We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

This is the frist time I have stayed in a City Inn hotel. Great place, very clean and the staff were really friendly. Room was above my expectations and I will definately stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank grant_aileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    866
    255
    71
    32
See reviews for
175
821
157
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Stayed overnight at the City Inn on a Thursday night. Booked at corporate rate for work, so I didn't mind staying, but would have felt decidedly used paying £100 for a room this size if it had been my own money!

Arrived late following work, check in was slow and fairly uninspired. Guy didn't explain anything about breakfast and just stuck the room keycard in my hand, 2nd floor. No direction to the lifts ended up walking up the stairs.

Room was clean and with modern furnishings. Had small LCD TV and dvd player, also a hi fi system. Incredibly small though, like student accommodation. eg the small comfy chair was wedged between bed and wardrobe backing onto the bedside table..no room for anything else....

Bathroom was tiny! just room to stand on the floor between toilet and sink. Had shower cubicle no bath.

Some nice touches though; mini bar and snacks included some premium Green & Black Chocolate and Tyrell's crisps. Robe hanging in bathroom as standard.

Next morning lying in bed at 8am and heard the sound of a keycard in my lock..sure enough in started to walk the chambermaid! She ran out apolgising, but hadn't even knocked before attempting to enter!

Check out was as uninspiring as check in. Happened at a snails pace, guy was ok but dull, no conversation.

All in all....well if you want somewhere to sleep fine. Would only book it again if other options full, or if time allows I'll stay in Bath next time and just get the train 15 mins to bristol, much pleasanter option.

  • Liked — premium snacks in minibar
  • Disliked — room size, no bath, uninspiring slow reception
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Myself and 3 friends recently stayed at the City Inn for a hen weekend. The rooms are very nice as other comments have said, very modern with good facilities, but would agree the bathroom was too small. We booked two twin rooms on the same floor for our stay and when we arrived the only twin rooms they had were on different floors so we ended up with two doubles, luckly we've known each other for years!!

The hotel is modern and clean and the front of house staff are very pleasent so no complaints there.

We went into the bar for a drink before we went out but it was very dark and not very inviting, also drinks were expensive but we were only staying for one so no big deal.

The main complaint is the breakfast which we paid for as part of our stay. We got down to breakfast very early ont eh first morning and there was hardly anyone there. We ordered two cooked breakfasts and two toast and cerial. The toast and cerial was fine but after waiting over half an hour for the two cooked breakfast, which we were told 3 time were on there way we walked out with out it as we had plans for the day.

The next morning it was a bit later so it was a lot busier, this time we did get our cooked breakfasts but some of the order was wrong, one person ordered fried egg but it came out scrammbled, but not your usual scrammbled egg, it was a funny orange colour and looked really soggy and wet, not white and fluffy like it should be. She sent it back and it never re-appeared so she went without the breakfast she'd paid for two days in a row.
I think they are trying to hard to be a posh resturant when they don't have the man power to support that.

One last thing is the parking, £7.50 for 24hours is a bit steep when your already paying to stay there, but there are cheaper car parks just minutes from the hotel, there is one just aroud the back.

All in all the hotel is very nice and the beds are lovely and big, the rooms are well looked after and very clean, the only thing that lets it down is the food.

  • Liked — Very clean rooms, comfy beds
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roxy8203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

Booked six rooms for a stag do in Bristol, although I live in Bristol, several friends were travelling over, so I stayed over as well. Rooms were some of the cheapest we could find in Bristol, and they were fantastic. Great showers, clean rooms, a good english breakfast included. Ticked all the right boxes and would throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

As a business traveller I spend most of the week in various hotels around the country. Some large chains and many independents. We chose this hotel for a weekend family break based upon competitive pricing and it's apparently good reviews, a sort of busman’s holiday if you like.

The rooms are a modern contemporary design, clean and well serviced. The room sizes and in particular the shower room are very small compared to those of most hotel chains, the layout being a little unconventional. The wardrobe is in a far corner which makes access difficult and there is nowhere to land and unpack a case, except either the cluttered floor of the crisp white duvet. If you have two cases you will be falling over them constantly. The promised champagne upon arrival did not materialise. This is included in the 'Lazy Sundays' package.

The bar is functional but its design is not welcoming. Whilst attempting to be cutting edge contemporary, and yes it is very smart, all ambience is lost. There were twenty or so people in the bar and we still had a long wait for a barman to appear. After the small party at the bar decided to move on, the floor of the whole bar area was mopped down around us whilst we sat and watched at 5pm, even though they clearly left no mess. We spent our beer tokens elsewhere.

Breakfast was disappointing. Most disappointing was the cost. With the Lazy Sundays package, there is no breakfast, only a buffet lunch, and incredibly breakfast is charged extra. Presumably we late risers don't expect to eat.

After speaking with the Manager it would appear that something different is on offer to the weekday business clients which is odd. During the weekends the food is buffet style. There was no toast on offer; it is cooked on request and badly at that. Slightly warmed and soggy bread is not toast, I prefer to toast my own, and several guests complained. The entire full English menu was dried up and the serving implements confused and messy. Scrambled eggs cooked with cream were peculiar and very spicy sausages are not to many people’s taste either, it would seem. The restaurant manager was receptive to comments but didn't actually offer to put right any of the issues raised which was a missed opportunity. Instead I was referred to front of house again.

Now, the most annoying part of having to complain is when none of the staff even know the contents of their own package deals.
Three people, two managers and front of house do not know the pricing structure at all. A follow up phone call during the week to the duty manager confirmed this; again, they clearly have no idea what they are selling.

We took a 'Lazy Sundays' upgrade (£110) at a cost of £45 over a standard room only rate of £65. B&B was being charged at £69.

Now, here is the anomaly.
With this package there is no included breakfast only a buffet Sunday lunch which retails at £18.50 per head (£37 /couple)
So, in effect you are paying £8 more for this 'deal' than if you booked a room only and lunch separately.
Bizarre? Yes, even the staff thought so.

Apparently you can have breakfast instead of the lunch but as this is clearly valued at £4 per head why on earth would you do this? No breakfast is going to cost you £18.50 per head, so it's simply ludicrous to suggest this as an option.

Personally, having a checkout time of 2.5hrs later, a tiny box of cheap chocolates and a glass of champagne (even if it had arrived) would not encourage me to pay the extra £8.

I can’t wait for next week where myself, and my daily business, return the known quality and no nonsense approach of the Intercontinental Hotel group (Holiday Inn). Not always perfect, but at least they do try.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The complete lack of staff knowledge
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Plutonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I recently spent two nights in Bristol - my first night was at the City Inn. Overall, it was a very nice hotel. The staff at reception was quite friendly and helpful. My room was a good size, very clean. The bed was very comfortable! The only downfall of the room was the size of the bathroom - it was very small. However, it was still nice enough, just a bit difficult to move around in the bathroom. The hotel offers FREE wireless internet! I wish all hotels did this! They also have a nice service - a library of cds and dvds to use in the stereos and dvd players in the guest rooms. I didn't use this service, so I can't describe it from personal experience, but sounds like a nice idea from what they told me at reception. The location was good - a short walk from Temple Meads train station (about 5 or 7 minutes). However, one problem is that there really isn't much directly around the hotel in terms of restaurants, banks, etc. You really have to walk into town for most of that, which is about a 15 minute walk, I believe. Not too bad, but a bit of an inconvenience. The food at the restaurant and through room service was a bit expensive, especially compared with the other 4 star hotel I stayed at for my second night in Bristol. Overall, a very nice hotel, and I would say you couldn't really go wrong with it. However, I did prefer the hotel I stayed at the second night... it was the same price for a bigger room and bathroom, and breakfast included (it was not included at City Inn).

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tarebearky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Just back from a 1-night weekend stay at the City inn Bristol. Although we don't know Bristol well, we were able to find the hotel very easily in the car and parking was no problem (be aware they've just introduced a £7.50 /24 hour charge, whereas it used to be free).

Our room on the top floor looked out over the main road but I have to say the soundproofing was great, no exterior noise at all in the room. We loved the modern decor, very much our taste and the furnishings were all clean and stylish. Nice, spotlessly clean bathroom with power shower. Bed very comfortable maybe a bit soft for some people though.

As we were going to a concert at the Academy we decided to eat in the City Cafe bar at 6pm (main restaurant not open until 7pm). We were the first customers to order food that evening and the chef had just arrived so it took some time for the food to come, but the waitress kept us informed and the food was fantastic when it came, way beyond what you might normally expect in a bar. Reasonable prices too.

We asked for a late check-out in advance and this was no problem at all. Breakfast sent up to the room was of a good standard apart from a few minor errors on the order.

Overall a very relaxing experience and a thoroughly professional set-up. We would stay here again any time.

  • Liked — Stylish, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing