We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is in a quiet area not far from the train station and 10-15 minutes walking to the center of Bristol.
The service is very nice and a good things is having a Pc in the room which works also as TV.
The breakfast is really good and you can order something (omelette, fried eggs, etc.). There is a large selection of food and the quality is good.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Rosario_it ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that both the team, product and offering were above your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Bristol area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent only one night in there in one of the rooms which looked over the park. The room was rather small, but still comfy and very quiet. There was a good sized wardrobe to store clothes if staying longer than a night and the chair with the desk was a great higher-end one for business people! The bed was perfect for us in terms of hardness, had a great sleep, it was a bit too high though.
The iMac was a great addition to have, however, probably not the best choice instead of a TV as it's a bit small and not the easiest to navigate from bed.
The room and the bathroom were clean and beside a couple of marks the interior didn't look worn out. The toilet wasn't spotless under the seat though..
Breakfast was a nice buffet style one (we found it better in quality and selection than the 'inn' ones), the English breakfast items were freshly prepared and filled up regularly, great range of continental items (loads of cereals, yoghurts, dired fruits..etc) and a waffle maker!!
Staff were very helpful and polite.
There was one thing which we could not fully understand though...check out time was 12, we finished breakfast around 11.50 and wanted to go back to the room to pick our bags up and the card was already 'disconnected' from the room...?
Overall enjoyed it and will consider booking it again.

Room Tip: The room looking over the park was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubblySoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear BubblySoph,

Thank you for taking the time for providing such detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. It is important to us that our guests continue to acknowledge areas of excellence and those which require more focus.

I am delighted to read that you will stay with us on your next visit to Bristol and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel . Very Lovley rooms. Reception very helpful and smiling . Breakfast fantastic . You can get everything and be full hall day. Special I loved waffles. Hotel is almost in city . You can get everywhere where you want . Thank you the girl who was serving in bar evening . She was amazing very friendly . Big thanks as well restaurant supervisor . Thank you for Lovley weekend .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Podza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Podza29,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotels location to assist you in exploring Bristol's city centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the Bristol area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a good location perfect if you want to go shopping, near the the train station, the room was lovely the Apple Mac was a nice touch but the beds well they were rock hard!!! We didn't get any sleep and we left at 5am because of this, we mentioned this when we checked out and they said they were not going to charge us the room, we didn't expect this at such a well known Hotel Company and sadly will be not using them in the future :(

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SteveHere92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear SteveHere92,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to see your stay was not as you would have expected and that the mattress was too hard in your bedroom. All of the hotels mattresses were replaced with the hotels refurbishment two years ago and are standard Hilton mattresses which are closely monitored to ensure they are in pristine condition. I note that on occasion hotel beds can be too hard or soft for guests depending on personal preference and as a hotel, once notified of this we will make adjustments to the bed to address this.

I am sorry that the removal of the charges for your stay is not felt adequate compensation for the inconvenience caused and that my team did not have the opportunity to rectify on the night leading to a poor nights sleep.

I would be delighted if you could contact me directly on the address below to discuss the matter further to see how I can resolve the issue for you to your satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I've just spent the night at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol. It is a business hotel which is an 8 minute walk from Temple Meads station. The hotel is clean, quiet and the wifi works in the rooms. One strange aspect of the room is the Mac desktop acts as the TV. This sounds cool but once I was given the remote (it was missing) the TV/Mac was not easy to navigate.

As mentioned in the title, the breakfast was pretty awful. The (spartan) staff were dispirited young eastern Europeans who obviously hadn't worked there very long. I had to drink my OJ out of a coffee mug and waited at the breakfast bar for ages while another customer was complaining.
If you've already booked this place then good luck!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear davidtinney,,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the service are appreciated and will allow us to enhance the experience and carry out the necessary training where required.

On this occassion I am very sorry to hear that you found our breakfast service and quality to be lacking and I would be delighted to discuss this with you further, if you would contact me via the details below, as the review is contrary to many of our guests experiences and I want to fully understand the incident which led to the review as many of the team have worked with us for a number of years and have been noted for their service, and to ensure it is addressed in a correct manner.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Bought a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea. Arrived at the City Inn Cafe to staff laughing under their breath and smirking at each other.

All we could hear for the first 15 minutes coming from kitchen was shouting, to the point where a member of staff had to go in and tell them to be quiet.

Food was average and not worth the advertised full price.

Will not returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Laradias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Laradias,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent dining experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is important our guests provide feedback to allow us learn from their experiences and address training needs where required.

I am very disappointed to read your afternoon tea was spoilt by the team on shift when you dined with us as can assure you the matter has been investigated and the required training carried out with those involved.

I am delighted to hear my Head Chef Daniel has been in contact and that you will be taking the opportunity to dine with us again in the near future allowing us to show you how our noted service should be and apologise for your experience.

Should this not be to your satisfaction, please do not hesitate to contact directly on the details below.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

An excellent hotel: friendly and helpful staff; extremely clean throughout the hotel; beautiful decor. It is well located, close to the city centre and also to motorways. If the hotel car park is full there is another car park that can be used by guests from 6 pm to 8 am.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Pauline A ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you found the hotel and team to be first rate and I look forward to serving you again on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £59 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing