We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Had a great stay fro my friend's hen do, the reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the female receptionist stayed on the phone to direct me to the hotel for quite a while and when I arrived she was very friendly and natural. The male member of staff was also very nice and collected a few items that I needed straight away. The hotel was a good location and the rooms were a very good size and very reasonable, the hen had a lovely room with a big fireplace and there was room for all us to sit and have drink before the night out. The hotel is in a very good location for some nice pubs and restaurants, and the rooms were clean and tidy. Handy car park round the back of the hotel too! I would stay there again for sure!!

Room Tip: The downstairs room in the adjacent building was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! I have passed on your kind comments to the staff. Guest satisfaction is our main priority so it is great to read such positive feedback. We hope you to see you again when next visiting Clifton!

Kind regards,

Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

After reading earlier reviews was pleasantly surprised. We had a split stay and had asked for a quiet room for my elderly mother and were booked in the 2nd building on the main floor, so dealt with few stairs.They had booked the same room for our 2nd half without me asking which was considerate.
Appreciated them keeping the lovely Victorian decor...added to the charm..while providing modern amenities. Clean, bright spacious twin room, very comfy beds with crisp sheets and lovely duvet , very nice clean modern shower , tea /coffee/biscuits, hairdryer, ironing board and tv in room, and extra pillows and blankets in closet. I drink decaf coffee and one day it was not replenished but immediately provided upon asking at the front desk.
Right across from Victoria Park...lovely setting and an interesting and lovely walkway through an old graveyard behind. Bus at door, Hop on Hop off bus stop (would recommend this informative tour) small car park which we did not use but nice to have I'm sure and lots of street parking. Short walk to picturesque Clifton village with lots of shops and restaurants, and a convenience store just up the street.
Enjoyed their good and plentiful full hot breakfasts, yogurts, granola, fresh fruits, pastries, although the poached eggs tend to get overcooked the longer they sit. Just a small point. Nice basket of jam and spreads selection on the table.
My only complaint would be that breakfast would be extended until 10 am, and that there be seating by a hostess. For those on holiday it is too early to have breakfast done by 9 am if
you are having a leisurely holiday, although it is extended to 9:30 on weekends.
One weekend morning they were very busy and we were waiting for tables to be cleaned before sitting down. Another couple strolled in past those waiting in line and sat down ahead of others. A hostess would have prevented this.
The waitresses seemed to be trying to clean tables, work in the kitchen and serve coffee all at once and there was no method to greeting or seating people. They seemed quite harried as it was just prior to their cutoff time and there were few vacant but dirty tables.
Staff was friendly and attentive when things were not so chaotic.Even though we were not seated until nearer to the cutoff time, there was adequate hot food available, though the pastries,bread ,yogurt and fruit selection were minimal, but I'm sure would be provided if you asked.
Very slow toasters..put it in before you get your breakfast and then still have to wait. No worries about burning it!
We were out for dinners at night so cannot comment on this.
I would not hesitate to stay again. Charming spot and easy transport links.

Room Tip: Main floor twin in second building very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is in a nice area with lots of similar properties. Mostly sandstone georgian buildings. The hotel is two separate buildings next to each other. We stayed in a twin room on the top floor of the building next to the main hotel. We were close to a park at the front and a grave yard at the back . Car park very small , we managed to get a parking space at the back of the hotel, because that is where the sat nav took us! The room was clean , large and had a nice sized bathroom , shower enclosure but no bath. Water pressure not brilliant but we survived! After a great night's sleep in a comfy bed, we had to go across to the main hotel for our breakfast. There was a lot of choice, continental or full English, cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt, really spoilt for choice! We had an attentive waiter who served our coffee with a smile. The restaurant is only open from 7-9am and 7-9pm . The evening meal was o k, I had the salmon tagliatelle and my son had the soup of the day. (Tomato) . All the staff were very helpful and gave us lots of suggestions for places to visit , even supplied a map of the local area so we could find our way around. The shops are a five to ten minute walk away, the bus stop is just outside. We visited the museum which was a great way to spend the afternoon! We would definitely use this hotel again as it was great value for money and very conveniently situated.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are away from the main road, so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesomeaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our main priority, so I am very pleased that you found all the staff to be helpful & that you slept well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when next visiting Clifton!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I came here with my family for a three night stay. Well, I know it is a two star, but basic housekeeping has to be maintained surly?

The bathrooms were small, with dirt in the shower trays and mould growing on the ceiling. My parent’s bathroom smelt like sewage.

Food was diabolical - wrong or no cutlery at breakfast. We ate here for dinner one evening as we were tired, and what a mistake that was. Waitress spilt wine all over my mother, the dining room was too bright and not atmospheric atal, and my father got up and dimmed the lights ourselves. We had to ask for bread and butter and the meals were unseasoned and cold.

The staff, well we never saw a management presence the entire time. The receptionist was rude and aloof, more interested in her nails then us and never got up out of her seat! The older night porter was friendly and helpful.

Area - well it was opposite a nightclub could hear the music till 2-3am on Saturday night. Otherwise very close to Clifton village and the suspension bridge - which I do recommend.

Room Tip: As for a room out of the basement or in the second building which has a beauiful garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Victoria Square Hotel. I am very surprised to read your comments regarding staff. I am regularly receiving positive feedback from guests regarding the staff and service provided; it is most unusual to receive such negative comments. I would like to apologies if our usual standards were not met during your stay.

We do not serve bread & butter with our meals as standard, not all restaurants do, however this is of course provided if requested. The food is seasoned, however additional salt & pepper is available on tables so guests can add more to taste if required.

Cleanliness throughout the hotel and in the guest rooms is very important. Rooms are checked daily after housekeeping. I am so sorry that dirt was found in the shower tray, we should not have missed this. Sizes of the bathrooms vary as we are an old listed building; however all are of a good size and functional. Our rates are competitive for the area.

The hotel is situated in Clifton, a much quieter location that central Bristol. There is a bar just along from the hotel, which we have not had complaints about previously. I am sorry if it was noisy during the weekend you stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is on a quiet square in Clifton, across the square is the centre of Clifton village with all the cafes and shops. The Clifton Suspension bridge is an easy 10 minute walk plus the centre of Bristol is near enough to walk but we took a taxi back to the hotel due to Park Street being a steep hill. The rooms are light due to the high ceilings. The room was nicely decorated with a super bathroom, very clean with lots of tea and coffee supplies. We were on a room only basis and took our meals in Clifton village joining the cafe society. The staff were very helpful. Hotel has a car park plus we found easy parking on the street by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ajk5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received good service from the staff. Our location is in the heart of Clifton Village and it is great you were able to take advantage of all the local attractions!

Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel.
We hope to welcome you to the hotel in the future should you be visiting Clifton again.

Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in a small double room in the annexe building. Room was neat and tidy with a small flat screen TV. Shower was an issue as the water pressure was poor, and the temperature went up and down of it's own accord. Very good location for Clifton, plus on site parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

In good decorative order. The reception staff were very friendly. There is a car park but if you cannot get in there is plenty of on-street parking in Victoria Square. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was plentiful with some variety. It was good value and good location as we were at a conference in Clifton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nochein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
981 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#31 of 39 in Bristol
702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing