We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal at this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visit The Blaise Restaurant at The Henbury Lodge hotel every year for my birthday with a friend, and every year I receive the same superb food and excellent service but never write a review. So here goes.....the homemade bread and marinated olives were complimentary to the meal and were so deliciously fresh and charmingly rustic. The bread is cut in front of you on the counter in the restaurant so you know just how fresh it is. Brilliant idea! We had smoked and beet root cured salmon which was really lovely, followed by the most huge, succulent lamb shank in a fantastic jus. I struggled to eat it all so had to take breaks as I didn't want to leave any!! My friend had duck which was perfectly cooked to her taste. Roasted potatoes and mixed veg on the side were so good too. We finished this with a mouth watering homemade chocolate mousse. It was so light and fluffy that it was easy to manage and went down a treat! The waitress, Tunde, is efficient and very pleasant. She has a quiet manner and seems to glide around the restaurant seeing to everyone's needs. Thanks to the fabulous chef, Paul, we could eat your delicious dishes every night of the week! This restaurant is highly recommended by me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    178
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
223
31
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff so friendly and helpful. Food also to a very high standard. Room (1) very good space and comfortable and although a little noisy did not bother me. If I needed to stay in the area again I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllyEll19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

From arrival to checkout we had a fantastic stay.
The staff were fantastic, always a smile, always a hello .
We were in room 2, a lovely large bedroom overlooking the immaculate gardens .
The bathroom was very modern with excellent facilities, large bath and the most powerful shower I have ever seen.
Breakfast was awesome, good homemade ingredients , homemade hand, marmalade and my favourite lemon curd.Good meaty sausages and tasty bacon all well presented.
There was a small bar and a very comfy lounge to relax in.
We decided to have dinner in on one night in their two rosetted restaurant.
The food was excellent, tasty, well presented and portions just the right size.
This hotel has a very accomplished chef.
Out of interest I decided to have the ice cream tasting plate, the best homemade ice cream I have ever had and what a combination of flavours , the sample plate was a selection of nine different flavours.
When I need to visit Bristol again the only hotel I will stay in is Henbury Lodge.
The hotel is privately owned and the staff are so keen for you to have a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful setting and the building itself has retained its original charm despite having modern elements The room was excellent - comfortable and clean. The bathroom was modern, spacious with a fantastic digitised power shower. The staff were friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere was relaxing and very different to the usual hustle and bustle of a city centre location. The centre of Bristol is a 15 mins drive away but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Blaise castle estate is across the road and a great place for a walk. Blaise hamlet is a pretty group of cottages designed by John Nash and well worth visiting. Only five mins walk. The hotel is pricey but you do get value for money

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptipp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A really lovely building, with friendly staff and a cracking breakfast. Wifi worked and a half decent TV in the room. Location is not bad at all. A little pricey relative to other options but everything is relative. I would certainly recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blueskychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
4.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
Address: Station Road | Henbury, Bristol BS10 7QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bristol
#1 Business Hotel in Bristol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish country house hotel in Bristol offers spacious rooms, an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and large gardens. Housed in a Georgian building, each room at the friendly Henbury Lodge has a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels, tea and coffee facilities and an iPod dock. The AA-Rosette Blaise Restaurant offers a menu that changes monthly, serving locally sourced seasonal produce with daily specials. On fine evenings during the summer months a BBQ menu including fish, sirloin steaks and salads is frequently offered in the walled garden. Cooked-to-order breakfasts include local farm bacon and sausages, Cornish kippers, fresh orange juice and homemade marmalade. Segafredo Premium Bean to cup coffee is also served. There is free ample parking in the grounds of Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel. The hotel has been under new ownership since April 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henbury Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing