We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant boat trip”

Bristol Packet Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bristol Packet Boat Trips provide Harbour Tours, River Cruises and Boat Parties. We also provide special educational trips with commentary's that can be adapted to suit the requirements of the group.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant boat trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

A brilliant time had by all on the boat trip today, in beautiful weather. Learnt tonnes about bristol - really interesting and entertaining.
Would recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    46
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor / no service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Went today for the boat trip - phoned first asking if running today - leaving a message as no answer.
After parking went to do the trip to find no boat arrived, so decided to go for lunch instead. Returned at 2.50 for the 3 pm trip - again no boat arrived. Called the office again to be now told not running today and I should have read signs - POOR service as there were no signs - let the other 2 couples waiting know not running who had also had been hanging around for the boats.
Very rude on the phone too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing and informative.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband, small baby and I had a lovely relaxing 45 minute cruise around the harbour. The crew were extremely helpful and informative about the sights we passed. On a sunny day this is a great way to spend a bit of time in the heart of the city yet away from the hurly burly. The cafe/bar by the jetty is also excellent and we ended up having coffee and cake before the trip and lunch after the trip, in there. Then later in the afternoon returned for a cool drink as the location is so nice!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed with '45 minute' harbour tour”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went on the 45 minute round trip of the harbour on Sunday. We were unimpressed as it felt like we spent 15 of the 45 minutes just going to another terminal to pick up more customers. When the new customers got on the boat it was way too busy, there were just enough seats and that was with about 8 people standing at the front of the boat. It felt more like commuting rather than sightseeing. The seats were narrow, uncomfortable and faced inwards so you had to kneel on them to see out the windows. Once we got underway the boat didn't go very far, we saw everything that we had seen on short walks earlier in the afternoon. The tour guide was adequate but I wasn't enthralled by the facts and there was no drama to the stories; I think one or the other is required. Overall, I felt it was a poor experience, even for the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A classic Bristol experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had some people come in from overseas for a visit and we wanted to give them a fun way to see the city. We opted for the 3 hour boat trip starting from SS Great Britain and going all the way to Avonmouth. Luckily the weather was really lovely that day and we all had a wonderful time. The guides informed us about the sites we were passing from the floating harbour, to the suspension bridge, and through the Avon Gorge.

It's a great way to see Bristol - the modern city juxtaposed with the natural river and rocks of the gorge. It's a bit pricey at about £15 each (£60 in total for four of us); however, it's worth it for a special occasion. The boat itself was comfortable and even served drinks at a bar for an even more pleasant trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MayaKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bristol Packet Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Packet Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing