We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
A nice half day sailing trip

A great birthday or anniversary treat. we did the fish and chip lunch trip but they also do a cream... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Libralass
,
Bristol
Step back in time

Free to go on the Matthew when docked very quaint Ship people on board to tell about the ship... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2018
Julie L
Read all 239 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bristol
from US$163.14
More Info
from US$326.27
More Info
from US$163.14
More Info
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
140
72
20
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
72
20
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john cabot hour trip sailing ship beautiful ship small ship fish and chip supper below deck ss great britain wonderful trip run by volunteers avon gorge free entry free attraction floating harbour spend an afternoon suspension bridge replica
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Joined The Matthew for a cream tea trip and was sorely disappointed by the unfriendly service and terrible value. Many guests on board were made to feel unwelcome and commented on the rude staff. Quite frankly we’re embarrassed to be locals if this is what visitors experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

we were team building helped by the very knowldgable and friendly staff volunteer staff on board, great experience

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank I9037EQml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

A great trip on this local much loved attraction around the harbour side. A different way to see this part of the city. Knowledgeable crew, ease of access, and a delightful, smooth ride. This attraction is available to hire for parties, wedding receptions etc. There are also longer trips available down the River Avon. Fish and Chip trips, and cream tea trips.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Fantastic 4 hours with very knowledgable crew who made the whole trip wonderful. Would definitely do this again. Took our own packed lunch and drinks on board were reasonably priced.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank carolpaul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We took our 7 year old grandson for a trip on the Matthew during the first week of the school holidays. We all really enjoyed it, especially the 7yr old who still talks about it constantly. He loved the pantomime- plenty of jokes, costumes, stories and comedy with a couple of baddies to liven things up! it was a very enjoyable hour long trip around the harbour and on one of the hottest days of a very hot summer, was a fun cool way to appreciate both the ship and the lovely scenery.

The staff were all very friendly and informative, the enthusiasm of Captain Barnacle himself was very infectious with adults and children alike enjoying the performance from start to finish.

We fully intend to take a longer trip as soon as we can.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Lyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews