We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Break”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location, location, location this hotel has it exactly right with the New Temple Quay and train station over the road. Requested a quiet room and was placed on the back of the hotel which was good. Room small but very well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, iron, free wifi and a large screen Apple Mac. There was also a safe and fridge which could be stocked with your favourite items from reception. Breakfast was also included in the price and offered a wide variety of hot and cold options. Beds were extremely comfortable and offered and excellent nights sleep. Staff were very friendly - would definitely consider staying at this hotel again

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twolovers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Twolovers17,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be ideally located for your time exploring our wonderful city and our team to be so pleasant.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    871
    261
    73
    33
See reviews for
181
828
158
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there on business for one night in early July. Check in was OK, receptionist rang us about 20 mins after to make sure everything was OK which was a nice touch. The room itself was clean and adequate but not "spacious" as described on the website. The Apple media centre was a nice touch although the TV picture was blurry which was probably due to the graphics card. On the minus side the bathroom door would not lock and it took several goes to flush the toilet. £12 for car parking is also excessive. Can't comment on the food as we ate out. Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear William_Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you found the team and cleanliness at our hotel to be to your liking which is two of the main areas we can focus on to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I am disappointed to read you had problems with the iMac and the toilet flush and should this happen in future please do not hesitate to let us know and we will ensure this put right whilst you are with us, as all of the equipment and standards in the rooms are checked daily to ensure they are in perfect working order, though this does not remove the potential for anything to go wrong.

I note your comments regarding the parking charges and would like to advise that there is alternative car parking in the area which is a mixture of free and similarly priced to our own car park and our team will be happy to advise of alternatives should you find our price excessive.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The best points about this hotel are its location (especially with the new Temple Quay development and short cut to Temple Meads) and its very friendly staff. The breakfast was reasonable although only served until 10am on weekdays. The tea and coffee was sat stewing on a table and the tea tasted of coffee. Would be better if hot water was provided with tea bags.

The less good points were the street noise on Saturday night (even on the top floor) and some early morning maintenance work. The room was also not as comfortable as it could have been - pretty small with an out of proportion 'princess and the pea' type bed and two chairs taking up space. As leisure travellers, we would also have preferred a proper TV which you could turn off from the bed to the iMac.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear MartsAndMarts,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be so friendly and the location ideal for exploring our wonderful city.

I note your comments regarding the tea and coffee offering in our restaurant and will ensure your comments are passed to our Food and Beverage Manager and I will ensure the rooms are all checked to see that we have the iMac's remote control in place.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are very well travelled and one of things that we often find is that no matter good a hotel is, the noise can be unbearable from late nighters or early risers ... or the cleaners!! This hotel is the ONLY hotel WORLD WIDE, that we have stayed in, ranging from Africa to Borneo to Thailand to India etc... where the cleaners start cleaning at a reasonable time and you cannot hear a bean when you are in your room!! It is immaculate too.The food is brilliant value for money, particularly the set dinner; the staff - are so helpful, it is like something out of a book ... I am reluctant to rave too much, in case they get a huge influx and we cannot book again! But, we stayed here in July for and then back in August ... that's how amazing it is!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park and higher up are quietest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahclaireLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear SarahclaireLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read your kind words about the hotel and the team. I will ensure we pass your comments along to the team and recognise them for making your stay so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay in the coming months.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, UK
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good Location, very close to station, ferries, range of restaurants and the shops but no intrusive noise.

It's a modern bright airy building with clean, light and well equipped rooms. Having reliable WiFi was a blessing as well as the use of a large screen MAC! In room safe large enough for my laptop and other valuables was a bonus.

Bathroom had all the facilities one would want including good shower.

Did not eat there so cannot comment on the food.

The reception staff were all pleasant and efficient

It made for a relaxing long weekend - shame about the weather but you cannot blame the hotel for that!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Harrogate_Folk,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am deligthed to read you found our hotel to be the ideal base for your relaxing weekend in Bristol. I will ensure your kind words are passed along to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights and everything at the hotel was great. Rooms not huge, shower rooms small, but overall very comfortable. Breakfast was great, although we did pay extra for that. Quite a good location for getting about and convenient for the open-top bus!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am deligthed to read you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and found us to be ideally located for exploring our wonderful city.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall the hotel was great. Rooms were clean and had everything you might want. The staff were friendly and location fab. Our first night was very peaceful. The second evening a group of boys checked in (stag do?) and were extremely noisy shouting and slamming doors. The staff at reception were excellent when we asked to be moved, fearing what they might be like in the early hours of the morning! However, our new room was next to the lift so we spent all night listening to the lift mechanism. So a real mixed bag - can't blame the hotel for the other guests and they dealt with our request really well. However, they did have other hen/stag groups staying there too so if that's not your thing I might think twice about this place. Suggestion for the mgt team - perhaps have a quiet floor or co locate large groups on the same floors?

Room Tip: Don't take the room next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BerksTraveller44,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

I am delighted to read you found the team to be so friendly and the overall product and location to be to your liking.

Bristol has the pleasure of welcoming guests celebrating all types of events from stag and hen groups to birthdays given our cities rich night life. As a hotel we try to meet the needs of all our guests whatever reason brings them to Bristol and try our utmost to ensure we keep groups together and deal with any noise complaints immediately once we are advised.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to complete a review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing