good.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mitrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 12 months, and on both occasions we have enjoyed impeccably clean, if compact rooms - though not so compact when you consider what you would get in other city hotel accommodation for the price.

We booked this time for a one-night dinner, bed and breakfast offer which was extremely good value and included a bottle of wine, room with dvd/cd player, hairdryer, tea-making facilities, iron/ironing board, mini-bar and bathrobes for the bargain price of £99.00 for the two of us.

Check-in was great, and the girl on the desk was very friendly and extremely professional.

We enjoyed the 'White Company' toiletries which were large, wall-mounted, and full. This was in addition to the usual small bottles of shampoo/conditioner, etc.

It appeared that the rooms had recently been refurbished, as the information sheet stated that the hairdryer was in the drawer under the tv set, when in fact it was in a bag in the wardrobe - (This I found out only when I phoned down to complain)!

The toilet roll holder was loose, yes, but really I would be nit-picking to complain about these minor details, when the rest of the room and the service was of such a high standard.

The food was very good, service impeccable, and the menu quite varied for dinner.

The following morning we had not just 'continental, or cereals and "full english"; but a better than average choice - in fact all you could wish for, including fresh fruit salad and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toasted brioch, kippers, etc.

We left very happy and relaxed, and yes, we will be back!

  • Liked — Location, value, service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbird28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

Got this place as a bargain through lastminute.com, as a top secret bargain, and were really pleased to get this place for less than £60 for the room. The hotel is a really smart building with a trendy looking bar and restaurant. Didn't eat there as we were dining in town, but we had a drink in the bar before going out and it was nice.

Reception was quick, efficient and friendly, and the room was nice, if a bit small. The bathroom was really small but everything you needed was there.
Bed was big and comfy. The only thing we found strange was the many light switches for the lamps etc. There were loads and seemed to turn some lights on and some off! Bit confusing after a night out.

This place was great value for less than the price of a Travelodge

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamondwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Having previously stayed at the London Westminster and more recently the excellent new Manchester establishments, we were expecting more of the same in Bristol. However, a few things disappointed us. We noticed were that there was no hand soap in the bathroom. The liquid soap dispenser had been removed from the wall. We couldn't get access to the mini bar because it was locked. We called reception who sent someone up to investigate and after a short delay, provided us with soap and a key to the fridge. The room was small (but we didn't expect it to be large). During the night, we heard other doors opening and closing as the refurb hadn't included 'noise free' door close features which is standard in many hotels these days. The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast - full buffet style (unlike Manchester which provided cook to order on hot food). The eggs, bacon etc on the buffet were cold and unappetising. Tea was served in the teapot the size of an eggcup and toast came in very small portions for two people. We wouldn't stay at this branch of the City Inn again - it really seemed like the 'poor relation' to its siblings in London and Manchester. Don't understand why this hotel has in not of the same standard when they are all supposed to be 4 star.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I have stayed at the City Inn several times on business. I used to be satisfied with the hotel but on recent visits there is always something wrong.
The modern compact rooms are OK for one traveler but crowded for two, the bathroom is very small with only a shower. Soap is in dispensers; on one visit neither of the two dispensers would pump any soap. For two days I dismantled them to get the soap out but the staff didn't have the savvy to realise that they didn't work and just kept putting them back together.
The rooms were refurbished recently although that didn't improve things much. Simple problems become annoying when there is always something wrong - I don't expect to keep asking for obvious things to be made available such as, no coat hangers, no TV remote, DVD wasn't connected to the TV, safe locked by previous guest and inaccessible, no complimentary beverage.
The restaurant serves expensive micro cuisine - don't eat here if you’re hungry.
I received a very pert letter following one visit demanding 65 pence for a minibar item that I didn’t take – would you risk upsetting a client for this amount of money?
The hotel seems to lack management setting any exacting standards.
I now stay at the Marriott when I am in Bristol – a far better option for the same price.

  • Liked — Location, free parking if spave available
  • Disliked — Poor standards, expensive restaurant, indifferent staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing