We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, interactive and fun day out !!”
Review of At-Bristol

At-Bristol
Ranked #6 of 194 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is so much to discover for all the family with At-Bristol!With hundreds of hands-on exhibits to explore, live shows and a Planetarium, At-Bristol is one of the UK’s biggest and most exciting interactive science centres.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, interactive and fun day out !!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I visited in August 2011 with my son who is 8. We had a really super day, hands on with lots of fun experiments to try, including launching your own rocket, making a hot air balloon fly, high speed camera slo-mo jumps, to name but a few! The Animate it section was also excellent. My son made his own animation film and numerous tracings of his favourite Aardman characters. The Shaun the Sheep 'Championsheeps' was also great fun with lots of games and activites to join in with. We attended the Planitarium show which I would recommend (only £1 pp). Look out for the ticket scanners on lots of the areas as this allows you to save the films/pics you make and email them to view at home. We used the First Great Western trains 2-4-1 ticket offer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank bluesnaily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    355
    92
    23
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great wet weather attraction, even our 2 year old enjoyed!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We took our 2 year old here as it was a wet Sunday & we wanted to do something fun!

Althought I'd say children should ideally be about 5 onwards to fully understand, he enjoued launching his own Rocket, playing in the Jungle & Dessert area, the Skeleton & mimics your movements, Planetarium, and much more! He was free & adults were approx £12 so it was good value for money.

We spent an hour or so downstairs then had a coffee in the cafe attached & then headed upstairs for an hour or so.

Good value for money, you could spend longer if your children were older, and I would visit without children as lots of interesting things to do.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Keeps kids interested in science.”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My daughter keep on about this after going with brownies. Glad she did great day out. We got the park and ride (stops right out side) no hassle with parking. Even better my wife went shopping so we could so all the activity together. Very helpful members of staff who are all passionate about the centre. All so good that they have a pick nick area so you can take your own food but the caffe is very reasonable and clean. Well done Bristol

Helpful?
Thank Sstmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Boys (aged 4 and 12) both really loved it”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We really enjoyed our visit to @Bristol - it was a bit pricey but both the boys enjoyed themselves. We had to split up because of the age difference between the boys - but they were both entertained for the whole of our visit.

Loads of buggy parking for the tinies, loos were nice and clean, activities and interactive exhibits were nearly all working well (quite an achievement when you have hundreds of kids a day thumping buttons and not reading instructions!).

Only downsides? Cafe was not great, but we went to a costa round the corner and the day ticket let us back in. Also there were quite a few free range kids in there who barged to the front of queues seemingly without parents to stop them - but this isn't really the fault of the museum!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank KJX35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant interactive attraction for all the family”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

If you (or your kids!) like science and exploring then you'll love a day at @Bristol. There is plenty to see and do, especially if the weather outside isn't great. The new human body exhibits on the ground floor are spectacular and very educational for enquiring minds; we enjoyed the personal bar code technology that enables you to relive your personal experiences on the internet when you get back home. Great cafe too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gold-furlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed At-Bristol also viewed

 

Been to At-Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing