We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful older building updated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifton House
Ranked #6 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Beautiful older building updated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Clifton House while doing a university visit. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. Our only issue was that it was awkward to go up three steps to the bathroom which meant that there was a chance when getting up from the toilet of falling down those steps. The location was perfect for us and the neighborhood is charming. We did seem to stump the staff when we asked for a recommendation for a good Indian restaurant and the directions: Go left and it is in Clifton Village: might work for some but for those of us who had never been there was a bit nebulous. Breakfast was delicious with a daily special each day or a full English breakfast along with a table with a continental breakfast laid out. Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb too many stairs, ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arpc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    139
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
82
155
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ingleby barwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

clifton house is clean and the bed was comfortable . the shower was more like a trickle rather than a lovely hot shower , breakfast was nice . its a b&b and has no personel touch to it . we stayed over a bank holiday and breakfast times were ammended with only a 45 min window for breakfast . no lift and we were on the top floor the shower tiles had some mould on them

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good location near the university with very friendly service. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Our particular standard double room was a bit snug, but had good amenities. My husband particularly liked the hot chocolate included with the tea and coffee tray! The bed was very comfortable and the window overlooked a quiet street.

The condition of the room was let down a bit by the cleanliness of the shower - some mould on the shower head and on the lower half tile grouting, which could easily be gotten rid of with a good clean. It wasn't a huge amount - not a bit enough problem for me to demand an additional clean considering we were only staying one night, but it was noticeable enough to be a bit disappointing... I marked cleanliness down on my ratings only because of the shower condition was not what I would consider 'average' compared to other hotels of similar classification; I expected more as the rest of the hotel was definitely at a higher standard. However, the good bits of the stay made up for this small disappointment.

The price was good value for the area, particularly considering the FABULOUS cooked breakfast in the morning - the scrambled eggs were just about the best I've ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our room away from the front of the hotel as the window was to a nice and quiet street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandGretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Location is superb (university, schools, BBC, hospitals, city sights and good life), the Victorian building is beautiful and comfortable, the staff efficient and friendly. The free parking in the heart of Clifton is the icing on the cake. Can't fault it so I would stay again whenever in Bristol and can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great room, great breakfast, great parking, great location. We had a family room which was very comfortable. Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and really good. All in all, a very good experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

From the moment I stepped into the hotel I could tell that they clearly took care of the place and that it had a hell of a lot of character but because the building is quite old it has those quirks that come along with it, the stairs tilt a bit so if you’re a bit unsteady on your feet make sure to hold on to the bannister. I did think it was a bit weird that no one offered to help me with my bag especially as I was on the top floor (2nd floor) but it wasn’t too big a deal so I didn’t really care too much.

The room and en-suite were both quite small (I booked a double room) but as I was staying by myself I didn't really care. I have to mention though that only one thing let it down, when I lifted up the lid of the toilet I was hit by a waft of odour. It wasn’t from waste but I think from the water itself, really not pleasant but as long as the lid was down there’s no problem. There isn’t double glazing on the windows but that didn’t bother me at all, maybe that was because there wasn’t much traffic but really I don’t know. The walls between the walls were a little bit thin and I could hear vaguely what was happening in them but it was at a low volume so it was very bearable. The shower was lovely, quite powerful and I had as much hot water as I needed.

I hope this review helped but if you want a fuller one I wrote about my stay here: http://www.plusmylifestyle.com/hotel-review-clifton-house-hotel-bristol

Room Tip: The stairs are a little bit uneven and steep and there's no lift so if you think you'll have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay here and I would agree with the average rating by guest to date of 4* (very good). I stayed in a small room which was downstairs. It was compact, but perfectly comfortable and the price of the room reflected the room size. I was coming and going a lot in the hotel and I came across many different staff members, all of whom were very friendly and welcoming. I would certainly recommend this hotel to other people and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Property: Clifton House
Address: 4 Tyndalls Park Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hotel style, bed and breakfast accommodation at a fraction of the cost. With free breakfast, on site parking and wifi all included in our rates. Only a 10 minute walk away from Bristol's City Centre, Clifton Village and Whiteladies' Road and only a 5 minute walk away from the BBC and Bristol University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clifton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Bristol
Tyndalls Park Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing