We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean and Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while on business in the area. The hotel came with a reasonable price (~104 GBP / night incld breakfast) and a great central location (<5min walk from Temple Meads).

Check in was a breeze. I asked for a room on an upper floor (just because upper floors are generally quieter) and was accommodated. My room looked towards the back of the hotel , and was very quiet.

The Daily breakfast has a great variety and should suit anyones needs. They offer a range of cold cereals, fruit, mead, cheese, breads, croissants, muffins, eggs, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes, yogurt and the self-serve waffle machine. You can also have eggs cooked to preference. I had an omelette and the only minor complaint I could make was that they didn't have any options of vegetable to put in it. I'm from Canada and am used to omelettes full of vegetables (peppers, onion, spinach, etc..), I ended up with ham, mushroom & cheese - a very minor inconvenience.

The room was very clean and modern. It featured an iMac in pace of a regular TV which you could use to watch TV, surf the net, or whatever else a mac can do. There was also free wifi throughout the hotel and the reception in my room was fine to video chat back home. The room also had a mini fridge (empty) and a small safe. The shower was hot and water pressure ample.

The hotel also has a small but adequate gym that has a few treadmills, cycles, do-it-all machine and some free-weights. Just fine to stay in shape while on the road. I did not find (mind you I didn't ask either) a pool/steam-room or sauna on site.

Check out was also very simple. Standard checkout time is 12:00pm, I requested a late checkout and was offered 1:00pm. Not a huge difference so I checked out and made use of temporary bag storage while checking out the city a bit on the last day.

There are plenty of amenities well within waling distance of the hotel. Bristol city centre is <10min walk where you can find many restaurants,pubs, etc..

All in all, I have no complaints and would both recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor, overlooking the temple for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VIVAHUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. We here at Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre were all so happy to read it.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back!

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have used this on a number of occasions for lunch,going back to the days when it was The Mint hotel. A number of the staff remain and are very friendly and helpful and do recognise you when you return (thanks Aga ) The hotel has a car park for guests, it can get busy and on one occasion we had to park in pay car park next door and move the car when space was available.We have always enjoyed our lunches here, if you enjoy vegetables you may need to order more than come with the meal. The dining area can be a bit noisy as they do have conferences at the hotel.There is a terrace over looking a small park ideal for drinks and lunch on a sunny day. We recommended friends to stay here they came by train and it is a short walk away from Templemeads station ,there is also a bus stop outside. They found the hotel ideal for a weekend break and they could to most areas of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review, Aga was thrilled you mentioned her.

Daniel Kasieczka our Head Chef, Aga and both their teams were thrilled with your comments, thank you so much once again.

We look forward to seeing you for your festive lunch!

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

All was Very good except that the noise from the heating fan kept us awake, the room was lovely and clean, there was no bad smells or signs of and stained walls or floors, Im not sure if we were not charged for the coffee or if it was free anyway but "Thank You Hilton for a lovely Coffee" The food was included with our booking and both the Dinner and breakfast were first class, the bacon was the tenderest and tastiest I have ever eaten . And Bristol shopping was quite good as well, just 10 mins from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank rabbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Wow - Daniel Kasieczka - our head chef and his team are so pleased with your review - the keep talking to me about your comments about the bacon!

I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and sorry to hear about the loud heating/cooling this is something the property manager is looking into.

Once again a huge thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Car parking was quite restricted, but we managed to find a space. It was only lunchtime, though, and later in the day it might be an issue. Check in staff were very friendly and efficient. Our rooms were airy and clean, and nicely furnished. An Apple iMac doubles as the TV, providing internet access and full desktop computing facilities if you need them. Bathroom was clean and well provided with quality toiletries.

We didn't have an evening meal, although we did have a night cap in the pleasant bar area. Breakfast was great, a very full choice of hot and cold buffet choices. The waffle machine was a nice touch, and the lady who took care of the buffet and cooked things to order was a joy to talk to.

I would recommend this hotel for a city break in Bristol, for a business visit or for a stay with someone special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your recent stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel. The waffles and freshly cooked eggs to order are my favourite too.

Parking can be an issue for our guests but we have lots of information at reception about all of the different parking options available around us, if you need this next time you stay.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We decided on a whim to visit Bristol for the night, and booked at the Hilton Garden Inn because of its good reputation and proximity to the train station.
Plans changed and we ended up driving to the hotel- it was easy to find but the car-park was full and so we used a privately owned car-park just down the road.
The room was very clean and tidy, not the biggest hotel room I've ever been in, but it felt cosy rather than small.
The iMac/tv was a nice idea, however when we first loaded it up, we were met with a screen full of hardcore pornography. We initially found this hilarious, but not so much when we considered what the previous occupants may have been up to...
We had dinner in the restaurant which was all delicious. The service was very good also.
There isn't much else to say: a good location, well decorated and staffed by very capable and friendly people.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malikhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read many things in your review Daniel Kasieczka our Head Chef and his team are always so happy when our guests enjoy the meal.

Myself, the Housekeeping Manager and the rest of the team are so sorry about the image left on your I Mac. The Housekeeping Manager has implemented a new system to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have had a lovely peaceful stay whilst being right in the centre of Bristol. There's a very pleasant park nearby so that we could start and end the day peacefully. Our room overlooked the park. The invitation to use the fridge in the room for our own snacks etc was really welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am glad to hear you made the most of the in room cooler.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a second time and got a £99 season break- had a lovely dinner for two included and the breakfast buffet was fresh and tasty and plentiful. The hotels well located and the staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank guy_of_gisbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your review, Daniel Kasieczka our Head Chef has asked me to thank you for your kind words about the food and service.

We both look forward to welcoming you back

Chia

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing