We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really for a one night business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really for a one night business stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent three nights here during our recent tour. The weather was very hot and humid and our room on the 4th floor was rather small and stuffy. The air conditioning was noisy and when we opened the window the noise from the traffic was not at all pleasant nor was the noise of the seagulls. The room wasnot ready when we arrived at around 3,30pm and we had to wiat over 30 minutes before we were taken up tpo the room by a staff member, they couldn't provide us with a key card for the room as the computer was down and so we had to ask a member of staff to let us in until the computer was finally up and running again. We had B&B plus our evening meal on each evening. The breakfast was OK but the evening meal was poor, my husband found hairs in the meatballs we were served as a main course. The hotel appears tobe geared to lokking after business people who only want B&B.

Room Tip: Try to bookk a room overlooking the park as this should be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Catherine G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us and that both the food offering and service were not as you would have expected. We were in communication with the tour leader throughout your stay and were not made aware of any concerns by passengers, though are aware there were a number of communication issues between the travelling company and our hotel which were resolved on the first night regarding dining etc.

I have discussed the feedback received with our Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager who will review the food offering in line with your comments and make adjustments where necessary, though we cater for many groups over the year and have not received negative feedback regarding either service or the offering previously.

I also not the comments regarding the discovery of a foreign body in the food offering and would encourage you in future to advise a member of the team who would be happy to assist in replacing as Hilton takes the quality and safety of food served very seriously.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    844
    251
    70
    31
See reviews for
169
793
153
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

2 e-mails went unanswered followed by a slightly fractious phone call via the Hilton Worldwide customer service centre didn't exactly bode well for our first visit to the Hilton brand.

However, my pre-arrival requests which included an earlier check in were met and our first visit to a Hilton hotel was a very positive experience. Good, standard size room which fitted all our requirements - good bed, quiet position, in room safe and excellent bathroom facilities. Only a shower is offered which suits us perfectly but if you do this the shower system must be of a sufficient standard which this most certainly was.

For those arriving by train the hotel is in an excellent position for those who don't mind the walk - it is only about 10 minutes or so. Tip: Leave Temple Meads station by the exit marked 'Temple Quay', walk down the path, turn left into 'Friary' and walk to the end to join Temple Way. This cuts out out a fair chunk of the walk including a cobbled section outside the other exit.

The pre-arrival problem above was addressed during our stay and following completion of a standard hotel online survey - got a personal response from the hotel which I wasn't expecting.

An excellent stay in a very good hotel but please, please answer your e-mails. I hope our next experience in the new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo is equally as good - we have waived our favourite London Hotel to try this and hope we don't regret our decision!!

Room Tip: We had an 'Evolution Room' with a view of the park which had less noise - the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear PompeyTony,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to that overall your stay with us was as you would have expected and you enjoyed your time in the Bristol area.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had booked a grand double room overlooking garden, however the room we got given was a small twin overlooking the road, when going back to reception desk were told they had sold out of rooms and the only other one they had available was a small double still overlooking the road. All very clean and okay, though the room only had one towel. Also, may seem obvious to other people, but could not get the mac in the room to work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphirekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear sapphirekelly,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

It is important when our guests provide feedback on their experiences allowing us to review and refine processes and training to ensure we deliver exceptional service to each guest.

I am disappointed to read on this occasion you found our Queen Evolution Park View rooms to be smaller than you would have liked and that my team were unable to assist in moving you due to the bedrooms throughout the hotel being of very similar size and a mixture of queen, single and king sized beds.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

good hotel, centrally located off main road into Bristol, very near floating harbour. Good amenities, including free internet and Mac computer in room. Got the dinner bed and breakfast deal for £119 which was pretty good

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our room was quite compact, but adequate with a Queen size bed. The room was very clean and the furnishings and facilities were very good e.g. bathroom toiletries/iron and tea/coffee etc... There was a small fridge and an apple computer, which also doubled as the TV/Radio, excellent. Our room fronted the main road, so a little noisy with the window open. As it was a warm evening we shut it and put on the air conditioning and slept very well, the blackout curtains assisted perfectly. Nor were we disturbed by any corridor noise. Highly recommended for the location and facilities generally.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Gabrielle S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel was the ideal location for your stay in our city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here just one night , to do some shopping , nice position near shops and also near the river , there is a boat trip that goes up the river .
The hotel was comfortable , very clean , staff at desk were very helpful , it was our anniversary and they left two glasses of pink sparkling wine I our room .
Breakfast was good , self service.
Only down side was the price of parking £12 a night .
Otherwise all good .
J

Room Tip: No great views , I would ask for a large room ,ours was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear jandancer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we were able to assist you in celebrating your anniversary.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next stay in the Bristol area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed Friday for Bristol harbour festival - room immaculate, breakfast and service excellent, car park maybe pricey@ £12 but allowed to leave it there until mid afternoon after checkout, and Bristol seems expensive for car parks anyway. Very close to city centre would definitely go back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear martin f,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you found the hotel to be to your liking and the team and hotels cleanliness levels to be excellent.

I trust you enjoyed the Harbour Festival and we look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing