We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A conveniently located modern hotel which offered excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We both thought that the Mint Hotel offered exceptional value for our 3 night B&B stay. It was only a five minute walk from Temple Meads station and ten minutes from the main shopping/tourist areas. The hotel is reasonably modern, clean and bright with a pleasant dining area and bar. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts offered reasonable choice in both English and continental versions and we certainly wouldn't quibble given the price. The room was of reasonable size, comfortable and well equipped; the free computer/internet access was a bonus.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

A last minute change to travel arrangements due to appalling weather conditions found me booked in at the Mint, less than five minutes walk from Temple Meads station. I opted for Mint because I'd dined (well) here on a previous business trip. Check-in was hampered by 'the computers being very slow at this time of day', reception staff were very professional and charming though. The restaurant was completely booked by a party so the hotel had lifted the tray charge for room service - which seemed reasonable for a solo traveller but I'd have been disappointed to dine in my room otherwise. The room was however very well styled, Mac TV and slick facilities. Catering was exceptionally good and good value, highly recommend.

Breakfast was buffet-style for a wide range of cold options and a very good cooked breakfast to order. Check-out was seriously delayed due to a huge group of cyclists (complete with bikes) clogging up reception for 20 minutes. Reception staff were, again, very apologetic, however, unless this group turned up on spec - which seems unlikely - can't help but feel that the hotel management was remiss in not making advance arrangements for checkout. Subject to group bookings, and the hotel's ability to manage them, I'd have no reservation in staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Really lovely hotel, pleasant, helpful staff and a gorgeous breakfast. All rooms have apple mac computers which is a real plus. The room was well furnished with very comfortable beds and was spotless. The bathroom was a good size with a good shower, large towels and dressing gowns. Breakfast was very substantial with all the usual things but also freshly made muesli and lots of fresh fruit, service was excellent. A very comfortable stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank she13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Great stay at this hotel. Very modern look and feel but still comfortable.
It's a 10min walk from the main square but nice to be in a quiet part of town. everything is within walking distance.
i would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnionLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We booked via laterooms.com and were not disappointed whatsoever. The room was lovely, modern, clean and comfortable. The I-Mac was an absolute bonus aswell. Loved the White Company products we had in our bathroom and the power shower was just lush, lovely big fluffy towels aswell. The bed was so comfortable too did not want to get up the next day! Liked the check in and check out times aswell - suited us perfectly. Staff were friendly and helpful. Can highly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looby1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

On first appearances the hotel seemed clean and comfortable. it was ruined by uninterested staff with limited social skills. the location is nowhere near any of the bars/restaurants/tourist areas.
Do not use the lifts if anyone else is in there. there we 8 of us in a lift that stated maximum capacity of 13. After becoming stuck in the hot, confined space, we buzzed the emergency bell for 15 mins and the door opened. Expecting concerned staff i was dismayed to hear the only thing said was "it was overloaded" by a sullen member of staff to her colleague. myself and another lady had become very distressed being stuck in a confined space and this was the last thing we expected to hear. i would have gone back to the room for a cup of tea, however there were only 2 regular teabags for our two night stay. Everything seemed to be in a strange place, we never did discover where the hairdryer was! the room was hot and it was very noisy.
We were charged for breakfast which we had not had. they also attempted to charge us for two days car parking when we had only used the car park for one day.
I wouldn't waste your money and stick with the budget hotels (unless you specifically want two in one shamppo and conditioner form the white company!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed here for two nights - comfortable, quiet room. The Mac in the room and the free internet connection was a big bonus. Breakfast was included in the rate and good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £56 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing