We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great movies”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Watershed

Watershed
Ranked #12 of 56 Fun & Games in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watershed is a social enterprise and a registered charity. We occupy the first floor of a historic Grade II listed building at the entranceway to Bristol's Harbourside. In the building you will find three cinemas, a large, light and airy Café/Bar, flexible conference and events spaces and the Pervasive Media Studio, our research space which brings together a network of over 100 artists, technologists and academics to explore the future of mobile and wireless media. With our customers, audiences and participation at the heart of our organisation we produce and present original ideas and content and curate a diverse programme of talent development, cinema exhibition, events and festivals.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great movies”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The price is right for matinees, a little expensive otherwise. The movies they show are not always first run, but their repertory is really good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    117
    29
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location,good inde films in a great space”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We popped in one afternoon and caught a great independent movie. Cinema has 3 screens but the building boasts much more, also includes an interesting cafe with great views over the harbour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watershed M, Public Relations Manager at Watershed, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your great feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely venue and interesting market”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We came across the Watershed on our trip to Bristol and had a superb and very reasonably priced breakfast there and a beautiful view across the waterfront. They also had a great range of films and events. Outside the Watershed is a very interesting weekend market (small local independents) and we found some rather gorgeous pieces of jewellery, lovely children's puppets and great book stalls and ended up doing a whole load of unplanned Christmas shopping there! We plan a return visit so that we can try out more of the Watershed's excellent food and do our Christmas shopping in the same pleasant and relaxed style as our first visit there. Recommend it for excellent food, lovely day out and reasonably priced and good quality presents. You Bristolians are so lucky!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a very popular place for seeing quality films and eating with friends before or afterwards, or just meeting up without the cinema experience. We were there at a film event. Eating in the cafe bistro was a bit mixed, but overall I was a little disappointed by the quality and quantity of the food. It was just ok. I also think it would have been great if they had offered breakfast fare earlier than 10am, even 9.30 would have been good. I'd have liked to have been able to have some toast or croissants, but these didn't seem available unless you were ordering other things and later on. Anyway, I wouldn't rush to eat there, I would only do so for the convenience of meeting before a film in a nice, buzzy venue. But the film experience was excellent and the staff friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stercks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A magnificent place to be in Bristol, for many reasons”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

There is not enough I can say about the Watershed. Wonderful harbourside location, in itself fantastic. Regular films, often foreign, independent and international films which are not readily accessible in other places. The watershed hosts events such as renowned speakers in the Bristol Festival of Ideas. There is also a bar and restaurant. The food is very tasty.

This place is a must visit in Bristol.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinglearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watershed also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Watershed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing