We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another hotel in Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another hotel in Bristol”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Relatively easy to locate if driving from M4 and if you get there early enough, hotel parking. If this is full you are probably in for a long walk. Although the hotel is next to a four lane ring road the room was very well sound insulated and had excellent free! internet connection through an Apple desktop. It was comfortable, and well designed, if small (shower only) Air con was quite noisy on automatic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank amkintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear amkintheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that overall your stay was as you would have expected and sorry we did not have the chance to retify the air conditioning issue during your time with us. During future stays please bring this to the attention of a team member and we will be happy to arrange for a repair.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    866
    255
    71
    32
See reviews for
175
821
157
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This Garden Inn is conveniently located. City bus stops in front of hotel, Temple Mead train station is just a short walk away, and the National Express station is about 5 BGP by taxi. Rooms are clean and quiet, though more compact that Garden Inns in America.

My wife and I set up base camp in Bristol to explore the area as tourists in late October. Perfect! More to see and do than can be described here. And the people we met were those you'd be proud to introduce to anyone!

A special mention concerning the Garden Inn staff at this location: Gracious, exceptionally helpful -- and honest! My wife left some rather valuable jewelry in the room when we checked out. Didn't notice the missing item until we had returned to America. A phone call to to Sazilvia Dani at the hotel produced more than a little relief. The jewelry had been located and was on deposit in the hotel safe, awaiting reclamation. No small task in repatriating it to America, but Szilvia's persistence has been very much appreciated. Stay here and you'll have no regrets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear GKellyBirmingham,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am delighted the hotel and team made your stay a pleasant one. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Booked this hotel for a night away for my friends 40th birthday as we wanted to be near to Bristol. Drove and arrived around midday. I knew that the car park was first come first served and we were lucky enough to get a space.
I imagine that if you arrive later you probably won't get one, (that isnt really the hotels fault though!) although there is another pay and display across the road at the back. We left the car there until Sunday afternoon and paid £10.00 parking fee which I didnt think was that bad, as there are not many hotels near the centre with parking.
Check in was smooth and friendly and it was good that we could check in early.
Our room was a twin at the back (I had requested a quiet room as the ones at the front face the main road and may have experienced noise from traffic).
The room was perfect, very clean, a Mac which doubled as a PC and TV, it had a couple of music channels which was good when we were getting ready! The bathroom was lovely, spacious, clean, nice powerful shower, heated mirror, soft towels and lots of goodies (bath/shower gel/shampoo etc).
The lady on reception was very helpful with directing us.
Cabot Circus (main shopping centre) and the Christmas German Markets were about a 10 min walk. Also visited St Nicholas Market, which is good and lots of bars/restaurants and quirky stalls ....again, about 15 min walk (or 5 mins in a taxi on the evening).
Had a good night sleep, beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was buffet style and there was a lovely selection - hot or cold and also things to order too. Very tasty.
Check out was fine and friendly.
Overall, it was a great stay and very convenient - Train Station (Temple Meads) was a 10 min walk and we caught the train to Bath (well worth doing that!). If you need something to eat and cannot be bothered to go into the centre there is a Wetherspoons about 5 mins away by the Train Station (Temple Quay) which is handy.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the back and not near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKellyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear GKellyBirmingham,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am delighted the hotel and team made your stay a pleasant one. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Used the hotel as a meeting venue with lunch.

Car parking awful, let the hotel down completely. Small tight car park which is a dead end, entered through barrier, drove down 45 spaces (or so they claim, appears smaller) to find it full, you can then only reverse out as no space to turn, then find yourself at the barrier again which you could only get through using a ticket from reception, meaning you have to leave your car blocking traffic to go into the hotel to get let out. Stupid.

On the plus side, meeting room and facilities good, toilets clean and well managed and food was AMAZING. Restaurant staff helpful, although our allocated 30 min lunch break took double that. Receptionist also helpful.

I would return just for more of the high quality food, but get the train as Temple Meads is only a 5 minute walk.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vc1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear vc1406,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to see that our car park caused so many problems for you during your time with us and we have recently addressed the previous smaller spaces and relined the area to provide wider parking spaces leaving us with the current 45.

I am delighted you would not let this stop you coming back to us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We have been to Bristol several times although tend to use the mercure holland house. We saw an offer for an overnight stay with 3 course meal and wine and decided to stay here for a change.

Firstly it was easy to find near temple meads station, as we arrived later on Saturday PM the car park was full however parking on the road was free after 6pm and for Sunday so we did that instead saving a few quid. Check in was quick, and we prebooked a table for dinner. Pleasant clean and adequately sized room with a park view therefore quiet. Very comfortable bed and good range of toiletries. Free wifi too.

Dinner was very good, and service was excellent.

After dinner we were going to head off into town for drinks but instead wandered over the road where there is a basic but pleasant enough wetherspoons pub which was fine for a few drinks.

Would I stay again? Yes, however for us the mercure is a better location. We felt this was a little too far for the places we like to visit and therefore it would not be top of our list. The main shopping area however is walkable, as is the harbour side, albeit harbourside was a fair trek.

Overall though, absolutely can't fault the hotel and staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manda1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear manda1979,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see the you enjoyed the food and the service received during your time with us and found the location easy to find and convenient to Temple Meads station which is about a 5 minute walk.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reviewed once before, when a few minor details let it down. Pleased to say that on this occasion the entire stay was hassle free. Yes, one might agree it is a tad bland but I find it clean, modern and above all comfortable. They don't stand on ceremony, and for a business stay it's ideal. Any downsides? All my group had problems as they couldn't quite get to grips with billing the company as per the booking (confirmed in writing) - seemed to want bills settled there and then although this was put right quickly and with apologies. And the breakfast temperature still doesn't quite reach above lukewarm. Minor gripes which I wouldn't let me stop from booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikelyCulprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear LikelyCulprit ,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us and I am delighted to see that after a few problems with billing your issues were sorted our and the rest of your stay was problem free.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights as it was advertised as being in city centre but in reality it is a hike to the nearest shops or places of interest.The rooms are adequate albeit too hot and beds very hard. We didnt have breakfast but a night cap in the bar was pricey . The receptionist Saturday evening was off hand and flippant when we remarked on the lack of hot water For a shower that morning .The duty receptionist Sunday more than made up for this by his pleasant and helpful demeanour and offer of a complimentary snack together with an explanation of the buses and looking after our bags for us. The hot chocolate from the bar on return from shopping was delicious. Despite initial impressions and one unhelpful staff would return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear rainbowkarma,

I am delighted to see that after some challenges with a member of our team, your stay was pleasant and my team was able to rectify the issues encountered. I am sorry you had to experience anything other then friendly service from my team and can assure you we have addressed this with the individual involved.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing