We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break in Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Break in Bristol”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good practical hotel, ideal location very convenient for Temple Meades and eateries as well as the actual Temple. Good breakfast buffet, not an Apple person so the Apple PC was an unused luxury. Good bathroom facilities. Parking in the area is limited

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    857
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
805
154
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for one night (29th June). Booked well in advance and got very good rate including breakfast and dinner for £79. Booked in at 8.00 a.m. with no problems, parked in very tight space (only downside). Room lovely, clean, shower only, iMac in room, Henry Miller chair, divine bed. Dinner fine for the price, breakfast great. Very good staff and excellent service. Would highly recommend. Friends stayed at Regency and Malago the same night and had a dreadful time. I was very lucky!

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the best price and don't expect a bath but you'll get a fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The main selling point must be the proximity to temple meads station and being the only hilton in town it attracts a lot of Hilton Honors guests. Other than the station I find the hotel someone lost and stranded halfway between town and the cabot circus area which are each a 10min walk away.

Rooms are standard for HGI: very small and more basic than Hilton hotels but with just about everything you need. I personally don't like the iMac TV setup as the screen is small and the remote control is quite limiting but I know others love it. Adjustable air conditioning is great and a must in summer.

Breakfast has all the usual hot and cold food offerings. Food in the restaurant is of a high standard and comes highly recommended amongst a number of cab drivers and locals to Bristol. This is fortunate as there aren't many restaurants near the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back to avoid the noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_loyal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

When I booked this with central bookings I was assured there would be a bath and there wasn't. The room was very small and the bed was a double with a double duvet which didn't allow for some overhang. There is limited car parking space although we were fortunate. Once we parked we didn't move it for the two nights we were there. The biggest moan was the breakfast. Always only warm or near cold and sausages both days were severely undercooked. No reliable ''egg'' person on duty. The tables NEVER set properly so I was up and down either asking for waitress help or grabbing from other tables.
W e had just spent two nights at a hotel in Bath serving a disastrous breakfast and we fell foul again!!

Room Tip: Read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice clean modern hotel. polite and efficient staff in a good location all be it on a very busy main room. Loved the iMAC's in the rooms and breakfast until midday. Bar had a great atmosphere and reasonable prices. Couldn't understand the huge queues at the breakfast buffet until I came across the strangely situated egg station at the end holding everybody up, it needs to be positioned better to smooth out breakfast. Staff not as pleasant on check out as check in. Overall a decent stay.

Room Tip: If staying at weekend park your car across the road from the hotel, the way you came in, free parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal-with-Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here during a business trip because of it's location, which if fine, but not much more. For a hotel chain that promotes itself as a business person's choice I was surprised to be be greeted with "sorry the car park is full, but you can park across the street" (in an unlit public parking lot). Which meant that the car had to be emptied which was inconvenient. I was also told that if I could move my car to the hotel parking lot before 8 the following morning, I wouldn't have to pay anything across the street. Fine, the problem was that at 8 in the morning the hotel parking was still full. And continued to be so until I checked out.
The room was nice even though too spacious, which made me wonder what there was both a chair and an armchair in it?
The bathroom was (no kidding) 1.5 x 1.5 meters (5 x 5 feet) and in that space there were two doors that needed space to be opened. It resembled a restroom on an aeroplane.
The bed was firm, which was probably the best part part of the stay. (besides the iMac/TV which was nice combination. Now all you need to do is hook it up to a printer too)
The noisy aircond was a nuisance, that made me shut it off and sleep with the window open instead.
Checking out was a hassle and extra delayed because the elevator was stuck on the third floor, and the bags had to be carried down from the third floor. The breakfast staff did it's best to spread joy, but why did I have to order a boiled egg? Isn't this something that can be ready? The extensive selection of cereals seems important to the hotel, but why only offer a single cheese selection (in thick slices) on your breakfast buffé?
So this Hilton Garden only gets an OK. No more and no less.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the side away from the main street (it faces North and is both quieter and coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stay here regularly on business and it is one of the nicer hotels in Bristol. The rooms are a little small, but in the side of the hotel one is rewarded with nice views over Temple Gardens and they are very quiet. The staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast is good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Temple Gardens - the rooms at the front can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing