We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty with good location. Lovely Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Herts UK
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty with good location. Lovely Staff.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on a Saturday. The location is in a beautiful square with a central Clifton location. Our standard double room (with huge bed) had a charming view overlooking the garden in Victoria Square. The room itself was quite small, but tightly packed with all the necessary extras and everything was very clean. We were on the third floor and so had to climb quite a few stairs. The hotel (as far as I could see) did not have a lift but neither of us minded. Some visitors with mobility problems would need to ask for a ground floor room and those in wheelchairs may be advised to look elsewhere. The bed was nice and comfortable and the shower was hot and perfectly acceptable, although lacked a bit of power. The hotel bar seemed popular with some residents who seemed to enjoy a pre-dinner drink before heading out into the village. The price is not at the cheaper end of the market and you will certainly get bigger rooms at a purpose built modern Travelodge/Premier Inn (or similar) - but I liked the period charm of the place. We found the staff super friendly and helpful - and they made a really positive impression.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that the staff made a positive impression and have passed on your kind comments to everyone. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location in Clifton on the lovely Victoria Square and the period building. Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel, we hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    230
    112
    44
    24
See reviews for
92
213
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A good central location with small bar and reception area, limted parking so get there early.

Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast good.

Evening meals ok but very limted menu but good quality.

Close to bars and resturants so no problem if you want to eat out

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location in Clifton. Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel, we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Ive been staying in premier inn haymarket for a week now but booked for best western last night as it was a bit expensive in premier inn for a saturday (£83 for 1 person room only). Best western charged £59 for a single room. Its a 6 minutes drive from bristol royal infirmary so its not too bad. Arrived in the hotel at 9am, parking is limited but there are public parking nearby. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist and told me my room is on the annex. The building was old ( i did expect that ). Stairrs squeek every step, carpet is worn out and the place is dated. Its actually creepy. The single room is sooo tiny. The door has a gap underneath, toilet is ok but thete are cracks on flooring. The kettle is dusty, tv is ancient ( no remote ) and the bed is sooo uncomfortable. Its cheap and its not for those who are used to firm orthopedic
bed. It was a ling sleepless night for me as it was noisy outside ( people come and go so floor an door squeeked all the time, you can hear clearly the chatting
next door, you can hear the road noise
and i ended up tossing and turning trying to get a better position so i can get a sleep. I left at 5am.
Do yourself a favour, if you need rest, best to pay extra money. I wish i just stayed at premier inn which is only 2 minutes walk from the children's hospital, its right in the city centre but its quiet, bed is very comfortable, it has a bath and shower is powerful. And there is tesco express accross the road.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odessy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We have 3 single rooms in the hotel, all are very compact with single bed, desk, chair and wardrobe, but with a good size en-suite. We price the rooms accordingly for anyone wanting simple value accommodation. As you said the rate we charge for the single room is £59 versus £83 for a premier inn. The Victoria Square is in Clifton with many excellent boutique shops and independent cafes close by (as it happens there is a Tesco Express within 2 mins walk). I am pleased you found the receptionist to be friendly.
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend as a last minue trip away. We cannot fault the staff, both the young man on reception and the young lady running breakfast were friendly, helpful and attentive so Bravo to them both and the location is fantastic.
However, the room, which was not a bad size for two adults and 1 child, and being high ceilinged helped make it seem larger, the decor and was tired and shabby. There were two awful pink/peach wall lamps which were both broken and hanging off and the curtains were tastless and limp looking. The shower was no more than a trickle and when we ran a bath for our son the water was tepid. The bed linen was fresh and clean and the bed, although not the most comfortable, was fine. A lick of pain was needed and some decent, tasteful decorations and soft furnishings would make the room so much more inviting.
It is such a shame as the place could be great if some money was spent. The dinning room has wonderful bay windows which lets the light flood in, the rooms have the original sash windows which open fully and the staircase is big and light with a beautiful stained glass centre panel. The hotel is in a fantastic location being 10 minutes walk to the centre of Bristol and 10 minutes walk from teh Clifton Suspension Bridge. Just accross the park in front is a wonderful array of coffee shops, cafe's etc so plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieGraceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria Square Hotel. We are in the process of upgrading the bedrooms including re painting, feature walls, new artwork of the local area, lighting and curtains. Unfortunately the room you stayed in is one of the next due for some upgrading! The family rooms are a good size and as you say have nice crisp bed linen, and sash windows with leafy views! We keep our rates very competitive for Bristol and can always offer the best prices when contacting the Victoria Square Hotel direct!
I am very pleased you were happy with the staff, customer service is taken very seriously and the staff are very conscious of ensuring guests enjoy their stay.
I am so pleased you enjoyed our privileged location in Clifton and were able to take advantage of all the area has to offer! I hope you shall consider using us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Got bed and breakfast for a great rate through Best Western dot com. Upon checking in I got a free upgrade to a larger room. This room by all accounts was much larger than the room given to my colleague much to his dissapointment.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from Bristol City Centre, the walk to the City Centre is a straight shoot down hill and when I say down hill I mean really down hill, I took a taxi back.

The staff on reception were very friendly, efficient and I was checked in quickly. My room was in a seperate building but was extremely spacious. The room only had a CRT TV which is very unusual these days, also the fact that this was one of the premium rooms it left me feeling the room was very dated.

The wireless internet is awful, signal keeps dropping, facebook was taking more than a minute to load.

The bed while big was created by pushing two beds together so there was an awful ridge in the middle of the bed.

The shower, was great, hot and powerful.

I would probably stay in this hotel again. I would feel ripped off if I paid more than £65 for a night here though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient. We aim to ensure every guest feels welcome and has everything they need to enjoy their stay.
All the TVs in our rooms have digital channels, a few of the rooms still have larger old TVs however the vast majority now have new 22’’ LG Flat Screen Tvs and soon the remaining rooms will also be upgraded to these.
We keep our rates competitive for the area and are dedicated to delivering good value to our guests. Some of our rooms have Zip and Link beds so can be twin or super king. These rooms tend to be larger. We of course have rooms with standard double or queen beds also.
Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel, we hope you shall choose us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

stayed on 03/06/12. had mistakenly booked through a website on the wrong days and turned up on 02/06/12 to find that no room had been booked. even though it was our mistake, the man working on reception (sadly, we did not get his name) was so friendly and helpful and called around all of the local hotels for us to help us find a room for the night as they were full. He booked us a room at a different hotel of the same chain, further away from the centre, this was our choice of the options we found on our own searches.

It was his friendliness which resulted in us returning to this hotel the following night to stay, where he recognised us and enquired after our stay at the other hotel. he simply could not have been more professional, helpful and friendly.

the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the hotel had character. The toiletries were a disappointment as they did not contain what was shown on the bottle, and we were not able to adjust the heating ourselves. the hair dryer overheated when i dried my (short) hair.

the hotel is very centrally located, and we had no trouble parking (for free) in the hotel car park. i would be very happy to stay there again, and would recommend it for the location, staff and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireandj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a king review! It was my pleasure to accommodate you at the weekend! I am very pleased that you were happy with arrangements made to stay at an alternative Best Western hotel on the 1st night and that you were still able to enjoy the weekend!
I shall look into the issues raised with the toiletries and hairdryer immediately!
Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel we hope to see you again in the future!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

we arrived 2pm sun 13th may 2012 . we were greated by a eastern european girl at reception.who booked us int room205 ,she was the most pleasant and helpful young lady you could wish for . the hotel restraunt was closed at the time so this lovely girl directed my wife and myself to the nearest eating places ,even following us out of the hotel with a map . the followng morning the same beaming smile greated us at breakfast . she ran everywhere at double time ensuring everyone had their needs fulfilled . what an absolute asset to the hotel . the breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from . our room was clean and comfortable . the hotel has a very good location . overall a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: our room was 205 i expected it to be noisy at night but it wasnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! I have passed on your kind comments to Agata who is very pleased with the feedback! She works extremely hard to look after each and every guest and I fully agree she is an asset to the hotel!
Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 38 in Bristol
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#30 of 38 in Bristol
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 38 in Bristol
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing