We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“City Centre Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well situated in the centre of Bristol, easy walking distance to the Waterfront, shops, and other amenities. The hotel was light, bright and airy. Rooms were in good condition, clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. All staff were welcoming, cheerful and friendly. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to see from your review you both found my team to be so welcoming and the breakfast to be to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    854
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
801
153
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Bristol is really convenient to the Bristol City Centre and the Temple Meads train station. The staff is excellent and the rooms are clean and reasonably priced. The fitness facilities are better than expected. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Frank G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to see from your review you found the team to be excellent and our rooms to be so clean. I will ensure you kind comments are passed on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well appointed city hotel with up to date rooms, wifi and good toiletries all in the center of Bristol. Nothing much to add. Perfect for the business traveller and location a bonus with everything an easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchillarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear chinchillarat,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you found your stay with us to be above your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband visited the bristols Hilton for our wedding anniversary, the location of the hotel is fab, your in walking distance to the town and the Harbour, also 5 min walk from train station and there is also a weatherspoons 2 min away. There is a bus stop either side of the road with regular buses. On arrival on the Hilton ( which was our first time stayed in a Hilton ) the inside was very small but clean and tidy, we went to the desk to drop our bags off as our room was no ready yet, I have to admit it wasn't the best welcome seems we had to ask for something to say she had oue bags, but she was trying her best, we also decided to have the breakfast which was 10.99... The room on first look was very small, but was amazed by the Apple TV, but shocked there was 2 chairs in the room ( specially when there was not much small space) the room wasn't very clean or in great condition but the bed was clean and tidy... The rooms needed a good clean and a freshen up, also the air con didn't work very well.. We was on the 4th floor so we expected from the pictures the room would be bigger and at least clean. After spending all day in the town, we went back to the room for a good night sleep, unfortunately me and my husband found the bed very un-comftable , mattress was very hard and springy and the pillows felt old and it was really difficult to get comftable on them, when we went down to the desk to enquire about a bill for the breakfast that had been pushed threw our door we did mention we didn't have a good night sleep, we was asked what the issue was and I mentioned that pillows and the husband the mattress, we was advised we could of asked for a quilt to go underneath the sheet to make it softer, but it was a bit late seems we was only staying one night, and I wasn't willing to walk down to the desk at 2am for the quilt to go under the sheet, The breakfast was ok, I liked the waffles but the breakfast was loop warm, felt sorry for the staff as they seemed to be running around a lot to serve a lot of people.
The hotel it self was lovely and clean it was very small, and not what I expected from a Hilton, it reminded me to much of a holiday in ( obviously with out the mac )
Personally I'm not sure if I would stay in this hotel again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stells09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Stells09,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am disappointed to read that you found your stay to be below your expectations and I am truly embarrassed the cleanliness levels in our hotel fell below the high standard our guests continually comment on over the years. I will ensure we review the room in question which looks like it was under maintenance at the time and investigate why it was in use to rectify this problem immediately.

I note your comments regarding your night sleep and apologise my team were not more sympathetic towards your concerns. Our hotels beds were completely replaced two years ago when the hotel was refurbished, with the standard Hilton sleep system being installed as the bedding package which is used throughout our European estate. I understand that personal preference dictates in these matters and would suggest for future to advise us during the day should you find the bed to be too hard or soft and we will ensure measures are taken to address this with our housekeeping team.

I will ensure the comments regarding the self-service buffet breakfast available in our City Cafe are addressed with my Food & Beverage Manager to review how we operate this on busy mornings and our guests needs are met.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
518 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay close to Temple Meads. This seemed ideal! I used to work in Bristol back when this was the City Inn. If you are arriving via Temple Meads, then do follow the walking instructions on the hotel web-site. Hotel is modern, light and airy. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our double bedroom overlooked the park and was well equipped with air conditioning, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, tea making facilities and an Apple computer /TV (which took some working out). A comfortable night's sleep!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Kevin H,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you found my team to be so friendly and the stay so comfortable. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Not much more to add - the stay was very enjoyable - the breakfast had a wonderful choice of items both cooked and cold and fresh croissants and bread and I will definitely stay there again. You will not be disappointed so give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank JK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear JK88,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you found our hotel to be the ideal location for your recent stay with us in the Bristol area.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed there in June. Rooms are small, but beds are comfortable. Fairly quiet during the night.

Hotel outdoor car park is quite small, and also costing £10 for an overnight stay. Does not really offer any protections to cars, since wide open to pedestrians. No spaces left after 8pm.

Hotel location is average, with a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Bristol and a selection of restaurants.

Conclusion: quite pricey for what it is, considering the size of the rooms, and the additional breakfast and car park cost

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear LondonSeb,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am disappointed to read you were not satisfied with your stay with us and note your comments about the car parking and room size. Our car park has a limited number of spaces given our proximity to the train station and our charge is in line with other major brands in the city, there are a number of options in the area beside the hotel should guests wish to park offsite when our hotels car park is full and my team are happy to point these out should they be required. All car parks in the area are well lit and many covered by CCTV as is ours.

I trust this information will assist in future and should you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing