We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to get around.”

Bristol Ferry Boats
Ranked #1 of 4 Transportation in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to get around.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The day to day run of the ferry is as a commuter vessel serving the sites along the river in Bristol. It is not as some people seem to think from the comments a tourist boat trip. However I was offered a commentary on my way up to Temple Meads by the woman on the boat which I declined as I was more interested in looking at things myself. To get from point A to B this is a great way to travel, especially if the sun is out. The boats travel at a nice pace and the staff are very friendly and helpful letting you know where they are stopping and expelling the routes and timetables, as well as aiding other people with limited mobility or those with pushchairs. I paid £5 for a student all day ticket which meant I could hop on and off as I pleased and there are other discounts available for caravan club members, staying at the campsite and the elderly. Very pleasant experience all round, just make sure you are using the correct company, these are the blue and yellow boats with the little ferry flags on the front which are the actual Bristol Ferry Boats. They also offer trips which are more suited to tourists with commentaries and these it seems have to be booked in advance with details online.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee231205x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    272
    36
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent way to see the city of Bristol”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We bought a day ticket for £5 (OAP concessions) and we could hop on and hop off any of the ferries in this group, whereever we decided to go. What good value and what a good way to see how the city of Bristol has been developing over the years. Easy way to travel too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing, west sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“such fun”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved that you could flag them down and hop on. The staff running them were friendly and helpful on some of the hottest days of the year so far. They were knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip on town”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We purchased 2 day ferry pass in conjunction with Hop On Hop Off on 12 June 14. The service was excellent and punctual. Big thanks to Rosie, Lou and Wil on the Majestic ferry they made the trip lots of fun and were very helpful and informative...go girls

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good regular ferry service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We live on the Harbourside and regularly use the ferry to go into City Centre and back. Don't really understand some of the comments about commentaries and information as this is a ferry service not a harbour tour.

Bristol Ferry boats and other Companies provide harbour tours with commentaries and if this is what you require then don't use the normal ferry service.

Normally the crews will help any passenger with information about where to get off for the interesting sights or a waterside drink.

A very good ferry service by the yellow and blue ferries that currently operate 3 times an hour

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bristol Ferry Boats also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Ferry Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing