We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel of this quality should be much more expensive!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hotel of this quality should be much more expensive!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I highly recommended this hotel to a colleague the other day and realised that I had never got around to posting a review on TA. I stayed for eight days B & B whilst working at Bristol airport in March. I selected the City Inn on the strength of the good reviews and my expectations were exceeded. The room was modern, stylish and spotless. (I agree with a recent review that I had the impression of being the first person to stay in the room.) I loved the I-mac (Free TV/Radio/Music/unlimited internet access all-in-one). If I'd known what an I-mac was beforehand I wouldn't have taken my laptop! The staff I interacted with, at check-in, the breakfast staff, the bar steward, to the maid who kept my room so immaculate, they were all without exception, very polite and friendly. Whilst waiting for my colleague at a seating area in reception one afternoon, even the manager, who introduced himself as Angus, asked if I was staying in the hotel, was I enjoying my stay, and if I wasn't completely satisfied with the service and facilities, and should I have any problems or complaints, to ask for him personally. I have rarely encountered such a high level of personal service in a hotel of this size. Considering I had to be away from home for over a week, I found it a proper home from home.
The central location of the hotel is good and is pretty easy to find. It is about a 5/10 min walk from the train station, and about a 5/10 walk to Corn St, King St or the waterfront (more bars, restaurants and clubs than you can shake a stick at). Parking is limited, but on the odd occasion I couldn't find a space, there is a reasonably priced pay and display right behind the hotel. As for a review saying the spaces are tight in the hotel carpark, I was driving the work's Honda Accord Estate which is a big beast, and I didn't have too much trouble!
Overall, I was extremely impressed with the hotel and surprised that it wasn't far more expensive. I look forward to staying there, or hotels in the same chain in other cities, in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod the dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    836
    249
    70
    29
See reviews for
167
786
148
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Booked through Laterooms for a two night Sat/Sun weekend shopping break - very pleased with price (room only). Used this hotel chain in Bristol and Birmingham and we've enjoyed our visits. Room in Bristol was small, but immaculate.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed here for the night for business purposes.
Quite a comfortable stay, good tv service and free wifi.

Dinner was pretty pricey for what you get, but breakfast was amazing (I had room service for both so not sure what the restuarant/bar was like).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

I am quite fussy when it comes to hotels, especially when it looks nice on the outside, only to be let down by the quality of the rooms. However, from the inside out, this hotel was brilliant. The hotel is located within 10mins walking distance of Bristol's shopping centre. There is parking (which is limited) on site. This is £8 per 24 hrs. However, if you are at the hotel during the weekend, it is free to park on the side street on a Sunday.

The hotel has 5 floors with a bar and restaurant. We asked to stay on the 5th floor so we couldn't hear the noise from the main road. The rooms are spacious with apple macs in every room, giving you free access to the internet, which is a bonus. The rooms and bathroom were both very clean. We had breakfast twice there. You can choose from an English breakfast, continental or both. Could not complain as the standard of food was very good.

The receptionist made us feel very welcome. No complaints at all and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussydeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Despite being part of a chain, this hotel illustrates exactly what a hotel experience should be about. Fundamentally, when I walk into a hotel room I should feel like I am the first person to stay in that room. That all the fixtures and fittings are intact and the bathroom and furnishings are clean and finished to a high standard. I have access to all the information from the local area and what most hotels charge as extras such as Internet Access are included in the price. When I have a problem, I am dealt with courteously and professionally by the hotel staff and that my stay in the hotel is uneventful so I can free to experience the place I am visiting and not have an experience at the place I am staying.

This Hotel has the details exactly right for a budget to intermediate traveller expecting a good standard of service and stay. Want more? Pay more - get less.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. The hotel kind of grew on me the longer I was into my stay.
I think it was obvious that all the staff, from the reception to the bar and restaurant and house duties, are being stretched to breaking point, but who can honestly say it's any different at the place where they're working at the moment.
The things I really liked where the rooms, location, fitness room, bar tender - he actually greeted with me using my name throughout the stay; I've never known this anywhere else I've stayed.
The 2 things I didnt like were that the bedding ie the duvet and pillows smelt a bit musty and should be replaced. And the carpark!!!!!! If you drive anything bigger than a dodgem car then you're gonna have fun here. And it costs £8 a day for the pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JezzaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Modern, clean, great location. A couple of staff were great, one not very friendly. No complaints about room at all. If anything the place was slightly souless but not dreadfully so. Generally no complaints and would use city inn, planning on using some of their other locations as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing