We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Special”

Avon Valley Railway (AVR)
Ranked #39 of 206 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bristol and Bath's heritage steam railway, offering a six mile round trip which takes passengers along sections of the old Midland Railway, providing a chance to see the magnificent River Avon Valley from a unique viewpoint.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Santa Special”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We went on the Santa special on Saturday with a 3 year old grandson.He loved it and can not wait to go again.

Everything was so well organised .Santa talked the children and my grandson was thrilled with his present a garage .

As he can not eat the biscuits ,he was given a big pot of fruit which he loved.

We were able to get out at the end of the line to see the engine and take a photograph with Santa before the return journey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    105
    31
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santa Special on a Steam Train”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visited the Santa Special today with our 3 daughters. We all absolutely loved it! It's really well organised and the volunteers are so friendly. We really enjoyed the minced pies and the chocolate biscuits. The kids all received great quality presents from Santa and it really has put us all in the Christmas spirit! We'll definitely be back next year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank k8tam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We took my 2 year old on the Santa trip and he, and all the family, loved it. The present from Santa was great value and the mince pies were delicious. All the staff were extremely kind and helpful and we definitely will be returning next year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Santa on a steam train a must”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Each year my grandchildren want only the train ride to see Santa, they love it and get good presents, putting them into their Crimbo spirit, a well organised trip, mince pies or choc coated biscuit to top. See you next year Avon valley

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast in a railway carriage on a Sunday morning is just perfect”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Visited with my family a couple of weeks ago. Had a great breakfast perfectly cooked, plenty of it and it arrived quickly. Followed by a brief walk along the track to take in the sights and watch the train leave it was a perfect start to the morning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisso_moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Valley Railway (AVR) also viewed

 

Been to Avon Valley Railway (AVR)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing